FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

Any problems with the GPS on the captivate?

50 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By MFister, Member on 19th July 2010, 04:05 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi Guys,

I've been hearing about lots of problems with the GPS not picking up low SNR satellites and the GPS being wildly inaccurate on the samsung vibrant and also the euro variants of the galaxy s.

Does the captivate have the same issue?
 
 
19th July 2010, 06:50 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag Gurabo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Its true. I bought it on sunday an notice that issue. Hope there will be a update(Bug fix) soon.
19th July 2010, 07:24 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Compare to my G1, the Captivate take about the same time to lock and GPStest says the SNR is better. I'm happy with it.
19th July 2010, 07:59 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MFister

Hi Guys,

I've been hearing about lots of problems with the GPS not picking up low SNR satellites and the GPS being wildly inaccurate on the samsung vibrant and also the euro variants of the galaxy s.

Does the captivate have the same issue?

Define Wildly inaccurate. On my Captivate it is dead on (within 9 feet)
20th July 2010, 02:02 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I am having major problems with GPS. I am getting a lock but only within 50-75 feet. It isn't good at all. The GPS is slow to update and throws me everywhere.

I amthinking of returning the phone if Samsung doesn't make an announcement about s fix for this.
20th July 2010, 02:13 AM |#6  
Smalls2's Avatar
Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
dial this from your phone:

*#*#1472365#*#*

Change startup from hot to cold.....worked for me. GPS locks much much faster
20th July 2010, 04:01 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What are the settings on your phone Citznfish? My phone is off by anywhere from 100-500ft. Thanks!
20th July 2010, 04:46 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ok, I tried it again... In the house I'm about 500 ft off from where I really am and placed in a golf fairway. Outside I am FURTHER off: I'd estimate at least 5 blocks and placed in the middle of a different golf fairway. For comparision sake, my wife's iPhone 3Gs has her within 10-20' while inside the house. To me, this is unacceptable and a great cause for concern. What can I do???
20th July 2010, 06:28 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smalls2

dial this from your phone:

*#*#1472365#*#*

Change startup from hot to cold.....worked for me. GPS locks much much faster

I'm having the same problem here. My iPhone 3GS GPS responded way quicker then this phone does. I have a Weather Channel widget up, and it doesn't find the location to display the weather for a good minute and a half after. Same goes for using Google Maps to find my location. Lot of times it says, "Your location is unavailable." I even tried switching the startup from hot to cold, and that didn't have much effect either.

When I was driving today, the GPS locator had a bad lag in it, I would be down two blocks before it would catch up, and I live in a 3G area, and not a giant city like NY or something.

I wonder if it's because it's so bloated with Samsung UI on it, or if it's just the a bug. Either way, if I'm still having issues with it, I'll see if AT&T will exchange it out for a different one. Otherwise back to the 3GS, which I really don't want to do since I'm loving Android right now.
20th July 2010, 01:47 PM |#10  
skizzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 2130706433
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
What does hot start and cold start do?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes