FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Partioning SD Card

345 posts
Thanks Meter: 15
 
By memphisuklf, Senior Member on 21st July 2010, 09:51 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
21st July 2010, 11:09 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
I think you already have A2SD installed. I used Rom Manager to do the partition too and it was straightforward. No problems with rebooting though. If you reinstall your apps now, and if you check with a system info apps, you will find that you now have loads of internal memory.
 
 
21st July 2010, 11:17 AM |#12  
memphisuklf's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
ah, ok got 115mb free after installs(Used to have 10mb). So the defrost rom i`m using will automatically use apps 2sd when a partition is found?

Thought I had to set this up with spare parts?

How come I cant see the partition through windows?
21st July 2010, 11:20 AM |#13  
Mr_Bartek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 486
 
Donate to Me
More
Windows doesn't recognise linux partitions. Check with Quick System Info if A2SD is working correctly.
21st July 2010, 11:22 AM |#14  
memphisuklf's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
haha, feel stupid now. Working fine when checked with quick system info. Cheers for all the help guys, much appreciated
21st July 2010, 11:32 AM |#15  
Senior Member
Flag Valkeakoski
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by memphisuklf

ok, seems I now have a problem. Did partition through manager 512mb/0 swap seemed to work fine but now phone won't boot, stuck at htc white screen. Any ideas?

Edit
Ok booted after 4th time of pulling battery. Doesn't look like it partitioned though. on windows I only have H: with 3.18gb

If u have 4Gb card and in windows you see only 3.2Gb partition, then i think you have ext partition there ok. Windows wont see your ext.
Rom Manager will make ext3 partition in the end of your sd card.
With 512Mb ext + 0Mb swap you will get fat32 partition + ext3 in your SD card.

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA App
21st July 2010, 11:47 AM |#16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
On a similar topic, if I install a 2.2 ROM with Google APS2SD and legacy APS2SD, do I only need to create a partition for the legacy version of APPS2SD? If I just wanted to use the Google version can I just leave the card as it is?
21st July 2010, 08:44 PM |#17  
Senior Member
Flag Novi Sad
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
yep, no formatting is needed for google app2sd
22nd July 2010, 10:14 AM |#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Here's my experience to Partition the SD card.

1) I rooted my Desire with "UnrEVOked"
2) Flashed the phone with a ROM
3) Then I went to "Market" and download "ROM manager", which has an option to "Partition SD card".
4) Reboot
22nd July 2010, 10:26 AM |#19  
Member
Flag Neuchâtel, Switzerland
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexter9898

Here's my experience to Partition the SD card.

1) I rooted my Desire with "UnrEVOked"
2) Flashed the phone with a ROM
3) Then I went to "Market" and download "ROM manager", which has an option to "Partition SD card".
4) Reboot

There is a related thread here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=731531

I developed the most common methods of partition your SD Card, and answered some questions and asked some additional ones.

I would very much welcome it, if anyone wants to participate in assembling the infos about SD cards....
22nd July 2010, 11:20 AM |#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Not the best guide but does work, you may need to adjust the figures depending on what size card you got.
22nd July 2010, 07:34 PM |#21  
memphisuklf's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Ok, my sd card is partitioned and was working fine until i decided to try to flash a new rom and wouldn't get passed the htc logo screen. Tried recovery with a backup but still wouldn't load, then took sd card out and rebooted but got to the animation screen and didn't boot(Just got a very jerky animation)

Definatley something to do with sd card because i used another sd card with the same backup on it and it worked fine.
Have formatted the original sd card but it still has partition on it and tried using it with phone but again it won't boot.
Has this got something to do with partition, do you think formatting the ext will sort it out. I created the partition through rom manager.
any help appreciated

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes