FORUMS

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

Barnacle Wifi Tether

283 posts
Thanks Meter: 13
 
By LovellKid, Senior Member on 21st July 2010, 10:19 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey I found this on Modaco, I tried it out, and everything works great. Hopefully no one else has posted this as a thread, if so sorry! Here is the link ----> http://goo.gl/JV7W

Baranacle Wifi Settings:
1. Change SSID - [User Preference]
2. Change Channel - 6
3. Custom Wifi Ad-hoc - NONE
4. Skip wpa_supplicant - CHECK
5. Restart Phone As Desired


Settings For Windows:
Open cmd.exe as administrator
C:\Windows\system32>netsh interface ipv4 set subinterface "Wireless Network Connection" mtu=1250 store=persistent
This is assuming your wireless network adapter is called "Wireless Network Connection"

Fix For Mac:
System Preferences>Network>
Under Airport select advanced>ethernet tab
Set Configure to Custom and use 1250 MTU

I did NOT figure this out, just found on Modaco.
 
 
21st July 2010, 10:21 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Houston, Texas / Nara, Japan
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Good find! I'll test it out when I hit home!
21st July 2010, 10:27 PM |#3  
LovellKid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Spanish Fork, UT
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
P.S. I actually loaded webpages, so unlike googles wifitether where it shows it works, this actually does.
21st July 2010, 10:50 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Orange County
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Those instructions along with this morning's Barnacle update and I am fully online now.
22nd July 2010, 12:26 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Houston, Texas / Nara, Japan
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Worked perfectly on my mac! Thanks again!
22nd July 2010, 12:32 AM |#6  
Pneumatic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
This was posted a day or two ago but it's buried deep in a thread somewhere. I tried the settings and they work for Edge but not 3G. I tried it today with an iTouch and it connected but when I tried to surf around it disconnected. :-/

I might need to play around with it again (with the new Barnacle update) if people are having good luck.
22nd July 2010, 12:59 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Providence RI
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
works great, thanks!
22nd July 2010, 03:49 AM |#8  
Halieus's Avatar
Member
Flag Hurst, Texas
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This did not work for my Vibrant trying to connect wifi to my Toshiba NB 205. Message "NAT restart Message too long" repeats every few seconds.
22nd July 2010, 05:02 AM |#9  
LovellKid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Spanish Fork, UT
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pneumatic

This was posted a day or two ago but it's buried deep in a thread somewhere. I tried the settings and they work for Edge but not 3G. I tried it today with an iTouch and it connected but when I tried to surf around it disconnected. :-/

I might need to play around with it again (with the new Barnacle update) if people are having good luck.

Worked great when I was using it with 3G, must have been the new update?
22nd July 2010, 12:48 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halieus

This did not work for my Vibrant trying to connect wifi to my Toshiba NB 205. Message "NAT restart Message too long" repeats every few seconds.

did you get that fixed?
Last edited by SuperMiguel; 22nd July 2010 at 02:57 PM.
22nd July 2010, 03:26 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I am seeing the NAT restart message as well.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes