Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,145 Members 42,208 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root Achieved

Tip us?
 
zanix
Old
#1  
zanix's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 303
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Idaho Falls

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Root Achieved

http://twitter.com/mrweeeedbirdman/status/19242308710

According to this man, we now have root on the Droid X
My Devices
Nexus 5 -[ CM 11 ]-
Nexus 10 -[ CM 11 ]-
Nexus 7 (2012) -[ CM11 Kang-aroo Kernel | Fixed Install for Car ]-


My old Windows Phone Titanium plugin PlayIt! v0.50
 
zanix
Old
#2  
zanix's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 303
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Idaho Falls

 
DONATE TO ME
Update, information to be posted here
http://alldroid.org/Default.aspx?tabid=40&g=posts&t=493
My Devices
Nexus 5 -[ CM 11 ]-
Nexus 10 -[ CM 11 ]-
Nexus 7 (2012) -[ CM11 Kang-aroo Kernel | Fixed Install for Car ]-


My old Windows Phone Titanium plugin PlayIt! v0.50
 
dscottjr81
Old
#3  
dscottjr81's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 1,430
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Atlanta
This is Fantastic news to wake up 2. Thanks for sharing.
https://twitter.com
Devices
32GB Nexus 5. Verizon Gun Metal M8.
 
dvation191
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 110
Join Date: Jul 2010
Freakin awesome - has anyone tried it yet?
 
navychief52
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2007
Yea,

It seems to work.

I've removed CityID, Blockbuster, and Skype in adb after the install.
 
dvation191
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 110
Join Date: Jul 2010
I'd love to try it but I'm not able to get the ADBDriver_v3_Google.zip attachment you supposedly need to do it.
 
navychief52
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvation191 View Post
I'd love to try it but I'm not able to get the ADBDriver_v3_Google.zip attachment you supposedly need to do it.
This is what I used, I'm sure a moderator will remove it if this shouldn't be posted, and if so, sorry.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DroidXRoot.zip - [Click for QR Code] (33.7 KB, 347 views)
 
benlane
Old
(Last edited by benlane; 22nd July 2010 at 03:23 PM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 132
Join Date: Aug 2004
Wow - this works!!!

Got Wifi Tether working like a champ.

Cannot make the following work. Do we need to make it work?

1) Dial ##778, SEND
2) EPST dialog comes up. Select 'Edit Mode'. Enter SPC (000000), hit OK.
3) Scroll to down to 'Security', select it. Change 'S.IP DUN User name' to yourvzwnumber@vzw3g.com (from yourvzwnumber@dun.vzw3g.com)
4) Hit back arrow to go back and go/select 'M.IP Default Profile'. Change 'DUN NAI' to yourvzwnumber@vzw3g.com (from yourvzwnumber@dun.vzw3g.com)
5) Hit menu button, and 'Commit Modifications', phone will save changes and reboot.
 
rolandroland
Old
(Last edited by rolandroland; 22nd July 2010 at 02:27 PM.)
#9  
rolandroland's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by navychief52 View Post
This is what I used, I'm sure a moderator will remove it if this shouldn't be posted, and if so, sorry.
Do you just need to install the apk?

Never rooted before so wasn't sure if it was that simple.

Thanks

Edit: Never mind, over at the other site ans see the directions.
Roland was already taken.

Galaxy Note 2
 
dvation191
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 110
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by benlane View Post
Wow - this works!!!

Got Wifi Tether working like a champ.

Do we need to do the following:1) Dial ##778, SEND
2) EPST dialog comes up. Select 'Edit Mode'. Enter SPC (000000), hit OK.
3) Scroll to down to 'Security', select it. Change 'S.IP DUN User name' to yourvzwnumber@vzw3g.com (from yourvzwnumber@dun.vzw3g.com)
4) Hit back arrow to go back and go/select 'M.IP Default Profile'. Change 'DUN NAI' to yourvzwnumber@vzw3g.com (from yourvzwnumber@dun.vzw3g.com)
5) Hit menu button, and 'Commit Modifications', phone will save changes and reboot.
Are you sure Verizon isn't going to charge for WiFi tethering just because it's rooted?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...