ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Android Studio Reaches Release Candidate Status

Android app developers have a few options when comes to Android IDEs. One of the most … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

adb insufficient permissions

OP raim1312

22nd July 2010, 07:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag RI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
I've had a MT3G for awhile and just upgraded to a Nexus One. I still have my old phone and can use adb with the MT3G without any issues. When I try using adb with the Nexus one i receive an error insufficient permissions on the device. Here's some more info about my setup:
Nexus One:
Clockwork Mod Recovery
CM6.0.0RC1
USB debugging is enabled

Computer:
Ubuntu 10.04
I have the rules set up for adb

I have tried remounting and restarted adb with root permissions and have still receiving the same error. I've tried connecting to another Ubuntu box and a windows xp box with the same error.
Any help?
22nd July 2010, 11:00 PM   |  #2  
codesplice's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL, USA
Thanks Meter: 958
 
2,665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
What response (if any) do you get to the "adb devices" command?

What exact command are you trying to execute when you get that error?
23rd July 2010, 03:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag RI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
When i run adb devices i receive this:

List of devices attached
???????????? no permissions



adb shell gives this:

error: insufficient permissions for device



I receive the same output running the commands as user or superuser. I've also killed and started the server as user and root. Remember I'm running the udev rules so I can run these commands as user.

Today I went ahead and reflashed my phone. I downloaded cm6 from xda and frf91 from the same post. Checked the md5sum for the update and then wiped and flashed.
Even after the wipe I'm in the same spot.
23rd July 2010, 04:09 AM   |  #4  
codesplice's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL, USA
Thanks Meter: 958
 
2,665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Can you access the device via fastboot?
23rd July 2010, 04:16 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag RI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
When I first got the device I used fastboot to unlock the bootloader.
now the command
Code:
fastboot reboot
hangs at

Code:
< waiting for device >
I can still reboot the device into recovery and fastboot.
23rd July 2010, 04:26 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Flag RI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
another update.
I rebooted into recovery (holding trackball and power) and tried running fastboot devices. It found my phone. While fully loaded it normally displays nothing.

adb devices is still blank but I'm not sure if it's supposed to work while in recovery.
23rd July 2010, 04:31 AM   |  #7  
codesplice's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL, USA
Thanks Meter: 958
 
2,665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
last thoughts, as it's been a while since I've used adb on Ubuntu...


Code:
./adb kill-server
./adb start-server
./adb devices
???
./PROFIT
It seems to be somehow an issue with your local adb set up, not anything phone-related. Could even perhaps be a driver issue.
The Following User Says Thank You to codesplice For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd July 2010, 04:32 AM   |  #8  
codesplice's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL, USA
Thanks Meter: 958
 
2,665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raim1312

another update.
I rebooted into recovery (holding trackball and power) and tried running fastboot devices. It found my phone. While fully loaded it normally displays nothing.

adb devices is still blank but I'm not sure if it's supposed to work while in recovery.

Yeah, should've pointed out that fastboot will only work while in fastboot mode

trackball + power == fastboot, btw.
volume_down + power == hboot, which will let you boot into recovery

trackball + volume_down + power == three-finger salute, the equivalent to CTRL+ALT+DEL
23rd July 2010, 04:34 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Flag RI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
i get the same results after killing and starting adb either as user or root. i'll pull out the drivers and android sdk and reinstall. i'll let you know how it goes once its done
23rd July 2010, 04:42 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Flag RI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by codesplice

Yeah, should've pointed out that fastboot will only work while in fastboot mode

trackball + power == fastboot, btw.
volume_down + power == hboot, which will let you boot into recovery

trackball + volume_down + power == three-finger salute, the equivalent to CTRL+ALT+DEL

Yeah sorry about that one. i'm still a newb but willing to learn

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adb, insufficient permissions, nexus one
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes