Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,637 Members 39,242 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

adb insufficient permissions

Tip us?
 
raim1312
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RI
Default adb insufficient permissions

I've had a MT3G for awhile and just upgraded to a Nexus One. I still have my old phone and can use adb with the MT3G without any issues. When I try using adb with the Nexus one i receive an error insufficient permissions on the device. Here's some more info about my setup:
Nexus One:
Clockwork Mod Recovery
CM6.0.0RC1
USB debugging is enabled

Computer:
Ubuntu 10.04
I have the rules set up for adb

I have tried remounting and restarted adb with root permissions and have still receiving the same error. I've tried connecting to another Ubuntu box and a windows xp box with the same error.
Any help?
 
codesplice
Old
#2  
codesplice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 957
Posts: 2,665
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL, USA
What response (if any) do you get to the "adb devices" command?

What exact command are you trying to execute when you get that error?
 
raim1312
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RI
When i run adb devices i receive this:

List of devices attached
???????????? no permissions



adb shell gives this:

error: insufficient permissions for device



I receive the same output running the commands as user or superuser. I've also killed and started the server as user and root. Remember I'm running the udev rules so I can run these commands as user.

Today I went ahead and reflashed my phone. I downloaded cm6 from xda and frf91 from the same post. Checked the md5sum for the update and then wiped and flashed.
Even after the wipe I'm in the same spot.
 
codesplice
Old
#4  
codesplice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 957
Posts: 2,665
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL, USA
Can you access the device via fastboot?
 
raim1312
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RI
When I first got the device I used fastboot to unlock the bootloader.
now the command
Code:
fastboot reboot
hangs at

Code:
< waiting for device >
I can still reboot the device into recovery and fastboot.
 
raim1312
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RI
another update.
I rebooted into recovery (holding trackball and power) and tried running fastboot devices. It found my phone. While fully loaded it normally displays nothing.

adb devices is still blank but I'm not sure if it's supposed to work while in recovery.
 
codesplice
Old
#7  
codesplice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 957
Posts: 2,665
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL, USA
last thoughts, as it's been a while since I've used adb on Ubuntu...


Code:
./adb kill-server
./adb start-server
./adb devices
???
./PROFIT
It seems to be somehow an issue with your local adb set up, not anything phone-related. Could even perhaps be a driver issue.
The Following User Says Thank You to codesplice For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
codesplice
Old
#8  
codesplice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 957
Posts: 2,665
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by raim1312 View Post
another update.
I rebooted into recovery (holding trackball and power) and tried running fastboot devices. It found my phone. While fully loaded it normally displays nothing.

adb devices is still blank but I'm not sure if it's supposed to work while in recovery.
Yeah, should've pointed out that fastboot will only work while in fastboot mode

trackball + power == fastboot, btw.
volume_down + power == hboot, which will let you boot into recovery

trackball + volume_down + power == three-finger salute, the equivalent to CTRL+ALT+DEL
 
raim1312
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RI
i get the same results after killing and starting adb either as user or root. i'll pull out the drivers and android sdk and reinstall. i'll let you know how it goes once its done
 
raim1312
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RI
Quote:
Originally Posted by codesplice View Post
Yeah, should've pointed out that fastboot will only work while in fastboot mode

trackball + power == fastboot, btw.
volume_down + power == hboot, which will let you boot into recovery

trackball + volume_down + power == three-finger salute, the equivalent to CTRL+ALT+DEL
Yeah sorry about that one. i'm still a newb but willing to learn

Tags
adb, insufficient permissions, nexus one
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more

LifeStats Automatic Journal Keeps Tabs of Your Day

Most of us live very active lives. This is after all why we’re fans of mobile … more

Android App Review: Hide Your Files with Androignito – XDA Developer TV

Stop right now, look at your phone, and see how many pictures, … more

BrightNotes Makes Cloud Notes Simple and Easy

There are literally thousands of note taking apps available on Android, with practically every … more