5,597,313 Members 36,653 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

load boot animations without being in recovery(must be rooted)

Tip us?
 
bubbleywine
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 94
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default load boot animations without being in recovery(must be rooted)

I was messing around with root explorer and noticed that i was able to delete my boot animation with it when i was mounted as R/W so i thought i would try to copy one and it also works... so no need to push with adb shell.. here are the steps

1. take the boot animation make sure it is named bootanimation.zip and copy it to your SD card
2. then open root explore and mount R/W and then navigate to the file and press on file till the menu comes up and select copy
3. then navigate to data/local and paste the file in the local directory
and you are done, this can be done with the android_audio.mp3 file as well just paste it to the same place.

just thought this would make it easier for people instead of using adb shell




credit goes to yojoe600
 
palomosan
Old
(Last edited by palomosan; 23rd July 2010 at 09:36 PM.)
#2  
palomosan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 202
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Jersey
Exactly what I was looking for, I'll give it a try, thanks.

The Animation worked but the Audio didn't, do you also need to put the Audio in a zip file?
 
Coolsaber57
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 272
Join Date: Jan 2010
I didn't think that you needed root to access /data/

So in that case, would need Root Explorer? Wouldn't any file manager do?
 
mrozzeh
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 97
Join Date: Mar 2010
Yeah, you dont need root access at all for this.

just adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local/
Member of unrevoked.
www.unrevoked.com

Retired from all things ROMs/Theming.
 
yojoe600
Old
#5  
yojoe600's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 421
Posts: 2,040
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by palomosan View Post
Exactly what I was looking for, I'll give it a try, thanks.

The Animation worked but the Audio didn't, do you also need to put the Audio in a zip file?
need to look at the text file in your bootanimations.zip and add the words android to the front of the text in that file
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes