Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,576 Members 37,795 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Help with linux

Tip us?
 
sultan.of.swing
Old
#21  
sultan.of.swing's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fayetteville, N.C.

 
DONATE TO ME
Well it got farther this time. Now its at the yast2 installation screen. Getting somewhere now.

Got a green from now! And bam I'm on the desktop!!!!
NICE!

Ok how the F do I get my internet working? I went through the network settings but it still don't work

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
She took off a silver locket, said remember me by this.
She put her hand in my pocket, I got a keep sake and a kiss.
And in the roar of dust and diesel, I stood I watched her walk away.
I could have caught up with her easy enough but something must have made me stay.
 
XJRodzx
Old
#22  
XJRodzx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 295
Join Date: Apr 2008
I completed the installation, but of course my wireless card isnt working. Normally on ubuntu it has an option to enable them. I cant seem to find it in Suse.
 
sultan.of.swing
Old
#23  
sultan.of.swing's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fayetteville, N.C.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by razr315 View Post
I completed the installation, but of course my wireless card isnt working. Normally on ubuntu it has an option to enable them. I cant seem to find it in Suse.
Same here can't seem to get my internet working. With ubuntu it worked automagically. I'm wired too



Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
She took off a silver locket, said remember me by this.
She put her hand in my pocket, I got a keep sake and a kiss.
And in the roar of dust and diesel, I stood I watched her walk away.
I could have caught up with her easy enough but something must have made me stay.
 
XJRodzx
Old
#24  
XJRodzx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 295
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sultan.of.swing View Post
Same here can't seem to get my internet working. With ubuntu it worked automagically. I'm wired too



Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
Im wired and on the net now. I just cant be wired up on my laptop the whole time. Id much rather get wireless working.
 
sultan.of.swing
Old
#25  
sultan.of.swing's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fayetteville, N.C.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by razr315 View Post
Im wired and on the net now. I just cant be wired up on my laptop the whole time. Id much rather get wireless working.
How did u get your wired connection working if u don't mind me asking

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
She took off a silver locket, said remember me by this.
She put her hand in my pocket, I got a keep sake and a kiss.
And in the roar of dust and diesel, I stood I watched her walk away.
I could have caught up with her easy enough but something must have made me stay.
 
XJRodzx
Old
#26  
XJRodzx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 295
Join Date: Apr 2008
Honestly all I did was plug the RJ45 in and it worked. Didnt have to configure at all.
 
sultan.of.swing
Old
#27  
sultan.of.swing's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fayetteville, N.C.

 
DONATE TO ME
Hmm. I got it connected but I still cannot acces the internet. Ip is setup and everything.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
She took off a silver locket, said remember me by this.
She put her hand in my pocket, I got a keep sake and a kiss.
And in the roar of dust and diesel, I stood I watched her walk away.
I could have caught up with her easy enough but something must have made me stay.
 
nbetcher
Old
#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 115
Posts: 466
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Sorry guys, I'm at work so my replies are delayed.

Your problems are caused by the fact that ALL Linux wireless drivers require firmware. Windows does too, but they are provided by the manufacturer. Go into the Network Devices->Network Settings. Select your wireless card, hit Edit, then configure it. After you configure the card it SHOULD tell you that it needs to install a package called kernel-firmware or bcmsomethingsomething. If not, let me know.

As for why Ubuntu doesn't require this I am uncertain. This is suppose to be a restriction for all Linux vendors, however some may license the firmware from the manufacturers, but I doubt that.
 
nbetcher
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 115
Posts: 466
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sultan.of.swing View Post
Hmm. I got it connected but I still cannot acces the internet. Ip is setup and everything.
If your connection is wired then it should work out of the box. To this date I have yet to see a wired connection not work out of the box for any Linux distribution. Is it possible the router isn't issuing an IP or your default gateway/DNS isn't setup properly? 'ifconfig' and 'route -n' as root please.
 
sultan.of.swing
Old
#30  
sultan.of.swing's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fayetteville, N.C.

 
DONATE TO ME
I? Running wired eth0. I am thinking I'm going to have to reset the modem and the router. Wirelessmanager shows auto eth0 connected and shows the ip and everything and says connected but it won't access the web. Tried restarting the pc a few times to no avail.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
She took off a silver locket, said remember me by this.
She put her hand in my pocket, I got a keep sake and a kiss.
And in the roar of dust and diesel, I stood I watched her walk away.
I could have caught up with her easy enough but something must have made me stay.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


ARChos Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more