OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Working Wireless Tether for Rooted Aria

OP attn1

23rd July 2010, 08:15 AM   |  #1  
attn1's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,801
 
2,544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Thanks to Harald Mueller for staying with this. A new version has been posted that fixes wireless tether on the Aria here:

http://code.google.com/p/android-wif...3.apk&can=2&q=

It requires the patch described here:

http://code.google.com/p/android-wif...ire_Incredible

I did not test with WEP encryption, and would not be surprised if it did not work, but mac filtering should work just fine.

Edit: Infrastructure mode and not ad-hoc mode now works with liberated_aria_R003. Encryption is also confirmed working.
I use this version with R003: wireless_tether_2_0_5-pre8.apk
And I use this bin extracted and placed into a folder called android.tether in the root of the sdcard : http://www.mediafire.com/?h4wmvi9iwdvextv

Note: The folder name MUST be exactly android.tether - and as all things Linux, it is case sensitive.

Enjoy!

Note: if you use this, please consider donating to support the project. You can find the link on the project homepage here:

http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/
Last edited by attn1; 30th August 2010 at 03:24 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to attn1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd July 2010, 08:32 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Can't wait to try this in the morning!

Thanks!

Sent from my HTC Liberty using XDA App

Edit: Worked amazing! Thanks attn1, Harald Mueller, & anyone else!!!
Last edited by drwatson1234; 23rd July 2010 at 03:23 PM.
23rd July 2010, 08:46 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag md
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
working very nice!!! posting from a tethered Aria
23rd July 2010, 09:40 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Great and thanks A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++


Sent from my HTC Liberty using XDA App
23rd July 2010, 10:46 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
It works

Sent from my HTC Liberty using XDA App
23rd July 2010, 10:54 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag Rolla
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
this is awesome. i have never had wireless phone tethering before
23rd July 2010, 11:16 AM   |  #7  
arsinic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 510akland
Thanks Meter: 5
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
connects, but i can't use the internet.
23rd July 2010, 11:21 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Awesome!!!
Much appreciated, as always..
23rd July 2010, 01:58 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Annapolis
Thanks Meter: 24
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Talking
Works beautifully! Thanks a million!
23rd July 2010, 02:18 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Connecting to the Internet with Ubuntu...
Quote:
Originally Posted by arsinic

connects, but i can't use the internet.

I used the following instructions to set up an ad hoc network connection in Ubuntu 10.04 which enabled an Internet connection from the phone (you need to enable the wifi and 3g connections on the phone, of course.)

The source is "ubuntugeek" and the title is "creating-an-ad-hoc-host-with-ubuntu"

The download speeds was 3.0 Mbps which was remarkable (it was the middle of the night when I ran the test).

I have not tested the "range" of the connection and will try connectivity in Win7 tomorrow. Could use an unlimited data plan!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes