FORUMS

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

[HOW TO] Remove stock mms.apk, replace with vanilla mms.apk

1,324 posts
Thanks Meter: 51
 
By shoman24v, Senior Member on 23rd July 2010, 05:29 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I really really hate the mms app that comes with the Droid Incredible. It's slow, and clunky. I really don't even know how they allowed it to come with the phone. I wanted to uninstall it but was told it may interfere with the HTC stuff. Well.... I uninstalled the default mms.apk and installed the Vanilla mms.apk which is SOOOOOO much better then what HTC gives us. It's so smooth and I have the nice little green messaging icon I haven't had any issues so far.

SMS sent/received - TESTED
MMS sent/received - TESTED

Remember, what you do is at your own risk, I am not responsible for anything.

Be sure you make a nandroid backup, of course and root is required.

To mount \system folder:

1. Reboot into recovery mode (Power device down then hold power button + volume - or optical key instead of vol -)
2. choose partitions
3. choose mount \system

Navigate to C:\sdk\Tools in a windows command prompt

adb shell /system/bin/rm /system/app/Mms.apk <<<<<<<<<<<< File name must match file.

Remount system when complete and reboot.

Attached file is the Vanilla mms.apk, install it when you reboot your phone.

All text messages should be saved, FB integration is still there.

Side note, with the stock mms.apk removed you can use just Handcent for SMS, but MMS won't work.


Attached Files
File Type: apk Mms.apk - [Click for QR Code] (958.1 KB, 1619 views)
Last edited by shoman24v; 23rd July 2010 at 09:12 PM.
 
 
23rd July 2010, 07:41 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I'm up for trying this. Hate the one that comes with sense, always locks up because I have a lot of people I stay in contact with, and deleting them makes my phone freeze
23rd July 2010, 07:44 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
gonna try this soon!
23rd July 2010, 07:49 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Just mounted my system and tried typing out the command, says directory doesn't exist? but the system wasn't showing up as accessible via My computer (was there, but when i clicked it, asked me to insert disk(x:/) ). Odd, I just opened my system to put in some new audio sounds about 10 min ago and it worked fine.

Edit: Needed to capitalize the M in Mms.apk, forgot it was case sensitive
Last edited by NickkxNekro; 23rd July 2010 at 07:57 PM.
23rd July 2010, 07:57 PM |#5  
shoman24v's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Fresno, CA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickkxNekro

Just mounted my system and tried typing out the command, says directory doesn't exist? but the system wasn't showing up as accessible via My computer (was there, but when i clicked it, asked me to insert disk(x:/) ). Odd, I just opened my system to put in some new audio sounds about 10 min ago and it worked fine.

Is USB debugging enabled?
23rd July 2010, 08:01 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman24v

Is USB debugging enabled?

That shouldn't matter if I'm in recovery. I fixed the issue, like i said, needed to capitalize the M in Mms.apk. Might want to note that in the OP haha.
23rd July 2010, 08:02 PM |#7  
shoman24v's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Fresno, CA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickkxNekro

That shouldn't matter if I'm in recovery. I fixed the issue, like i said, needed to capitalize the M in Mms.apk. Might want to note that in the OP haha.

Sorry! lol yeah, I should note that.
23rd July 2010, 08:03 PM |#8  
KB Smoka's Avatar
Senior Member
Norwalk, CT
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Any way to get screen shots of this? I dont like the default MMS/SMS app either but I'd like to see the Vanilla one before I do this.

Thanks.
23rd July 2010, 08:13 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
You sure it's sending messages? mine have a little message box with the timer on them. I've got service, and i can't "resend" the message, so idk if it's working or not.
23rd July 2010, 08:22 PM |#10  
shoman24v's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Fresno, CA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
It should send, it's been doing it for me all morning.
Last edited by shoman24v; 23rd July 2010 at 09:12 PM.
23rd July 2010, 08:23 PM |#11  
shoman24v's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Fresno, CA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickkxNekro

You sure it's sending messages? mine have a little message box with the timer on them. I've got service, and i can't "resend" the message, so idk if it's working or not.

send yourself a message.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes