Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] Android Loader v6.0 Final for HD2

OP mskip

23rd July 2010, 10:18 PM   |  #1  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 13,802
 
11,173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
There are numerous Android Bootloaders out there right now that will load Android before WindowsMobile boots up (into the screen) but this app is a bit special and has everything that you will ever need all in one

For starters you can load Android easily once you are already using Windows. It comes with a cool looking icon so you can add it to Sense or Mobile Shell or whatever you use as your day to day interface.

On installation you can also set your default Operating System (Android or Windows Mobile), then you will be asked for an AutoBoot timeout (3, 5, 10, 20, 30 or 60 seconds). After a soft reset of your phone, as soon as WindowsMobile boots up you will be prompted to choose what you want to boot into. If you make no selection then your default Operating System will be Auto loaded after the time out.

You will also be asked on installation to select the folder where your Android files are (no typing needed). This NEW feature means that when developers bring out Android Builds that arent in the standard 'Android' folder you can still auto load it without any problems. If you make no selection or cancel then the default location will be set (Storage Card\Android)

Another NEW feature is a Windows Link (with icon) that will Soft Reset your phone and then load straight into Android without any prompts. This was added by request for people who want to load Android after Windows has been running for a while, but want to reset the phone before loading it.

Last but by no means least there is a folder in the Start Menu called 'Android Loader' which holds a Manager app where you can change any of the default settings. There are also 2 switches, Fast Mode will load Android as soon as the icon is clicked, Safe Mode will always ask for confirmation when the icon is clicked to avoid accidental loading.

When it is run the Android loader will first run Clrcad.exe for the sound and then a second later run haret.exe to start Android.

NOTE: If you want to run a different build that is in a different folder then you can use the Loader Manager utility to change the Android Path. If the new build will be in the same folder then there is no need to reinstall

ChangeLog:
V6.0 (18th December 2010) -
Added the final feature missing from this Loader, an AutoBooter with configureable default OS and selection of timeouts. Also if no location is set then a default location is automatically set to help avoid bad installations. Registry entrys have been moved to the HKLM, Software folder and the Loader is fully uninstallable including uninstallation of all registry settings.

V5.0 (24th September 2010)
- Added a Loader Manager utility in the Start Menu, Android Loader folder. With this utility you can change any of the options that was asked when installing the Android Loader. Change the Startup Boot Option, Change the Startup Folder where Android is and Change which icons are shown in the Start Menu on the fly without having to reinstall the app.

Added a switch in the Start Menu, Android Loader folder. By default Android will boot straight away when the icon is clicked (fast mode) but you can now switch to safe mode which will ask a confirmation question before booting Android when you click on the icon.

V4.1 (10th August 2010)
- Changed the icon images for a better look and also added detection for my Ubuntu Loader in post#2 so that both auto loaders cant be set at windows startup.

DONT ASK IN THIS THREAD ABOUT QUESTIONS OR PROBLEMS WITH ANDROID. THIS IS TO BE KEPT JUST ABOUT THE ANDROID LOADER.

--------------------------------------
--------------------------------------

Useage:

1. Make sure you have your desired build of Android copied across to your Storage Card. Go *HERE* for download links.

2. Make sure to uninstall any previous versions if you are updating.

3. Using a File Manager, browse to the file on your phone and install the cab to DEVICE Memory.

4. You will now be asked if you want a prompt everytime you start WindowsMobile to run Android or continue to Windows. This is your Autoboot setting. If you select No you wont get this.

5. You will now be asked which Android links you want displayed in the Start Menu (Android, Android with Soft Reset or Both).

6. You will now be asked select the folder where your Android build is copied to. You only have to do this once, it will remember the settings until you uninstall the program.

NOTE: If your icons dont change in HTC Sense after upgrading the cab then install and run SICC (Sense Icon Cache Clearer) *HERE* and your new icon will be shown after a soft reset.

--------------------------------------
--------------------------------------

If you enjoy using this program or anything else I do please consider making a donation. Even if its just a small amount it gives me satisfaction and enthusiasm to carry on developing and appreciation of my work is very welcome.

Enjoy

Mark.

Attached Files
File Type: cab mskip_Android_Loader_V6.0 Final.cab - [Click for QR Code] (266.8 KB, 38054 views)
Last edited by mskip; 27th July 2011 at 09:42 PM.
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to mskip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd July 2010, 10:20 PM   |  #2  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 13,802
 
11,173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
[APP] Ubuntu Loader v1.0 for HD2

This app will load Ubuntu before WindowsMobile boots up (into the screen) but it has more features too

For starters you can load Ubuntu easily once you are already using Windows. It comes with a cool looking icon so you can add it to Sense or Mobile Shell or whatever you use as your day to day interface.

On installation you can also set the Ubuntu Loader to ask you what you want to do as soon as WindowsMobile boots up. If you select 'yes' then everytime Windows boots up you can choose between loading Ubuntu or carrying on into Windows. If my Android loader is detected with the Startup option set then this will be disabled for Ubuntu.

You will also be asked on installation to select the folder where your Ubuntu files are (no typing needed). This is mainly to get round the problem of different language Roms but its also useful if Ubuntu is put in a different folder

Another NEW feature is a Windows Link (with icon) that will Soft Reset your phone and then load straight into Ubuntu without any prompts. This is for people who want to load Ubuntu after Windows has been running for a while, but want to reset the phone before loading it.

DONT ASK IN THIS THREAD ABOUT QUESTIONS OR PROBLEMS WITH UBUNTU. THIS IS TO BE KEPT JUST ABOUT THE UBUNTU LOADER.

--------------------------------------
--------------------------------------

Useage:

1. Make sure you have the Ubuntu files copied to your Storage Card already.

2. Install the cab to DEVICE Memory.

3. You will now be asked if you want a prompt everytime you start WindowsMobile to run
Ubuntu or continue to Windows. If you select No you wont get this.

4. You will now be asked which
Ubuntu links you want displayed in the Start Menu (Ubuntu, Ubuntu with Soft Reset or Both).

5. You will now be asked select the folder where your
Ubuntu build is copied to. You only have to do this once, it will remember the settings until you uninstall the program.

--------------------------------------
--------------------------------------

If you enjoy using this program or anything else I do please consider making a donation. Even if its just a small amount it gives me satisfaction and enthusiasm to carry on developing and appreciation of my work is very welcome.

Enjoy

Mark.
Attached Files
File Type: cab mskip_Ubuntu_Loader_V1.0.cab - [Click for QR Code] (258.2 KB, 2780 views)
Last edited by mskip; 7th August 2010 at 09:31 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mskip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd July 2010, 10:34 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Erlangen
Thanks Meter: 0
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
i read some tipps and they suggest, android should be started within 30s after WM-Starting. Otherwise it is not stable and there are some other bugs.

With your app...for example after 10 mins with WM, I start Android.
Will android start normally without any bug?
23rd July 2010, 10:53 PM   |  #4  
stratplayer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 16
 
390 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by heuteabendwo

i read some tipps and they suggest, android should be started within 30s after WM-Starting. Otherwise it is not stable and there are some other bugs.

With your app...for example after 10 mins with WM, I start Android.
Will android start normally without any bug?

I read the same thing, but I am not sure what substance there is to it.

Needless to say both bootloader programs prompt you to choose at the start after powering on the device so I would tend to beleive you need to.

Simple answer to this dilema though is to run the shortcut as soon as Windows loads, infact I've read some people turn off HTC Sense so it loads up quicker when starting and then select to load Android... not tried myself, but sounds like a reasonable idea!
23rd July 2010, 11:39 PM   |  #5  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 13,802
 
11,173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by heuteabendwo

i read some tipps and they suggest, android should be started within 30s after WM-Starting. Otherwise it is not stable and there are some other bugs.

With your app...for example after 10 mins with WM, I start Android.
Will android start normally without any bug?

That bug has been fixed by cotulla with the latest zimage file. The problem you are referring to is known as Turbo Mode which means the clock runs faster when starting Android after Windows has been running too long but like I said thats fixed now. You can now leave Windows Mobile running all day if you wanted and there wouldnt be any problem when loading Android.

Mark.
23rd July 2010, 11:42 PM   |  #6  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 13,802
 
11,173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stratplayer

I read the same thing, but I am not sure what substance there is to it.

Needless to say both bootloader programs prompt you to choose at the start after powering on the device so I would tend to beleive you need to.

Simple answer to this dilema though is to run the shortcut as soon as Windows loads, infact I've read some people turn off HTC Sense so it loads up quicker when starting and then select to load Android... not tried myself, but sounds like a reasonable idea!

No need to turn off HTC Sense it doesnt affect the running of Android in any way

Mark.
The Following User Says Thank You to mskip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2010, 11:15 AM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Erlangen
Thanks Meter: 0
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
nice...thanks for ur informartion
24th July 2010, 01:17 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Faxe Ladeplads
Thanks Meter: 1
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskip

No need to turn off HTC Sense it doesnt affect the running of Android in any way

Mark.

I think you misunderstood him He means that some people disable sense so that WinMo starts up quicker, so that they are able to run android within the 30 second windows they needed
24th July 2010, 02:59 PM   |  #9  
RE795's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Buckinghamshire, UK.
Thanks Meter: 14
 
255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
much thanks mskip for this great app...

but how do you get back to wm os (other than pulling the battery) ?

thanks.
24th July 2010, 05:24 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag SouthSide of Chicago
Thanks Meter: 190
 
1,517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RE795

much thanks mskip for this great app...

but how do you get back to wm os (other than pulling the battery) ?

thanks.

You can hold the power button while in android to bring up the option to shut down completely... after you shut down, when you turn the phone back on it will boot as normal into winmo.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes