FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

[RECOVERY] ClockworkMod Recovery for Vibrant (FINAL! SAFE!)

917 posts
Thanks Meter: 894
 
By Koush, Retired Recognized Developer on 24th July 2010, 11:54 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
First things first, if you flashed a previous version of Clockwork Recovery using Odin, FLASH BACK TO A STOCK KERNEL using this Odin package:
http://koush.tandtgaming.com//test/k...-stock.tar.md5

This recovery is *very* safe to use. It does NOT flash your kernel; it is a completely uninvasive recovery method.

How it works: The recovery is packaged as an update.zip that you run from STOCK recovery. The update.zip unpacks Clockwork Recovery onto the ramdisk and restarts recovery. When you reboot, it reverts back to the original, unmodified, stock recovery. So, you will need to keep the recovery on the root of your SD card as an update.zip, and apply the zip every time you want to start Clockwork.

HOWEVER, if you use ROM Manager, all of the recovery installation and management instructions are done for you!

Installation instructions:
  1. Download ROM Manager from the Market.
  2. Flash Recovery.
  3. Choose Vibrant as your phone.
  4. Accept the Superuser prompt.
  5. On the very FIRST boot of Clockwork, you may need to manually select "reinstall packages" if Clockwork does not start. You should only ever have to do this once. It will be automatic from then on.
  6. Watch the backup go!

That's it! This is completely painless and safe! There is no need for Odin anymore to replace the recovery or flash updates!

If you appreciate my work, please buy the Premium version of ROM Manager!
Last edited by Koush; 24th July 2010 at 12:09 PM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Koush For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
24th July 2010, 12:18 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Failed the first time. Left me in the stock recovery menu and gave a recovery error when clockwork first started. Flashed again and tried to backup a second time. Looks like it worked perfect! Now we need some froyo!

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
24th July 2010, 12:22 PM |#3  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 894
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by youneek

Failed the first time. Left me in the stock recovery menu and gave a recovery error when clockwork first started. Flashed again and tried to backup a second time. Looks like it worked perfect! Now we need some froyo!

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

Yes! That is expected! The very first boot WILL FAIL, the recovery needs a kick start to complete installation.
The Following User Says Thank You to Koush For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2010, 12:35 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Orlando, Fl
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
little tip
after I downloaded Rom Manager and had it download the recovery for my Vibrant.

After the success message I waited nothing happened so you may have to select to manually reboot into the recovery, then select "reinstall packages" to finish the installation.
24th July 2010, 12:36 PM |#5  
metalfan78's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lakewood, CO
Thanks Meter: 2,102
 
More
I don't see Vibrant in ROM manager. Do I need to buy premium or am I doin somethin wrong
24th July 2010, 12:38 PM |#6  
ElChibo's Avatar
Senior Member
Kailua Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 5
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalfan78

I don't see Vibrant in ROM manager. Do I need to buy premium or am I doin somethin wrong

he either took it down and is gonna release it later or something... just wait..
24th July 2010, 12:39 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
I don't even see "Vibrant" in that list

Nevermind....see above
24th July 2010, 12:40 PM |#8  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 894
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lp894

I don't even see "Vibrant" in that list

Vibrant is listed. "Galaxy S Vibrant". Make sure you are on wifi. Some carriers cache web pages.
24th July 2010, 12:42 PM |#9  
metalfan78's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lakewood, CO
Thanks Meter: 2,102
 
More
Sweet I can't wait to have a real recovery
24th July 2010, 12:43 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Orlando, Fl
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koush

Vibrant is listed. "Galaxy S Vibrant". Make sure you are on wifi. Some carriers cache web pages.

I can confirm I used Wifi and have already completed my first backup using Clockwork

thanks Koush.. buying the prem version to show my support!
24th July 2010, 12:51 PM |#11  
metalfan78's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lakewood, CO
Thanks Meter: 2,102
 
More
Bummer I guess ill have to wait until I can find a hotspot

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cwm, froyo, recovery, rom manager, wont go into recovery
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes