Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,368 Members 44,033 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Captivate's GPS is pissing me off

Tip us?
 
saint168
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 213
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default Captivate's GPS is pissing me off

I take a walk everyday after lunch at the office and use RunKeeper to keep track of my progress. When I was using the Aria, I open the app, click the start button and never had trouble. With the Captivate, I have to stand on the street corner for 1 - 15 minutes before I get a GPS fix. This is unacceptable! I tried to follow the direction of the other posting and it's not helping much.

I feel like I made a bad decision to return the Aria and got the Captivate.
HTC One Rooted Android Revolution HD (May 2013)

White HTC Vivid Rooted HolicROM (November 2011)
Samsung Captivate Rooted FireFly 3.0 (July 2010)
HTC Aria (June 2010) (Returned)
AT&T Tilt (Oct 2007)
AT&T 8125 (April 2006)
Motorola V551 (Too Long Ago)
 
oriveradel
Old
#2  
oriveradel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 782
Join Date: Sep 2007
after reading tons of forums and post about the gps on captivate, I found out itis the google navigation software not the actual GPS, I got rid of all my problems once I switched the software to Sygic GPS, which is not free however; pm me and will hook you up!
Oneplus One
Koodo Network
Furnace Kernel + Madhi Rom

Nexus 7 2013
Nexus 4
LG G2 D803
Nexus 5
MOTO G
 
emuneee
Old
#3  
emuneee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 786
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Buy a different phone. After a year with the Captivate, no matter the tweak, GPS for navigation purposes or tracking purposes is not reliable. I used to use it with My Tracks for tracking my runs as well and it was shotty at best.

It is not Google Navigation either as Google Navigation on my Galaxy Tab 10.1 is freaking flawless.

The GPS on the Captivate sucks. Period. /endThread
 
curti.nogg
Old
#4  
curti.nogg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 406
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gadgetzan
After I got a refurb mine has worked and locks on quickly, but my previous Captivate did the same thing. It would take forever or sometimes not work at all.

Sent from my Captivate
Quote:
If outside is so good, why has mankind spent thousands of years trying to perfect inside?
-Sheldon Cooper
 
mpencexda
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Nov 2010
The gps is spotty.. You can try turning on the control plane (hardware) also i noticed increase by removing case.. (hardware) other than that we have crappy chip with insufficient antenna..

sent from an alternate reality
Samsung Galaxy S2 [ATT]
AOKP[ICS]
 
MikeyMike01
Old
#6  
MikeyMike01's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2,461
Posts: 6,411
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
The Captivate GPS is broken. Period. It doesn't work. Never has, never will. Anyone telling you anything else has low standards, poor testing, or is a liar.
Apple iPhone 5S
.
Google Nexus 5
Motorola Moto X
Nokia Lumia 521
Apple iPhone 5
Google Galaxy Nexus
Samsung Galaxy S II
Samsung Infuse 4G
Samsung Captivate
 
BenKranged
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 482
Join Date: Apr 2011
With stock settings GPS is clearly broken.

That said changing the to the google SUPL server and occasionally running the "GPSRestore" app by samsung if I can't get a fix are pretty much the only GPS fixes I've ever needed.

I think my phone is a 1007.

But based on the majority of posts here my experience is not the norm.
 
baoli
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 64
Join Date: May 2010
What's the build date on your phone? I got mine recently with a Feb 2011 build date and the thing locked in seconds out of the box. I've used Co-Pilot to take me from Vancouver to Las Vegas with no issues. What bugs me about this phone is the battery life..
 
FishyFishFishingForFun
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default same

happens to me as well.
 
rob ben
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jan 2011
My stock captivate was great I'd get a 9 sat lock in 12 seconds nearly all the time.
I got hooked on flashing and my gps was usually crap on other roms.

Now I'm running apex 9 with a talon kernal and I'm getting a 9 sat lock in 10 to 12 again. So go figure

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more

Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more

Narrate Makes Note Taking Efficient and Beautiful

Technology has put life on the fast track. Whether its travelling to multiple places or … more

Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more