Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Is this application useful?
useful 43 87.76%
useless 6 12.24%
Voters: 49. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[APP] WiMoRun 0.7a - A Start->Run Equivalent for Windows Mobile - UPDATE 9/03

OP theq86

27th July 2010, 01:36 AM   |  #1  
theq86's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nuremberg
Thanks Meter: 736
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
WiMoRun




Description

Quick Links are okay, but you can not have a quicklink for everything. Or are you just conservative and want to have a launching tool on your PPC? WiMoRun enables you to run programs typing in their name or a keyword. You can start all executable applications within the whole device. With the T9 panel you can choose your apps even faster.

It runs on Windows Mobile > 6.0

If you have ideas to improve this app just let me know.

Features
- run programs by typing their names
- tag programs to get an alias i.e. calc will open favourite calculator
- autocomplete list in realtime
- application cache to boost speed
- T9 input panel for faster searching
- skinnable UI

History & Changelog
Code:
v0.7a (VGA only, Non VGA is WIP)
- crash problem after generating cache is resolved.
- added an application icon, thanks to Farmer Ted

v0.7 (VGA only, Non VGA is WIP)
- added support for skinning, custom skin tutorial soon
- changed autocomplete. you need to specify at least 2 chars for autocomplete
to work (for increasing speed)

v0.6
- added a T9 panel

v0.5a
- fixed a bug that caused tags not to work after adding support for every path

v0.5
- greatly increased startup speed using a cache
- users are now able to run any exe in any path of the filesystem

v0.4
- improved autocompletion with suggestion list
- added keyword/tag handling
- substituted buttons with softkey links

v0.2
- simple error handling if file not found
- larger controls for finger usage (still not nice looking)
- dropdown list of available programs
- autocompletion

v0.1
- basic functionality, run programs by typing their names
Not yet implemented

- a recently launched list
- support for command line options
- opening contacts

Installation and use

After installing cab choose Run from the Programs list.


Feedback

Feedback and reporting are desired, new feature requests, too.
Attached Files
File Type: cab WiMoRun_0.7a_VGA.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (393.4 KB, 434 views)
Last edited by theq86; 3rd September 2010 at 06:42 PM.
27th July 2010, 02:39 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
2,371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
I'd say it would be useful, especially if you save a list of recent applications, which is missing in 6.5. Dotfred's task manager has a run tool, and I use it all the time (it saves mru's).
27th July 2010, 07:36 AM   |  #3  
Member
GMT+3.5
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
I think with the Auto-Complete feature this app will be a time-saver, specially when you want to run or open something from Windows folder (you have scroll a long list to find what you want).

Thanks for your efforts!
27th July 2010, 10:45 AM   |  #4  
theq86's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nuremberg
Thanks Meter: 736
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Version 0.2 is online.

Improvements are a finger friendlier control-size and an autocomplete feature.
28th July 2010, 02:46 AM   |  #5  
thx1200's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Raleigh, North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 54
 
873 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
I like this app idea a lot.

Here are my suggestions:

- As you type, it presents a filtered list (filtering in real time) all the apps that fits the match as you type. Then you can just type the first few letters and select the app. Think of how Windows 7's start menu works. You start typing and it immediately gives you matches and gradually filters the list down as you type.

- A custom T-9 input panel, which can work with the above filtering feature as a more finger friendly alternative. It would work exactly as the dialer's numerical pad does to filter out your contacts by the letters associated with each number.

- Custom keywords for apps. Basically you can associate keywords with apps. So let's say you use Pocket Informant as you calendar app, but you just want to type 'calendar', you can associate it and it will launch it.
28th July 2010, 03:07 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thx1200

- A custom T-9 input panel, which can work with the above filtering feature as a more finger friendly alternative. It would work exactly as the dialer's numerical pad does to filter out your contacts by the letters associated with each number.

Genius idea!!!
28th July 2010, 05:33 AM   |  #7  
Member
GMT+3.5
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Thanks for fast update!
I try it now.
28th July 2010, 10:55 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 32
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Great application, really useful! Looking forward to updates.
28th July 2010, 01:22 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Great Idea, could better ;)
Hi i like the idea,

Autocomplete in this form is nice but imho its not practical enough, i still have to know the exact name of the app.

Have a look at "lauchy"for the pc, when you type it lists all applications that have the letters in them you type, regardless of the position.
So if you type "expl" you would get a list with "explorer" and "file explorer".

Cheers Marco
28th July 2010, 02:08 PM   |  #10  
theq86's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nuremberg
Thanks Meter: 736
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for your first feedbacks.

I will try to improve autocomplete and give a list of programs to chose matching the criteria. I also like the idea to tag programs. A T9-like input panel will also be on my list.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes