Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

Battery Indicator on Notification Bar

OP phishie

28th July 2010, 04:37 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Is everyone else's Stock Battery Indicator ridiculous inaccurate? I'm at 42% battery life currently (widget/spare parts) and the stock indicator shows a level around 65-75%.
28th July 2010, 04:42 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phishie

Is everyone else's Stock Battery Indicator ridiculous inaccurate? I'm at 42% battery life currently (widget/spare parts) and the stock indicator shows a level around 65-75%.

it's not 'inaccurate' samsung has set it like that. but if you want to tweak it, try search around.
28th July 2010, 05:02 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by accinfo

it's not 'inaccurate' samsung has set it like that. but if you want to tweak it, try search around.

Ah, correction, rather than inaccurate it just rounds up generously.
28th July 2010, 04:00 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phishie

Is everyone else's Stock Battery Indicator ridiculous inaccurate? I'm at 42% battery life currently (widget/spare parts) and the stock indicator shows a level around 65-75%.

Yea, that's common. They don't have very many level drops.


If anyone finds an app that can overlay a % (or replace it with a %) on top of the STOCK ICON, that'd be awesome. There's some that add an additional icon but I don't want that, that's just stupid to have two battery icons...

Also if anyone finds an app that can overlay a dBm signal in place of the signal strength meters that'd be awesome, too.
28th July 2010, 04:18 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Columbia, SC
Thanks Meter: 27
 
633 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexUs

Yea, that's common. They don't have very many level drops.


If anyone finds an app that can overlay a % (or replace it with a %) on top of the STOCK ICON, that'd be awesome. There's some that add an additional icon but I don't want that, that's just stupid to have two battery icons...

Also if anyone finds an app that can overlay a dBm signal in place of the signal strength meters that'd be awesome, too.

Yes, I was wanting a NEW battery gauge, one that shows the percentage, not the ridiculous stock icon thats off by a mile. Also, I'm with you I dont want two battery icons up there. I guess its harder than I think it should be to create an app that does that.
28th July 2010, 04:21 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I'd assume since it's the TouchWiz UI that something specific to the Captivate would have to change the icon... That's my assumption anyway, I'm not a developer.
28th July 2010, 08:30 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek4484

Yes, I was wanting a NEW battery gauge, one that shows the percentage, not the ridiculous stock icon thats off by a mile. Also, I'm with you I dont want two battery icons up there. I guess its harder than I think it should be to create an app that does that.

You guys might want to try System Info Widget in the Market. Pretty good and definitely accurate.
28th July 2010, 08:46 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
1,451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
What annoys me is that Samsung has the numerical info in the about screen, so why not just create a toggle so we can go from bar to numeric....

I think they pulled an Apple and wanted the bars to always look bigger.
28th July 2010, 09:00 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I installed Battery Widget (the one with over 250K downloads)... Best thing for now...
28th July 2010, 09:22 PM   |  #10  
cliffgardner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
I noticed the same thing right away... Not sure if they thought users would miss this but its a little misleading..

Battery status widget works for me.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes