5,605,835 Members 47,915 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Battery Indicator on Notification Bar

Tip us?
 
phishie
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 430
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Battery Indicator on Notification Bar

Is everyone else's Stock Battery Indicator ridiculous inaccurate? I'm at 42% battery life currently (widget/spare parts) and the stock indicator shows a level around 65-75%.
 
accinfo
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 205
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by phishie View Post
Is everyone else's Stock Battery Indicator ridiculous inaccurate? I'm at 42% battery life currently (widget/spare parts) and the stock indicator shows a level around 65-75%.
it's not 'inaccurate' samsung has set it like that. but if you want to tweak it, try search around.
 
phishie
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 430
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by accinfo View Post
it's not 'inaccurate' samsung has set it like that. but if you want to tweak it, try search around.
Ah, correction, rather than inaccurate it just rounds up generously.
 
TexUs
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 645
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by phishie View Post
Is everyone else's Stock Battery Indicator ridiculous inaccurate? I'm at 42% battery life currently (widget/spare parts) and the stock indicator shows a level around 65-75%.
Yea, that's common. They don't have very many level drops.


If anyone finds an app that can overlay a % (or replace it with a %) on top of the STOCK ICON, that'd be awesome. There's some that add an additional icon but I don't want that, that's just stupid to have two battery icons...

Also if anyone finds an app that can overlay a dBm signal in place of the signal strength meters that'd be awesome, too.
 
derek4484
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 633
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexUs View Post
Yea, that's common. They don't have very many level drops.


If anyone finds an app that can overlay a % (or replace it with a %) on top of the STOCK ICON, that'd be awesome. There's some that add an additional icon but I don't want that, that's just stupid to have two battery icons...

Also if anyone finds an app that can overlay a dBm signal in place of the signal strength meters that'd be awesome, too.
Yes, I was wanting a NEW battery gauge, one that shows the percentage, not the ridiculous stock icon thats off by a mile. Also, I'm with you I dont want two battery icons up there. I guess its harder than I think it should be to create an app that does that.
 
TexUs
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 645
Join Date: Jul 2010
I'd assume since it's the TouchWiz UI that something specific to the Captivate would have to change the icon... That's my assumption anyway, I'm not a developer.
 
spyz88
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 418
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek4484 View Post
Yes, I was wanting a NEW battery gauge, one that shows the percentage, not the ridiculous stock icon thats off by a mile. Also, I'm with you I dont want two battery icons up there. I guess its harder than I think it should be to create an app that does that.
You guys might want to try System Info Widget in the Market. Pretty good and definitely accurate.
 
alphadog00
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 1,451
Join Date: Jun 2010
What annoys me is that Samsung has the numerical info in the about screen, so why not just create a toggle so we can go from bar to numeric....

I think they pulled an Apple and wanted the bars to always look bigger.
 
TexUs
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 645
Join Date: Jul 2010
I installed Battery Widget (the one with over 250K downloads)... Best thing for now...
 
cliffgardner
Old
#10  
cliffgardner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 197
Join Date: Mar 2007
I noticed the same thing right away... Not sure if they thought users would miss this but its a little misleading..

Battery status widget works for me.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S
Cliff Gardner
... is on Google+

Nexus 7
Android 4.1.1
Unlocked/Rooted/Stock [for now]


Samsung Galaxy S II SPH-i-777
CM9.0.0 RC2
Android 4.0.4

Samsung SPH-i897 Captivate
Cognition 5 v2
Kernel 2.6.35.7
Baseband I897UCKF1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...