AOSP 5.1 ROM Compiled for the Moto E

It’s been a few weeks since the release of Android 5.1 and XDA Senior Member percy_g2 has … more

CutCalc: A Calculator for Mechanical Engineers

Mechanical and mechatronics engineers may want a handy app to calculate data for … more

Google Play Music Customizations – XDA Xposed Tuesday

If Cyanogen Inc. has its way, you won’t be forced into the Google … more

Sony Xperia Z3 Lollipop Framework Ported to CM12

Android 5.0 for Xperia has a unique look and feel. You don’t have to get a Sony … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Data speed on the vibrant :)

29th July 2010, 05:46 PM |#1  
stepinmyworld's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Hey, im not sure if any of you noticed but i had a nexus one which was a great phone! but it seems the vibrant is much fast when loading pages and pulling in data on edge and 3g. It's hard to explain what i mean but it's just a little more powerful. anyone else notice this? when you download apps, especially on 3g.. it's like #pow! and installed... very zippy!

just wanted some opinions. I can't wait until a real rom is generated for this phone and they create a 3200 mah battery for this. IM BUYING IT lol

Also yall should try Skyfire browser from the market and set your browser to open as Desktop rather than android or iPhone. Even on edge, the pages open so fast!

check it out!
 
 
29th July 2010, 06:06 PM |#2  
darkknight49's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 1
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
yea, the data seems quite zippy on the phone, even if the speed readings are a bit inconsistent. I did hit 5 Mbps in pasadena yesterday tho.
29th July 2010, 06:22 PM |#3  
stepinmyworld's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkknight49

yea, the data seems quite zippy on the phone, even if the speed readings are a bit inconsistent. I did hit 5 Mbps in pasadena yesterday tho.

yeah exactly
29th July 2010, 06:23 PM |#4  
Account currently disabled
Flag portland
Thanks Meter: 1
 
673 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I too came from a n1 and yes this beats it in speeds. Even on edge with no bars is faster than my n1 with 2 bars... I just wish the signal bars wasn't wacky. Its throwing my thinking off...lol
29th July 2010, 06:23 PM |#5  
XfooYen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lost Angeles
Thanks Meter: 31
 
464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
The phone takes advantage of HSPA. That's probably what you're seeing.

Sent from my Vibrant using XDA app facing north...no, wait. southwest.
29th July 2010, 06:25 PM |#6  
Account currently disabled
Flag portland
Thanks Meter: 1
 
673 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XfooYen

The phone takes advantage of HSPA. That's probably what you're seeing.

Sent from my Vibrant using XDA app facing north...no, wait. southwest.

So did his n1.....
29th July 2010, 06:31 PM |#7  
SE7EN-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag VA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Coming from the Slide I couldn't even use the browser on Edge but on this Vibrant its really quick on Edge and I don't even need to switch it to 3G. Definitely a difference.
Last edited by SE7EN-; 29th July 2010 at 06:36 PM.
29th July 2010, 06:40 PM |#8  
Account currently disabled
Flag portland
Thanks Meter: 1
 
673 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XfooYen

The phone takes advantage of HSPA. That's probably what you're seeing.

Sent from my Vibrant using XDA app facing north...no, wait. southwest.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SE7EN-

Coming from the Slide I couldn't even use the browser on Edge but on this Vibrant its really quick on Edge and I don't even need to switch it to 3G. Definitely a difference.

Same here, in edge my n1 most the time didn't do anything... this is fast on edge....
29th July 2010, 06:44 PM |#9  
I_Droid's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stepinmyworld

yeah exactly


I just record my best download on speedtest.net. 6.1Mbs in Seattle area.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
29th July 2010, 06:47 PM |#10  
Account currently disabled
Flag portland
Thanks Meter: 1
 
673 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Droid

I just record my best download on speedtest.net. 6.1Mbs in Seattle area.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

Nice I got 5.0 this morning in Portland Oregon...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes