FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Get rid of tmobile animation on boot

221 posts
Thanks Meter: 12
 
By muzicman0, Senior Member on 30th July 2010, 11:56 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This may be posted elsewhere...if so, sorry. I replaced the 2 qmg files in /system/media with the attached files. The attached files are the stock i9000 boot animations. I got them from a captivate thread.

So far they seem to work fine, but you should make a backup just in case.

mm0
Attached Files
File Type: zip noTmobileBoot.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.66 MB, 1388 views)
 
 
31st July 2010, 02:30 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Guess you have to be rooted, right?
31st July 2010, 02:54 AM |#3  
yvyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, Ga
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
rooted here, not working
31st July 2010, 03:05 AM |#4  
Anderdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palo Alto
Thanks Meter: 106
 
Donate to Me
More
What is the best way to copy files over? Could you give more of a noob tutorial on how to do this lol
31st July 2010, 03:12 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Providence RI
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
works great! no more stupid pink crap! I a sooo excited!

The way I did it is as follows. I used root manager to copy the original qmg files to a safe place. I then mounted the phone to my computer copied the new qmgs to the sd card unmounted and used root manager again to put them in the correct place (system/media).
31st July 2010, 03:47 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Ladera Ranch, CA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
make sure that you extract the two files from the zip. other than that, I did it just like the above posts.
31st July 2010, 03:48 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Works perfectly Thanks!!! Any idea where the sound file is? I'd like to replace that with something less "happy"
31st July 2010, 04:04 AM |#8  
Anderdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palo Alto
Thanks Meter: 106
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ISprayCandy

Works perfectly Thanks!!! Any idea where the sound file is? I'd like to replace that with something less "happy"

this is covered in the sticky and here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=731059
31st July 2010, 04:25 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
For some reason I am not able to copy the files with root explorer. Do I need to move the files with terminal? I've copied/move them over..but they do not appear. I have root access btw.
31st July 2010, 04:48 AM |#10  
MINUS Stl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Louis
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Working on a rooted Vibrant here. Ended up using Root Explorer to get it to work.
31st July 2010, 05:15 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Southern CA
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Now, is there a way to get rid of the pink shutdown animation?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes