LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Get rid of tmobile animation on boot

OP muzicman0

31st July 2010, 12:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Ladera Ranch, CA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
This may be posted elsewhere...if so, sorry. I replaced the 2 qmg files in /system/media with the attached files. The attached files are the stock i9000 boot animations. I got them from a captivate thread.

So far they seem to work fine, but you should make a backup just in case.

mm0
Attached Files
File Type: zip noTmobileBoot.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.66 MB, 1374 views)
31st July 2010, 03:30 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Guess you have to be rooted, right?
31st July 2010, 03:54 AM   |  #3  
yvyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, Ga
Thanks Meter: 1
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
rooted here, not working
31st July 2010, 04:05 AM   |  #4  
Anderdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palo Alto
Thanks Meter: 105
 
1,198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
What is the best way to copy files over? Could you give more of a noob tutorial on how to do this lol
31st July 2010, 04:12 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Providence RI
Thanks Meter: 18
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
works great! no more stupid pink crap! I a sooo excited!

The way I did it is as follows. I used root manager to copy the original qmg files to a safe place. I then mounted the phone to my computer copied the new qmgs to the sd card unmounted and used root manager again to put them in the correct place (system/media).
31st July 2010, 04:47 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Ladera Ranch, CA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
make sure that you extract the two files from the zip. other than that, I did it just like the above posts.
31st July 2010, 04:48 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Works perfectly Thanks!!! Any idea where the sound file is? I'd like to replace that with something less "happy"
31st July 2010, 05:04 AM   |  #8  
Anderdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palo Alto
Thanks Meter: 105
 
1,198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ISprayCandy

Works perfectly Thanks!!! Any idea where the sound file is? I'd like to replace that with something less "happy"

this is covered in the sticky and here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=731059
31st July 2010, 05:25 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
For some reason I am not able to copy the files with root explorer. Do I need to move the files with terminal? I've copied/move them over..but they do not appear. I have root access btw.
31st July 2010, 05:48 AM   |  #10  
MINUS Stl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Louis
Thanks Meter: 35
 
586 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Working on a rooted Vibrant here. Ended up using Root Explorer to get it to work.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes