The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SOLVED] install-recovery.sh - The undeletable script from the dark side...

OP bootoo

31st July 2010, 02:55 PM   |  #1  
bootoo's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 5
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Donate to Me
More
Greeting all,
First of, I would like to thanks all of you for the amount of info I have found in this forum.
This is trully amazing and, so far, allowed me to sucessfully:
- Unlock my phone
- Root my phone
- Install a custom recovery image

I know that I am creating a new post on a very known and discussed subject BUT after 2 days of google seach nothing I have tried has permitted me to sucessfuly delete this $%^&*() of script.

As you all know, it needs to be deleted to launch the custome recovery image (at the moment, I am stucked with the exclamation mark with the little Droid when I try).

IMPORTANT: I currently run the Froyo android 2.2 official ROM.

To delete this scipt, I have tried 2 approaches:
- Console mode from windows using ADB
- directly form the phone using a File explorer

#1: From the console:
As mentionned in many previous posts, I have tried the following commands once connected to the nexus

adb shell
su
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system

I beleive this command is either incorrect OR no longer working with Froyo 2.2 as I get the following message which looks fishy (I am not a Linux specialist...):
Usage: mount [-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory

When I try to delete the scripe with the commande below, I am kindly informed that it failed as it is still a read only file system

rm /system/etc/install-recovery.sh

#2: From the phone
I read that SUFBS, a very nice file explorer was available on the market allowing to mount both system AND data in RW would allow me to do it.

I have had several try at it enabling RW at different moment (System then etc then directly when I am in the folder and see the script I want to delete) and whatever I do, each time I select the command delete, it looks like it works (little pacman eating) but the script from the dark side is sill there like nothing happened...

As I am close to give it the microwave treatment to see if it works better ;) I thought I give it a try on the forum to see if any Android/Linux god would spend 5 minutes to explain to me what I am doing wrong...

Thanks a lot in advance!
BooToo
Last edited by bootoo; 8th August 2010 at 02:33 PM. Reason: solved
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bootoo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st July 2010, 04:03 PM   |  #2  
fubaya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Try this:

mount -o rw,remount /system

I can't guarantee that works with Froyo but it's all I've ever used and I don't remember it giving me any problem when I used Froyo.
31st July 2010, 07:10 PM   |  #3  
ilostchild's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 116
 
1,206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Umm I think it should be mount -o remount,rw then type the rest

You can also try this mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
31st July 2010, 09:12 PM   |  #4  
fubaya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
adb is supposed to have it's own remount command for doing this, but I've only used adb once when I rooted so I'm no help there.

Other than that, try doing: ls -l /system/xbin/mount to see if mount is a link to busybox. If it is, the last part of the output will look like this: /system/xbin/mount -> busybox

If it is, type busybox | head -n1 to see what version of busybox you have.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilostchild

Umm I think it should be mount -o remount,rw then type the rest

Heh, I never realized I had those backwards compared to how people usually do it, but the order doesn't actually matter. It's not necessary to specify the device as the remount option doesn't change the mount point or device.

# mount | grep system
/dev/block/mtdblock3 on /system type yaffs2 (ro,relatime)
# mount -o rw,remount /system
# mount | grep system
/dev/block/mtdblock3 on /system type yaffs2 (rw,relatime)
8th August 2010, 02:03 PM   |  #5  
bootoo's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 5
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Donate to Me
More
Talking
Well...
I am an ass...
I did not have enabled the "USB debugging" on the phone...

Problem soved with the exact command lines I put at the beginning...
Last edited by bootoo; 8th August 2010 at 02:34 PM.
9th February 2011, 05:01 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
After rooting, flashing clockworkmod through ROM manager it was still going into stock recovery mode. Then I deleted /system/etc/install-recovery.sh and got my phone(HTC magic - 32A) bricked. Now it starts, shows rogers logo for 5-6 seconds and restarts and repeats untill i take out battery. I tried all combinations(power+back , power+home, Power+volume, Menu+home+power, menu+call+power) for quickboot and recovery mode but no success. Anyone has any idea about this issue?
9th February 2011, 05:03 AM   |  #7  
danger-rat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 316
 
2,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
If you have an HTC Magic, you're in the wrong forum...

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
9th February 2011, 03:38 PM   |  #8  
mtw4991's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 216
 
2,243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
just rename the script and you're done!
9th February 2011, 04:51 PM   |  #9  
GldRush98's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Taylorville, IL.
Thanks Meter: 279
 
2,229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
1) Bump 6 month old thread
2) Post in the completely wrong forum
3) Posts: 1 Join Date: Feb 2011

UGH.
27th March 2011, 10:49 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
error while loading new compiled Linux kernel image into the android emulator(1.5)
I am sorry, that i am asking my question in "reply" but i am not able to make a new post.

I have successfully compiled Linux kernel for android:

root@ubuntu:~/common# ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=~/mydroid/prebuilt/linux-x86/toolchain/arm-eabi-4.4.0/bin/arm-eabi- make
CHK include/linux/version.h
make[1]: `include/asm-arm/mach-types.h' is up to date.
CHK include/linux/utsrelease.h
.
.
.
SYMLINK include/asm -> include/asm-arm
CALL scripts/checksyscalls.sh
<stdin>:1097:2: warning: #warning syscall fadvise64 not implemented
<stdin>:1265:2: warning: #warning syscall migrate_pages not implemented
<stdin>:1321:2: warning: #warning syscall pselect6 not implemented
<stdin>:1325:2: warning: #warning syscall ppoll not implemented
<stdin>:1365:2: warning: #warning syscall epoll_pwait not implemented
CHK include/linux/compile.h
Kernel: arch/arm/boot/Image is ready
Kernel: arch/arm/boot/zImage is ready
Building modules, stage 2.
MODPOST 157 modules
root@ubuntu:~/common#


but i get the following error while loading this images in the emulator:

root@ubuntu:~/android-sdk-linux_x86/tools# ./emulator -avd avd1.5 -kernel ~/common/arch/arm/boot/zImage -show-kernel -verbose
emulator: found SDK root at /home/preetam/android-sdk-linux_x86
emulator: root virtual device file at /home/preetam/.android/avd/avd1.5.ini
.
.
.
yaffs_read_super: isCheckpointed 0
sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
# init: cannot find '/system/bin/playmp3', disabling 'bootsound'
init: cannot find '/system/bin/dbus-daemon', disabling 'dbus'
eth0: link up
init: untracked pid 578 exited
init: untracked pid 579 exited
warning: `rild' uses 32-bit capabilities (legacy support in use)
init: untracked pid 601 exited
init: untracked pid 592 exited
init: untracked pid 605 exited
init: untracked pid 602 exited
init: untracked pid 609 exited
init: untracked pid 606 exited
init: critical process 'servicemanager' exited 4 times in 4 minutes; rebooting into recovery mode
save exit: isCheckpointed 1
save exit: isCheckpointed 1
Restarting system with command 'recovery'.
Reboot failed -- System halted


and the emulator didn't start with the new kernel image(emulator didn't reboot). what is the problem here..?? and how can i replace my emulator's image with newly compiled Linux permanently??

please help. thank you!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes