Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

GPS issues finally fixed with Froyo?

OP widjaja74_us

1st August 2010, 10:51 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
So, all those who have upgraded the firmware to Froyo, please answer this.....
Is your GPS/Google Map finally working in perfect condition?
If the GPS still have problem then i think we can probably say with high degree of certainty that it is a hardware based problem....
I mean with all the firmwares that they have leaked so far, wouldnt fixing the GPS issue be priority number one for them? If it was software/firware fixable, then i would think that they would have solve it by now....
1st August 2010, 10:52 AM   |  #2  
heygrl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegassss
Thanks Meter: 42
 
1,959 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by widjaja74_us

So, all those who have upgraded the firmware to Froyo, please answer this.....
Is your GPS/Google Map finally working in perfect condition?
If the GPS still have problem then i think we can probably say with high degree of certainty that it is a hardware based problem....
I mean with all the firmwares that they have leaked so far, wouldnt fixing the GPS issue be priority number one for them? If it was software/firware fixable, then i would think that they would have solve it by now....

If they haven't fixed it yet for us on Eclair what would make you think FroYo fixes the problem?
1st August 2010, 11:00 AM   |  #3  
Bajo76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spreitenbach
Thanks Meter: 59
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by heygrl

If they haven't fixed it yet for us on Eclair what would make you think FroYo fixes the problem?

The next official release will be Froyo, so it makes sense they do not work at eclair firmware anymore. So if they fix GPS it will be with the next official firmware and this should be Froyo.
1st August 2010, 11:01 AM   |  #4  
heygrl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegassss
Thanks Meter: 42
 
1,959 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bajo76

The next official release will be Froyo, so it makes sense they do not work at eclair firmware anymore. So if they fix GPS it will be with the next official firmware and this should be Froyo.

They need to patch the GPS before September. If they had a patch we would be hearing about an OTA and it would be included in later leaked firmware revisions.
1st August 2010, 11:04 AM   |  #5  
jodue's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag vienna
Thanks Meter: 37
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
the gps is fixed (at least for me) in JM2 already!
1st August 2010, 11:06 AM   |  #6  
Bajo76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spreitenbach
Thanks Meter: 59
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jodue

the gps is fixed (at least for me) in JM2 already!

Not for me. JM2.
1st August 2010, 11:10 AM   |  #7  
dupel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 23
 
1,368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Its much worse on froyo.

But its perfect on JM2 if you use -

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=732030
and
http://www.intomobile.com/2010/07/21...-fix-tutorial/
1st August 2010, 11:11 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Are you going back to the SGS if/when they fix it? Thought you sold yours.... But im old and might have you confused with someone else :)

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
1st August 2010, 11:12 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
The GPS is still useless in Froyo. At least for me...
1st August 2010, 11:21 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml78

Are you going back to the SGS if/when they fix it? Thought you sold yours.... But im old and might have you confused with someone else :)

Yeah my exact thoughts. Dude didn't you say 2 weeks ago that you sold your SGS? Did you even have one?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes