Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,898 Members 48,176 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Evo 4g on virgin mobile

Tip us?
 
pimpin oh boy
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 136
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Evo 4g on virgin mobile

since virgin uses sprints tower would it be possible to use the evo on virgin because im think about buy a used one from a friend and i dont want to sign a 2 year deal
 
xlrdxrevengex
Old
#2  
xlrdxrevengex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oregon
Nope would not work. If you really want a evo and your friend will sell you his then you would not need to sign a two year contract. The two is only required for people who buy a new phone or upgrade there phone and do not wish to pay retail price

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
HTC EVO 4G
ROM - CM6 Stable
Theme - Revolution (with some tweaks)
Search is your friend! - When in doubt Google
 
BLOWNCO
Old
#3  
BLOWNCO's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,542
Posts: 1,765
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOR CAL

 
DONATE TO ME
why are you starting multiple threads for the same question?
 
pimpin oh boy
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 136
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlrdxrevengex View Post
Nope would not work. If you really want a evo and your friend will sell you his then you would not need to sign a two year contract. The two is only required for people who buy a new phone or upgrade there phone and do not wish to pay retail price

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
the thing is that sprint doesn't a have plan where some one can buy a phone at full price and use it on a month to month deal or do they and i just cant find in on there webpage like with Verizon i bought a droid when they first came out but paid full price but used it mouth to mouth does sprint have somethink like that
 
drmacinyasha
Old
#5  
drmacinyasha's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 278
Posts: 1,698
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento
Try going to a Sprint Corporate store and asking.
PROTIP: Bestbuy is not Sprint Corporate.
Views expressed do not represent RootzWiki or Goo.im unless explicitly declared as such.
 
theboundless
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jul 2010
The Evo on metropcs works great for me for the $40 a month price, though you'll have to get the esn added through houdini in a non-official manner so to speak. Search craigslist and there'll be a ton of adds of people who can add the evo to the metropcs network.
 
dannyxda
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 76
Join Date: Dec 2008
so in other words, yes it's possible as the cdma radio hardware is the same,

however some people who are not lawyers think it's illegal to change the ESN
even though you're not stealing any service.
 
topdawgn8
Old
#8  
topdawgn8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 248
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Protip: Sprint bought Virgin last week. They already had 51% share and decided to purchase.
 
tritron777
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 130
Join Date: Nov 2008
Virgin does not allow flashed phones on their network (sprint). Now you can flash evo to verizon, cricket and metropc and other verizon based providers. Cricket is nice because for 55 you get android plan with everything unlimited and it runs on network that evo was designed for.
 
lmp1054
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2010
Nothing is impossible in our world.

Anyone out there dedicated and financially capable of trying? lol

The Following User Says Thank You to lmp1054 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes