Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

Evo 4g on virgin mobile

OP pimpin oh boy

2nd August 2010, 08:45 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
since virgin uses sprints tower would it be possible to use the evo on virgin because im think about buy a used one from a friend and i dont want to sign a 2 year deal
2nd August 2010, 08:52 AM   |  #2  
xlrdxrevengex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 0
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Nope would not work. If you really want a evo and your friend will sell you his then you would not need to sign a two year contract. The two is only required for people who buy a new phone or upgrade there phone and do not wish to pay retail price

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
2nd August 2010, 08:58 AM   |  #3  
BLOWNCO's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag NOR CAL
Thanks Meter: 1,567
 
1,808 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Donate to Me
More
why are you starting multiple threads for the same question?
2nd August 2010, 09:00 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlrdxrevengex

Nope would not work. If you really want a evo and your friend will sell you his then you would not need to sign a two year contract. The two is only required for people who buy a new phone or upgrade there phone and do not wish to pay retail price

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

the thing is that sprint doesn't a have plan where some one can buy a phone at full price and use it on a month to month deal or do they and i just cant find in on there webpage like with Verizon i bought a droid when they first came out but paid full price but used it mouth to mouth does sprint have somethink like that
2nd August 2010, 09:14 AM   |  #5  
drmacinyasha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 278
 
1,698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Try going to a Sprint Corporate store and asking.
PROTIP: Bestbuy is not Sprint Corporate.
2nd August 2010, 09:18 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
The Evo on metropcs works great for me for the $40 a month price, though you'll have to get the esn added through houdini in a non-official manner so to speak. Search craigslist and there'll be a ton of adds of people who can add the evo to the metropcs network.
28th September 2010, 05:41 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
so in other words, yes it's possible as the cdma radio hardware is the same,

however some people who are not lawyers think it's illegal to change the ESN
even though you're not stealing any service.
28th September 2010, 06:21 AM   |  #8  
topdawgn8's Avatar
Senior Member
St. Louis, MO
Thanks Meter: 5
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Protip: Sprint bought Virgin last week. They already had 51% share and decided to purchase.
28th September 2010, 06:41 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Virgin does not allow flashed phones on their network (sprint). Now you can flash evo to verizon, cricket and metropc and other verizon based providers. Cricket is nice because for 55 you get android plan with everything unlimited and it runs on network that evo was designed for.
23rd October 2010, 05:44 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Nothing is impossible in our world.

Anyone out there dedicated and financially capable of trying? lol

The Following User Says Thank You to lmp1054 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes