Easily Toggles Your Lollipop Mobile Data Network Type

Android Lollipop is by good margin the most advanced and refinedversion of … more

Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Solution to the HD2's crappy keyboard!(updated 10/3/2010!now with working xt9 button)

OP boogiecornejo

2nd August 2010, 01:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Ive managed to edit some of the xml files for the built in keyboard and i have to say that it works so much better now.

the idea to make the keyboard work better was inspired by how the buttons were spaced on the iphone. i noticed that they were spaced farther apart compared to the hd2 so i painstakingly edited every buttons' "virtual" position and this has resulted in a keyboard that is much more responsive(the lags seem to have lessened considerably) and accuracy in typing is now at par with an iphone.

i never use xt9 so i just removed it(in the 1st three attachments)w/c also resulted in reduced mis pressing it when trying to press an "A".

i also moved the dpad arrows(also in the 1st three attachments) to the top making the period, comma and spacebar easier to press without mistakes.

the backspace button has been enlarged for better ergonomics.

to lycox, thanks for letting me use your skin. heres the link to the original skin's thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=709916

thanks also goes to p107r0 for leading me in the right direction.

this wouldnt have been possible without XmlGui so big thank yous to programatix.

Instructions: download the attached rar files.unrar and copy all files inside the folder directly to the windows directory of your HD2(you will need a 3rd party file explorer like resco to overwrite the existing files). soft reset. thats it...

i strongly suggest to backup all the files to be replaced just in case something goes awry.

do this at your own risk.please dont blame me if your phone suddenly gets bricked. mine worked perfectly after replacing all files.

please leave a comment after youve tried it.

this is only for portrait mode. i didnt touch landscape coz i dont use it...

if theres anyone kind enough to make a cab file out of this please do.

EDIT: if you need xt9 use the Orig KB Edited attachment

Update: i made a version 2 of the mod with the spaces between the buttons even farther apart. some people might find this more comfortable but the mod sometimes results in "no presses". and by the way i succesfully skinned the spacebar and shift key thanks to dinik and p107r0.use the attached sipmap.dll in the fallout keyboard rar file but its far from perfect.eg:the .com button has disappeared.i have to look into this a bit more to fix it...
if you want the original gtx skin just replace the fallout png files with the ones from the edited kb rar file.

EDIT 2: i added an original version with the arrows at the bottom and the xt9 working.

EDIT 3: i know its a bit confusing but to shed some light on all the attached files heres an explanation.

the first one(Edited KB.rar) is exactly like Edit KB by boogiecornejo.cab except in cab form.

the third(FAllout KB.rar) is like the first two except that its semi skinned with a fallout theme.

the last(Orig KB Edited10-3-2010) contains the files needed to replace in the windows folder to get the functionality of my mod using whatever keyboard you already have(assuming its a normal layout eg: with the directional arrows at the bottom) in your device.

i hope that shed some light on whatever questions there are about the files...
Attached Files
File Type: rar Edited KB.rar - [Click for QR Code] (306.6 KB, 2837 views)
File Type: cab Edit Kb by boogiecornejo.cab - [Click for QR Code] (347.8 KB, 4440 views)
File Type: rar Fallout KB.rar - [Click for QR Code] (460.0 KB, 1490 views)
File Type: rar Orig KB Edited10-3-2010.rar - [Click for QR Code] (14.5 KB, 2575 views)
Last edited by boogiecornejo; 7th September 2010 at 06:22 PM.
2nd August 2010, 01:38 PM   |  #2  
shthpnz's Avatar
Member
Flag Madurodam
Thanks Meter: 0
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Thumbs up
Thanks!
I abandoned the original due to the many typo's. My first impression of your modded version is very positive.

Regards,
2nd August 2010, 02:00 PM   |  #3  
Dunc001's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Hiding out south of the border...
Thanks Meter: 1,433
 
2,649 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
How do you switch from alpha to numeric keys (can see how to get back but how do you get to it in the first place)? Does it still use XT9 and error correction as per original even though you've removed the XT9 button?
2nd August 2010, 02:24 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunc001

How do you switch from alpha to numeric keys (can see how to get back but how do you get to it in the first place)? Does it still use XT9 and error correction as per original even though you've removed the XT9 button?

hello dunc!to switch from alpha to numeric just press the @ button.

xt9 is completely disabled and im not really sure how to turn it on without having to go back to the drawing board. editing the xml file is to say the least "tedious" but if a lot of people would request it back i might, as i said, "go back to the drawing board" :)

its actually a miracle of sorts that this mod worked coz im not really into developing anything on these forums. this is actually my first real contribution to the community despite having been around for the last 6 or 7 years...
2nd August 2010, 02:47 PM   |  #5  
wakers's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
I would like to give it ago but i do use the XT9 function all the time, at the moment i've gone back to the old style phone keypad rather than a qwerty keyboard as it seems to be less laggy and the buttons are far larger (i got fat fingers)

Good work on this though i'm surprised no one else has done something before wish i knew where to start :)
2nd August 2010, 02:48 PM   |  #6  
alesscam's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ancona
Thanks Meter: 132
 
2,228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
@boogiecornejo

this is a cab for you..
great work
Attached Files
File Type: cab Edit Kb by boogiecornejo.cab - [Click for QR Code] (347.8 KB, 900 views)
2nd August 2010, 02:49 PM   |  #7  
wakers's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
If i install the cab and don't like it, will it restore back to the original keyboard ?
2nd August 2010, 02:50 PM   |  #8  
p107r0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 627
 
1,812 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by boogiecornejo

if theres anyone kind enough to make a cab file out of this please do.

[attachment removed: the same 2 posts above]
Last edited by p107r0; 2nd August 2010 at 03:58 PM.
2nd August 2010, 03:17 PM   |  #9  
ClementNg23's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 6
 
509 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
lol congrats on this release.
to me it is difinately looking very impressive.
+1 to go on the xda portal

oh would difinately try it out once it has got some decent skins cause it currently looks.... kinda like a little bit like spiking my eye. along would my screwed up today screen I just dont want anything else added into the phone....
will report back once I reflashed and installed the keyboard.

congrats, good luck, and keep up this master piece

cheers
2nd August 2010, 03:42 PM   |  #10  
PHOENIXROSE's Avatar
Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 10
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
if you want to turn t9 on/off switch keyboards to another e.g. compact keyboard hit the t9 switch option and then change back to your normal keyboard and t9 will be changed

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes