NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8-Gigabit RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

USA Dell Streak WARNING!!!!

OP hdbueller

2nd August 2010, 06:11 PM   |  #1  
OP Retired Forum Mod
Flag Mid-Missouri
Thanks Meter: 10
 
570 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
Hi all.
I am currently on the phone with AT&T as my USA beta Streak has quit working!! I am being told that the US Streaks were designed to quit after the evaluation period was over!! I now can not make any calls with it at all except to AT&T!!
Any one else had their Streak IMEI blocked by AT&T??

UPDATE: Over at Modaco they are starting to drop like flies......several posts about it now! It is happening as we speak!!
UPDATE 2: Quote from Dell:
All 1100+ US beta Streak IMEI's are now invalid! They could not (or would not) say if the IMEI's will be good again after the release!
UPDATE 3: Dell states that it was AT&T that did this to us and that the affected units will work again AFTER the official USA release! They could not say when that would be tho.....
Last edited by hdbueller; 2nd August 2010 at 08:24 PM.
2nd August 2010, 09:06 PM   |  #2  
The Jack of Clubs's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 478
 
2,729 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
that sucks. im glad i didnt do anything rash like buy a streak on ebay or something.
2nd August 2010, 11:20 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Boston
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Yeah, mine went down around 10 am. Sucks, I've only had it two days, I guess I'm stuck using my old unlocked G1 again temporarily...
3rd August 2010, 12:19 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
just a heads up guys... found this on engadget!

AT&T blocking Dell Streak beta units?


looks like your out of luck till AT&T sort themselves out.
3rd August 2010, 09:59 PM   |  #5  
joeclark's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kingsbury, TX
Thanks Meter: 12
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
mine went down an hour ago, im glad i got mine through the beta and did not pay for it
4th August 2010, 12:04 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
mine is down now too. I was using an Ipad sim card. Will try later with my other ATT sim to see if it works. Let's hope the streak releases soon!
4th August 2010, 12:11 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Another reason to hate at&t. I was 100% going to get the dell streak once it came out in the U.S. for tmobile. Fortunately, I had a change of heart when the Galaxy S (Vibrant) was released. Not only has dell announced it will be available only for at&t, but also at&t has delayed its release for ages. Poor dell, should have gone with a different carrier.
8th August 2010, 05:24 PM   |  #8  
cue_32's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
737 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
so if it's only being blocked on AT&T then if we use it here in Canada it should be good then right? Or is it the actual device that is being remotely nuked?
8th August 2010, 08:43 PM   |  #9  
youngproguru's Avatar
Member
Flag New York State
Thanks Meter: 3
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I'm curious. Couldn't those who are blocked use another SIM card?
8th August 2010, 08:45 PM   |  #10  
youngproguru's Avatar
Member
Flag New York State
Thanks Meter: 3
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I found my answer. International_Mobile_Equipment_Identity is phone specific, not SIM specific.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interna...pment_Identity

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes