FORUMS

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

Sprint Reacts To Jab From T-Mobile

America’s cellular network space has always been a battle of the big four: Verizon, AT&T, … more

Floating Apps with Rovers – XDA App Review

There are a lot of great launchers to help customize your phone. Some Launchers allow … more

USA Dell Streak WARNING!!!!

569 posts
Thanks Meter: 10
 
By hdbueller, Retired Forum Mod on 2nd August 2010, 05:11 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi all.
I am currently on the phone with AT&T as my USA beta Streak has quit working!! I am being told that the US Streaks were designed to quit after the evaluation period was over!! I now can not make any calls with it at all except to AT&T!!
Any one else had their Streak IMEI blocked by AT&T??

UPDATE: Over at Modaco they are starting to drop like flies......several posts about it now! It is happening as we speak!!
UPDATE 2: Quote from Dell:
All 1100+ US beta Streak IMEI's are now invalid! They could not (or would not) say if the IMEI's will be good again after the release!
UPDATE 3: Dell states that it was AT&T that did this to us and that the affected units will work again AFTER the official USA release! They could not say when that would be tho.....
Last edited by hdbueller; 2nd August 2010 at 07:24 PM.
 
 
2nd August 2010, 08:06 PM |#2  
The Jack of Clubs's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 482
 
More
that sucks. im glad i didnt do anything rash like buy a streak on ebay or something.
2nd August 2010, 10:20 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Boston
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yeah, mine went down around 10 am. Sucks, I've only had it two days, I guess I'm stuck using my old unlocked G1 again temporarily...
2nd August 2010, 11:19 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
just a heads up guys... found this on engadget!

AT&T blocking Dell Streak beta units?


looks like your out of luck till AT&T sort themselves out.
3rd August 2010, 08:59 PM |#5  
joeclark's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kingsbury, TX
Thanks Meter: 16
 
Donate to Me
More
mine went down an hour ago, im glad i got mine through the beta and did not pay for it
3rd August 2010, 11:04 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
mine is down now too. I was using an Ipad sim card. Will try later with my other ATT sim to see if it works. Let's hope the streak releases soon!
3rd August 2010, 11:11 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Another reason to hate at&t. I was 100% going to get the dell streak once it came out in the U.S. for tmobile. Fortunately, I had a change of heart when the Galaxy S (Vibrant) was released. Not only has dell announced it will be available only for at&t, but also at&t has delayed its release for ages. Poor dell, should have gone with a different carrier.
8th August 2010, 04:24 PM |#8  
cue_32's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
More
so if it's only being blocked on AT&T then if we use it here in Canada it should be good then right? Or is it the actual device that is being remotely nuked?
8th August 2010, 07:43 PM |#9  
youngproguru's Avatar
Member
Flag New York State
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I'm curious. Couldn't those who are blocked use another SIM card?
8th August 2010, 07:45 PM |#10  
youngproguru's Avatar
Member
Flag New York State
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I found my answer. International_Mobile_Equipment_Identity is phone specific, not SIM specific.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interna...pment_Identity
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes