FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

T-Mobile FOTA APN?

89 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By televate, Member on 3rd August 2010, 06:44 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This may seem like an odd question, but it might be Group related?

I go to my APN list, and there are 3 apns listed. They are as follows...

T-Mobile Data, T-Mobile FOTA, T-Mobile MMS.

I saw a post on engadget about the official froyo update for the EVO 4G, and it had the same FOTA abbreviation in the screenshot for the OTA update. Knowing that .the EVO runs the Sense UI, could this mean that T-Mobile is gearing up for an official froyo update? Again this could all be coincidence, but I thought I would bring it to everyone's attention.

BTW, I'm running the champion build with the latest build, rooted of course.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadByTapatalk.jpg
Views:	289
Size:	30.0 KB
ID:	372064  
 
 
3rd August 2010, 06:44 AM |#2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Froyo related, not group related. My bad.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
3rd August 2010, 06:46 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Latest radio, not build lol. I should really spell check before I post.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
3rd August 2010, 07:24 AM |#4  
sino8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 716
 
More
It just the server that they send ota updates on.... it can send any update through the apn; entire new os builds like 2.2 or just minor ones like a software update for sync contacts fix. I doubt we'll see froyo until late fall. Sense usually takes longer but maybe we'll be surprised and get it in a month? Who knows...
4th August 2010, 04:36 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
APN
Quote:
Originally Posted by televate

This may seem like an odd question, but it might be Group related?

I go to my APN list, and there are 3 apns listed. They are as follows...

T-Mobile Data, T-Mobile FOTA, T-Mobile MMS.

I saw a post on engadget about the official froyo update for the EVO 4G, and it had the same FOTA abbreviation in the screenshot for the OTA update. Knowing that .the EVO runs the Sense UI, could this mean that T-Mobile is gearing up for an official froyo update? Again this could all be coincidence, but I thought I would bring it to everyone's attention.

BTW, I'm running the champion build with the latest build, rooted of course.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App

I had the same 3 APN's but here is the kicker, when I was having MMS trouble, the rep actually had me remove the T-Mobile MMS APN. So I am not sure if the APN's hold a significant value for the froyo update.
4th August 2010, 10:06 AM |#6  
sino8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 716
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynamikd

I had the same 3 APN's but here is the kicker, when I was having MMS trouble, the rep actually had me remove the T-Mobile MMS APN. So I am not sure if the APN's hold a significant value for the froyo update.

What?! How do you get mms/sms if your mms apn is deleted?! That makes no sense... One is data: the other is mms: and the other is for ota. What's so complicated about that?
4th August 2010, 01:06 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sino8r

What?! How do you get mms/sms if your mms apn is deleted?! That makes no sense... One is data: the other is mms: and the other is for ota. What's so complicated about that?

Well, it would solve your MMS problem. Now you just don't have to worry about it anymore cause you can't send or receive them no matter what!
4th August 2010, 01:25 PM |#8  
Gootah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Smile BUT!
Quote:
Originally Posted by falken98

Well, it would solve your MMS problem. Now you just don't have to worry about it anymore cause you can't send or receive them no matter what!

If I'm not mistaken the normal APN has MMS settings filled in, for some reason u only need the minimal to send and recieve MMS messages. Not all tha fields you needed for WinMo
4th August 2010, 01:27 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gootah

If I'm not mistaken the normal APN has MMS settings filled in, for some reason u only need the minimal to send and recieve MMS messages. Not all tha fields you needed for WinMo

Ah. That may work if MMS is configured in to the regular APN as well, never tried that. I don't use t-mobile so I don't have the access point info to look at.
5th August 2010, 03:21 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by falken98

Ah. That may work if MMS is configured in to the regular APN as well, never tried that. I don't use t-mobile so I don't have the access point info to look at.

I removed the MMS APN but filled the other APN with the mms setting.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes