Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Thread Closed

[kernel] [odin3] Overclock to 1.2 GHz!

OP blackjackboy

5th August 2010, 10:24 PM   |  #1  
blackjackboy's Avatar
OP Member
Flag All of them.
Thanks Meter: 9
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
OK guys, thanks to AJerman and many others who have posted in this thread, we have had success in compiling, loading and running a bug free kernel. The wakeup lag is there, but is highly reduced. Also, if someone could figure out how to compile a boot.img so that we can simply flash the kernel through recovery (I have no idea how), we would really be grateful, for all of us with either Linux or Mac. Anyway, here is the link, flash it through Odin3. http://www.multiupload.com/8UM79T8VNE . Bug reports are welcome, as are logcats. Please download SetCPU from the market, or for free from an xda thread (I forgot where it is, I think it's in the G1 section). Set to OnDemand to reduce wakeup, set lowest possible value for min, and highest for max (1.2 GHz). Of course, you can also use profiles if you are an advanced SetCPU user. Thanks for reading, here we go!




We now have a successfully compiled kernel for the Captivate that overclocks the phone to 1.2 GHz. The link is coming soon. Also, many are complaining about garbled audio on custom kernels, even compiling directly from source. Either way, that is now fixed:
Quote:

GOT IT! Sounds perfect again! Just download the Vibrant source and copy the ENTIRE sound/soc/codecs folder over to the Captivate source. Like I said before, they are almost identical for the most part, so I looked and saw the A1026 files were in the Vibrant source, among other missing files, turned on A1026 in the .config and copied the codecs folder and it sounds good as new again! I'm already late to go meet some friends messing with this, so try it out NukaCola and see if it works for you. I'll test the rest of the audio as I go, but this is good so far. When I get back I'm going to ext4 enable my kernel, OC'd to 1.2 GHz and see if I can hit a 2K quadrant score, haha.

The Hummingbird processor inside all Galaxy S models can theoretically be overclocked to 1.6 GHz [stable], and potentially past, if a genius can do that. Please, devs, post a link compiled kernel so that I can put it in the OP and people can start hacking their phones, I'll give full credit to the dev.

Quote:

The i9000 folks have successfully created a 1.2 GHz standard voltage overclock. Is anyone over here interested in helping to port it over to the Captivate? I have no experience in kernels, but I'd love to learn and do my best to help out. Here is the link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=743782 . Also, the few of us with Linux or OS X would love to see an option for flashing from recovery. Just let me know if anyone is interested, and thanks in advance.

Last edited by blackjackboy; 10th August 2010 at 07:24 PM.
5th August 2010, 10:40 PM   |  #2  
rob989_69's Avatar
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 4
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
AHHH, between froyo, the lag fix, and this, I'm tempted to return the captivate and buy a Galaxy S>...... Too bad they're $700.....
5th August 2010, 10:44 PM   |  #3  
hansmrtn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag In a Box, Washington State
Thanks Meter: 347
 
1,690 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
I will look at it and see what I can do. I will attempt to port it and make it a flashable zip. I cant guarantee anything
5th August 2010, 10:48 PM   |  #4  
rob989_69's Avatar
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 4
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansmrtn

I will look at it and see what I can do. I will attempt to port it and make it a flashable zip. I cant guarantee anything

You Sir would be my new hero.....
5th August 2010, 10:51 PM   |  #5  
bedwa's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Springfield IL
Thanks Meter: 654
 
1,124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
I'm going to look at it over the weekend as well since I've got the source for the kernel at home. I've got a friend that I can possibly get to be my tester as I only have an n1. We'll find a way guys.
5th August 2010, 11:05 PM   |  #6  
hansmrtn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag In a Box, Washington State
Thanks Meter: 347
 
1,690 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedwa

I'm going to look at it over the weekend as well since I've got the source for the kernel at home. I've got a friend that I can possibly get to be my tester as I only have an n1. We'll find a way guys.

Sounds like a plan my friend
6th August 2010, 12:46 AM   |  #7  
rob989_69's Avatar
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 4
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
I'd really like to get involved in the Dev side of things. Problem is I know 0 about Linux. Anyone recommend a good tutorial? I got time and patience.
6th August 2010, 01:09 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Dont port - use your source and follow directions in the main post
6th August 2010, 02:00 AM   |  #9  
blackjackboy's Avatar
OP Member
Flag All of them.
Thanks Meter: 9
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Don't port? I guess building from source would work too, but I don't see what's wrong with porting, but I know nothing about kernels, so I'm in the dark.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
6th August 2010, 03:02 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
porting M110S/i9000 kernel to Vibrant will be very a difficult process.
It would be MUCH easier just to start from Vibrant source and apply changes there.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Captivate Android Development by ThreadRank