Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more

Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more
Post Reply

[FIXED] FROYO Calibration Error -> open input device: Inappropriate ioctl for device

OP camro

7th August 2010, 03:43 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
1,761 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
well, there are several threads about calibration problems ...
but nothing in detail ...

here we go....
basic is froyo 2.2 with haret 1.4 + no "ts-calibrate" file existing on fat32 (sdcard)

in init (startup) the calibration command failed to work ...


as you can see (below) - there in the script the calibration call via:
tssc-calibrate
then i can also see the message for clicking the 5 points, blabla...
(but the "white touch area" like as it is on diamond is not there ... and no time and it is jumping to next procedure in init script. the most users doesn't see that, because it does fast switch/show another lines ....)

then i see an error: (this comes from command "tssc-calibrate")
open input device: Inappropriate ioctl for device

any idea how to fix ?

Code:
for i in /sys/class/input/input* ; do
        if [ "`cat $i/name`" = "tssc-manager" ] ; then
                touchscreendir=$i
                echo "Touchscreen device directory is $i"
        fi
done

if [ -f /sdcard/ts-calibration ] ; then
        echo "Using Saved Touchscreen Calibration"
	echo 128,128,1903,128,128,1907,1903,1907,1024,1024 > $touchscreendir/calibration_screen
        cat /sdcard/ts-calibration > $touchscreendir/calibration_points
else
        mkdir /dev/graphics
        mknod /dev/graphics/fb0 c 29 0
        clear
        echo; echo; echo; echo; echo; echo; echo; echo "Calibrating Touchscreen:"
        echo "Click the Five Targets in order -- Top Left, Top Right, Middle, Bottom Left, Bottom Right"
	echo "(Tap lightly. The screen is quite sensitive.)"
        tssc-calibrate
        echo 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0 | cmp -s $touchscreendir/calibration_points # determine if calibration is still null -- means failed calibration
        if [ $? -eq 0 ] ; then
                echo "Touchscreen Calibration Failed"
        else
                echo "Touchscreen Calibration Successful; Saving..."
                cat $touchscreendir/calibration_points > /sdcard/ts-calibration
        fi
fi
EDIT:
FIXED in latest kernel version "htc-msm-linux-20100818_154417-package.tar" and newer ...

for calibration - you must delete the "ts_calibrate" file on your sdcard.

cu camel
Last edited by camro; 18th August 2010 at 06:16 PM.
8th August 2010, 11:16 PM   |  #2  
zero0007's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
hey mate,

any news on this? Wish I could help you but I know nothing about this programming of this sort...as a matter of fact, who is putting this together? I mean, who is putting the versions online, shouldn't they know?

:|
10th August 2010, 11:30 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
1,761 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
i' now in vacation, but will take care if i'm back ...
18th August 2010, 06:13 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
1,761 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
this problem is fixed in latest kernel.
if you use kernel "htc-msm-linux-20100818_154417-package.tar" or newer it is fixed.

the touchscreen problem (finger touch does recognize extra touch on left side ..) is not fixed now.
18th August 2010, 07:16 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
I am new, is it that we have to calibrate before we install?
18th August 2010, 07:52 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hktotti

I am new, is it that we have to calibrate before we install?

On your first boot with the new zimage, it will ask you to calibrate the screen. If you made a mistake (or you did not calibrate at all), delete the ts-calibration file on your sd-card and start android again
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes