Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more
Post Reply

[MOD]Save videos as .mp4 instead of .3gp

8th August 2010, 09:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
462 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
In the HTC camcorder even you choose the encoding method as MPEG it would save the file as 3gp, but with this it will save the file as mp4. I had to modify a few smali files to get it working.

This is only changing the extension. The videos are already being recorded in an mpeg-4 stream, they are just being created with a .3gp extension. This is really only for people who need the extension to be mp4 for some specific reason.

I have tested this a bit so be sure to back up your original HTCCamera.apk just in case.

Download it here.

As you can see below, nothing with the encoding has changed.




In recovery:

mount system
adb shell
mv /system/app/HTCCamera.apk /system/app/HTCCamera.apk_
exit
adb push HTCCamera.apk /system/app/
adb shell
chmod 0644 /system/app/HTCCamera.apk
exit
adb reboot
Last edited by scuccia; 12th August 2010 at 12:43 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to scuccia For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th August 2010, 09:48 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Does this also change the audio codec to something useable like AAC? Love your roms, use them and enjoy them heavily, mp4 usable on the ps3 would be amazing!
8th August 2010, 09:50 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
462 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by quepaso

Does this also change the audio codec to something useable like AAC? Love your roms, use them and enjoy them heavily, mp4 usable on the ps3 would be amazing!

No, I can't change how its encoded. This is only changing the extension. The videos are already being recorded in an mpeg-4 stream, they are just being created with a .3gp extension.
8th August 2010, 10:08 AM   |  #4  
shoman24v's Avatar
Senior Member
Fresno, CA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
1,324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Can you make 720p or any other recording resolution do > 30fps. The framerate on 720p is garbage.

Sent from my Droid Incredible using Tapatalk
8th August 2010, 10:13 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
462 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman24v

Can you make 720p or any other recording resolution do > 30fps. The framerate on 720p is garbage.

Sent from my Droid Incredible using Tapatalk

Nope, I have no idea how to do that... This wasn't very difficult, it just took some digging.
8th August 2010, 12:09 PM   |  #6  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,671
 
9,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
720p at 30 fps is fine. The problem is that we aren't hitting that fps.

Can't squeeze blood from a turnip, and you cannot make hardware do something its unable to with the current OS.

As for aac audio streams, I doubt this phone supports it. I know where to change it, but so do a lot of people, esp. on the N1 forums. I've not heard of a successful case yet. Not even CM6 does it.
8th August 2010, 12:28 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Before i flashed to your newest rom, i decided to try this on the existing rom.. Took footage of my room and what do you know, streams to the ps3 just fine.. But i pressed select and the Audio had dolby digital in it, meaning sound worked.. I took another video but this time played a song. Tried it and it worked!!!

This is AMAZING news! Before i had to sit there and convert the videos and they usually ended up not even working, now using PS3 Media Server, they work no problem. Thanks so much, you should take a look for the Evo guys and get it fixed for them as well if you can, i have a feeling all my evo owning family members are going to want in!
8th August 2010, 12:36 PM   |  #8  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,671
 
9,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
If you folks want to see if the aac audio codec will work, you can try this. Install it via clockwork, but make a nandroid.
Attached Files
File Type: zip cam_audio_aac.zip - [Click for QR Code] (162.1 KB, 99 views)
8th August 2010, 12:45 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Palm Springs
Thanks Meter: 7
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrynalyne

720p at 30 fps is fine. The problem is that we aren't hitting that fps.

Can't squeeze blood from a turnip, and you cannot make hardware do something its unable to with the current OS.

As for aac audio streams, I doubt this phone supports it. I know where to change it, but so do a lot of people, esp. on the N1 forums. I've not heard of a successful case yet. Not even CM6 does it.

Well, i look forward to this .MP4 mod cooked into your next Rom, also, the recent WIFItether AP mode. Which by the way works great on your #2 Rom. Great Work.
8th August 2010, 12:45 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrynalyne

If you folks want to see if the aac audio codec will work, you can try this. Install it via clockwork, but make a nandroid.

Im just about to re-flash/wipe the whole phone, would i need a nandroid for any reason?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes