Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,605 Members 43,566 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Quadrant score 2234 with rooted stock FW I9000ZSJF7 [EDITED 10AUG 1714HKT new tool]

Tip us?
 
ykkfive
Old
(Last edited by ykkfive; 10th August 2010 at 11:36 AM.)
#1  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1036
Posts: 1,453
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Quadrant score 2234 with rooted stock FW I9000ZSJF7 [EDITED 10AUG 1714HKT new tool]

tested for about a week without problems
no data2sd required (actually mod to sd is not needed), no more lag, smooth scroll/zoom in and out in default browser with a web page contains more than 170 images, much faster cache for browser, market and other apps retrieval and listing

if u guys r interested, pls let me know and i'll post it here later tonite (HKT). i'll ONLY tell u what i did and how to do that, but WONT show u a step by step guide, since a typo may brick ur phone, sorry about that. however, experienced linux users will know how. i think it's better for them to write scripts and run automatically for all users

and, hopefully, experts here can have better solutions to this dirty trick to speed up this laggy phone

EDIT: 8 aug 2250HKT

ok, here's how:
- create an empty file with dd (i chose -b 4096 -m 1)
- mount it to loopx and format it with ext2 (busybox)
- create mount points and create links, eg
mount -o rw,noatime,nodiratime /dev/loop0 /dbdata/dbdataimage
then mv files and folders to /dbdata/dbdatimage
so, instead of reading /dbdata/databases/com.1.2.3, it will be linked to /dbdata/dbdataimage/databases/com.1.2.3
- finally write a script to mount them on boot by replacing playlogos1

simply speaking, is to run on an ext2 file block in rfs, and that's all for the trick!!

WARNING:
- i did it for /cache, /dbdata and /data only
- empty files, folders, and sym links will be deleted by the system under /cache
- dont reboot the phone when u've temporarily moved /dbdata/databases to a slow partition like /data


personally, i moved /data/data and /data/dalvik-cache to /dbdata and moved browser and market cache files to /cache

PS E&OE
enjoy!

EDIT2:
no need to try ext3/4, they'll slow down ur phone, i've tried them already

EDIT3 09 aug 0033HKT:
it's not for the benchmark only, instead, it has very good effects on ur phone's io

for the loop device:
busybox mknod /dev/loop0 b 7 0
busybox losetup /dev/loop0 /dbdata/dbdata.img
busybox mkfs.ext2 /dev/loop0
then mount it

and, here's my mount output:

rootfs / rootfs ro 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
/dev/block/stl6 /mnt/.lfs j4fs rw 0 0
tmpfs /sqlite_stmt_journals tmpfs rw,size=4096k 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,cpu 0 0
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs rw,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,vfat,llw,check= no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl10 /dbdata rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,vfat,llw,check= no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl11 /cache rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,vfat,llw,check= no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl3 /efs rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/loop0 /dbdata/dbdata1 ext2 rw,noatime,nodiratime,errors=continue 0 0
/dev/loop2 /cache/cache1 ext2 rw,noatime,nodiratime,errors=continue 0 0
/dev/loop2 /cache/market ext2 rw,noatime,nodiratime,errors=continue 0 0
/dev/loop2 /cache/browser ext2 rw,noatime,nodiratime,errors=continue 0 0
/dev/block//vold/179:1 /sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,uid=1000,gid=1015,f mask=0102,dmask=0002,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp4 37,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
/dev/block//vold/179:9 /sdcard/sd vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,uid=1000,gid=1015,f mask=0000,dmask=0000,allow_utime=0022,codepage=cp4 37,iocharset=iso8859-
1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0


EDIT4 09 aug 0039HKT:
- no need to deal with /data
- the major thing is /dbdata/databases
- it wont have impact when u connect it to ur pc/kies since kies only deal with /sdcard and /sdcard/sd only, which both r out of my concern
- to see the improvement, simply do a dd and u'll see the difference

EDIT5 09 aug 2212HKT:
a simple tool added for phone test (windows only)
pls go to
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...96&page=38#373


EDIT6 10 aug 1714HKT:
new test tool (test4me v1.11) updated
test4me 1.11 updated, changes:
- will look for busybox under /system/bin/ also
- will look for playlogos1, if not found, will look for other mods

pls go to
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...96&page=38#373

PS for questions regarding other similar fixes, pls refer to the author. I cannot/will not comment on others job. Thx


http://a.imageshack.us/img32/7803/20...assedreboo.png

http://a.imageshack.us/img42/3750/device1r.png
 
SquidgyB
Old
#2  
SquidgyB's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 242
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury
Quote:
Originally Posted by ykk_five View Post
tested for about a week without problems
no data2sd required (actually mod to sd is not needed), no more lag, smooth scroll/zoom in and out in default browser with a web page contains more than 170 images, much faster cache for browser, market and other apps retrieval and listing

if u guys r interested, pls let me know and i'll post it here later tonite (HKT). i'll ONLY tell u what i did and how to do that, but WONT show u a step by step guide, since a typo may brick ur phone, sorry about that. however, experienced linux users will know how

http://a.imageshack.us/img32/7803/20...assedreboo.png

http://a.imageshack.us/img42/3750/device1r.png
Yes, very interested
 
GSeeker
Old
#3  
GSeeker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 328
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Guangzhou
very very interested! pls post the details, thanks!
Several Android Devices.
 
Kryston
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 126
Join Date: Apr 2009
sounds cool, hope to read here what you did soon =D
 
putkte
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Espoo
Yes. Very interested.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
 
kalpik
Old
#6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1389
Posts: 3,578
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Delhi
Count me in!
 
jim_panse
Old
#7  
jim_panse's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 300
Posts: 1,222
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chemnitz, Saxony

 
DONATE TO ME
maybe we can use it for other firmwares too! Im interested.
If you like my work, buy me a beer.
 
chunga
Old
#8  
chunga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 112
Join Date: May 2008
want that! what languages are included?
[[[[Ne><us]]]]
 
MAJED.y
Old
#9  
MAJED.y's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 271
Join Date: May 2010
Impressive.
.
Waiting.
 
jodue
Old
#10  
jodue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 447
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: vienna
hm. curious what you did. you say "stock firmware" but from the pictures it looks like you use your own kernel?! more info plz

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...