Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

Australia Optus Galaxy S no download mode!

9th August 2010, 12:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Hey I just got a new galaxy s from australia optus today, however it seems like the download mode has been disabled!!

HELP!!

OK HERE IS what I have done

It won't boot into download mode using (volume down + home + power)
Tried other combinations too

Used adb.exe to boot sgs into download mode
Flash using odin3
Flash failed
Now phone won't start up
Get a logo with phone! computer
Last edited by fwyt; 9th August 2010 at 01:39 PM. Reason: update
9th August 2010, 12:08 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Key combination could be different.

Try all the possibilities (home + power is mine)
9th August 2010, 12:38 PM   |  #3  
tids2k's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 632
 
2,261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fwyt

Hey I just got a new galaxy s from australia optus today, however it seems like the download mode has been disabled!!

HELP!!

its not disbaled ...
try vol down key + home + power key ..
9th August 2010, 12:42 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Sydney, Australia
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
It worked for me
Optus 49 Extreme Plan
Vol Down + Home + Power
p.s. (saw your comment on Whirlpool :P)
Last edited by Anton2079; 9th August 2010 at 12:47 PM.
9th August 2010, 12:44 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
I've got an Optus SGS, can confirm they haven't locked it.

Vol Down + Power + Home worked for me.
9th August 2010, 12:51 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
tried the 3 keys!! still won't work!!
9th August 2010, 12:54 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anton2079

It worked for me
Optus 49 Extreme Plan
Vol Down + Home + Power
p.s. (saw your comment on Whirlpool :P)

I got mine on the social cap!!! ARGGG this is annoying! I can't even turn it on now!!
9th August 2010, 12:58 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Sydney, Australia
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fwyt

I got mine on the social cap!!! ARGGG this is annoying! I can't even turn it on now!!

Take out battery 5 seconds put it back in and just try to turn it on
Calm
9th August 2010, 12:59 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
It won't start, I used the adb.exe to put it into download mode, and tried flashing it! And I think I had a bad flash. Now it won't even start!
9th August 2010, 01:03 PM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Sydney, Australia
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fwyt

It won't start, I used the adb.exe to put it into download mode, and tried flashing it! And I think I had a bad flash. Now it won't even start!

OK take the battery out as i said, put it back in, then hold the power button for a few (2-3) seconds and wait like 10 seconds and see if anything is happening

If not take the battery out again and try the Power, Vol Down, and Home for a few seconds and wait

I had difficulties at first too

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes