FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[READ FIRST][FAQ]HTC Wildfire General FAQ(05/05/2011)

9th August 2010, 09:46 PM |#1  
Skye Menjou's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Halen
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
I am creating this thread to organize the questions and solutions found for the HTC Wildfire.
Please post in this thread and I will add to this post.

Q:I cannot see paid applications in the market.
A:You might not be in an country that has the access to paid applications on the Android Market.
List of supported countries:
Quote:

Argentina
Australia
Austria
Belgium
Brazil
Canada
Czech Republic
Denmark
Finland
France
Germany
Hong Kong
India
Ireland
Israel
Italy
Japan
Mexico
Netherlands
New Zealand
Norway
Poland
Portugal
Russia
Singapore
South Korea
Spain
Sweden
Switzerland
Taiwan
United Kingdom
United States

Android Market locations

Q:Is root available at the moment for the Wildfire?
A:Full Root is only availble for Wildfires without the official 2.2.1 update(HBOOT 1.xx)
The only exception if you can make the Wildfire to have S-OFF with the XTC clip

THERE IS NO OTHER WAY THEN THE HARDWARE UNLOCKER CALLED XTC CLIP

Q: How to unroot/ remove root / remove clockworkmod ?
A: Just download your official ROM, ie RUU***.exe from shipped-roms.com and flash it.

Q:Where do I put MP3 files for notifications, ringtones and alarms?
Put your ringtones to /sdcard/media/audio/ringtones (if doesn't exist create)
Put your notifications to /sdcard/media/audio/notifications (if doesn't exist create)
Put your alarms to /sdcard/media/audio/alarms (if doesn't exist create)

Thanks to zephyri-xr

Assorted info:
XTC clip guide
Cyanogenmod 7 the only stable, fully featured gingerbread rom
Old rooting guide for phones with HBOOT 0.80.x(NOT FROYO)
Forums for questions
Last edited by Skye Menjou; 5th May 2011 at 04:51 PM. Reason: Updated with links
 
 
10th August 2010, 11:34 PM |#2  
azahidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Arranging Screens
How do you easily rearrange (already created) screens (left and right of home screen) without having to remove and recreate again. Thanks
11th August 2010, 02:18 AM |#3  
azahidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Wildfire Weather Data
Where does HTC gets the weather data from. Is it from Accuweather ? How do you include cities not found in the list ? Thanks.
11th August 2010, 01:57 PM |#4  
Skye Menjou's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Halen
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
You need to find your closest location.
There aren't stations in every city.
Also you drag and swipe your screens for moving htem
12th August 2010, 12:52 PM |#5  
azahidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Wildfire Weather Data
Quote:
Originally Posted by azahidi

Where does HTC gets the weather data from. Is it from Accuweather ? How do you include cities not found in the list ? Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skye Menjou

You need to find your closest location.
There aren't stations in every city.

Thanks for the reply. But that's not what I expected. It's clear now that Desire takes weather data from Accuweather. I remember when I was using WM (Jade) some cities are not listed by HTC (especially the small cities), but data actually exist in the main Accuweather database. (e.g. Labuan is not listed in Wildfire but actually listed in the main Accuweather dbase). These cities can actually be added by modifying/adding to weather.xml file. I am not sure what file is used in (Android) Wildfire. Does anyone know ? and if so how to edit that file ? Thanks.
19th August 2010, 02:08 PM |#6  
o4kareg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Krasnodar
Thanks Meter: 9
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skye Menjou

Q:I cannot see paid applications in the market.
A:You might not be in an country that has the access to paid applications on the Android Market.

add Russia to the list
19th August 2010, 03:45 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Are we able to wake the phone using the Optical Trackpad Button? Its quite tedious to use the power button every time.

Matt
19th August 2010, 10:24 PM |#8  
Skye Menjou's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Halen
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by o4kareg

add Russia to the list

Russia has access to the paid market?
20th August 2010, 02:38 AM |#9  
azahidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
HTC Sense Graphic Files
Can anyone tell
1) where (which folder does HTC Sense keep their graphic files ?
2) In what format (.png or .bmp)?
3) Can the files be edited/modified ? How ?
Thanks.
20th August 2010, 03:33 PM |#10  
Skye Menjou's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Halen
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by azahidi

Can anyone tell
1) where (which folder does HTC Sense keep their graphic files ?
2) In what format (.png or .bmp)?
3) Can the files be edited/modified ? How ?
Thanks.

Sense Graphics are in the .APKs for sense,
You could modify them with a decompile tool and recompile the apk and theoretically put them back onto the device but you need full root and general knowledge of recompiling an app.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes