Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Editing hosts file.

OP james_2k

10th August 2010, 06:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
hi guys, i need a guru to help me, how would i go about editing the hosts file in system/etc because although its rooted, when i try to push the file it says insufficient permissions. ive tried multiple things and am going a bit mad to be honest


anyone?
10th August 2010, 07:08 PM   |  #2  
instigator008's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 37
 
664 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_2k

hi guys, i need a guru to help me, how would i go about editing the hosts file in system/etc because although its rooted, when i try to push the file it says insufficient permissions. ive tried multiple things and am going a bit mad to be honest


anyone?

You need read/write permission.
10th August 2010, 07:13 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
yes i do know that :P

ive tried various methods of achieving it but none have so far worked
10th August 2010, 07:31 PM   |  #4  
instigator008's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 37
 
664 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_2k

yes i do know that :P

ive tried various methods of achieving it but none have so far worked

Have you tried root explorer?
10th August 2010, 07:36 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
no but ive tried the one next to it when you search for 'root explorer' thought they would be pretty similar regardless
10th August 2010, 08:32 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by instigator008

Have you tried root explorer?

tried root explorer and it worked! i guess they arnt all created equal after all, many thanks mate
10th August 2010, 08:59 PM   |  #7  
instigator008's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 37
 
664 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_2k

tried root explorer and it worked! i guess they arnt all created equal after all, many thanks mate

Glad to help!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes