New Forums Created for Windows 10 Development

Microsoft, looking to be a player in the game of giants with their recent announcement of … more

T-Mobile Expands Its LTE Network

T-Mobile US has announced moreLTE network expansion. The carrierwill provide asignal for the700 MHz band, … more

Kernel Source Available for HTC One M8

HTC pushed the Lollipop-based Sense update to the developer edition of the HTC One M8 just a couple … more

Asus Hints at Upcoming Week-long Battery Smartwatch

Asus hinted that their next smartwatch, succesor to the elegant ZenWatch, could feature … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Phone Keeps FREEZING!!! What the heck Samsung?!!!

OP Singhman

10th August 2010, 11:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
My galaxy S freezes out of the blue, and i can't even turn it off. Sometimes i look to check the time, and noticed the phone is turned off. Both problems are only corrected by taking out the battery, and putting it back in...and then waiting for it to happen again!

Is this a software issue that 2.2 will fix? Should I exchange for a new one, or will all of them have the same problems, if bought from the same place? (Best Buy in Vancouver Canada)
11th August 2010, 12:37 AM   |  #2  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,581
 
11,516 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
either your battery is not good, or your got a defective phone

the new SGS out of the box works smooth

what is your firmware version?

type in
*#*#1234#*#*
11th August 2010, 12:52 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 101
 
829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Sounds like a bad phone. I got mine from one touch in delta and it has been perfect. Return asap and get yourself a working unit.

Sent from my GT-I9000M using XDA App
11th August 2010, 01:25 AM   |  #4  
Beowulf_pt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 24
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Thought you meant lag. Mine lags a lot (stock firmware) and sometimes "freezing" seems the word.

But no, that's not it. Perhaps you can try a hard reset and check your sdcard too, something isn't ok.
The Following User Says Thank You to Beowulf_pt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th August 2010, 12:05 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I'm actually experiencing the same issue. My phone goes black and seems to be happening more in low wireless connection areas. Like in a mall. With the the *# code I get I9000UGJG9.
Last edited by TDS1234; 15th August 2010 at 12:24 AM.
15th August 2010, 12:13 AM   |  #6  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,581
 
11,516 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
if you have LAG issues, install the one click lag fix in the development area

problem solved
15th August 2010, 12:16 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Its not LAG issues it a complete freeze issue. My phone goes black like standby mode and will not come out of it. The only fix is a battery pull or holding the power button for 6 seconds. The same issue as the op.
15th August 2010, 12:41 AM   |  #8  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,581
 
11,516 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS1234

Its not LAG issues it a complete freeze issue. My phone goes black like standby mode and will not come out of it. The only fix is a battery pull or holding the power button for 6 seconds. The same issue as the op.

that is a factory defect

take it back, exchange it for a good one

this latest firmware is really good, you should not see anything like that
15th August 2010, 12:45 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Allright will do. I figured as much I didn't want to bring it back I already purchased some apps. Guess I'll have to wait for my store to get some.
15th August 2010, 12:47 AM   |  #10  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,581
 
11,516 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS1234

Allright will do. I figured as much I didn't want to bring it back I already purchased some apps. Guess I'll have to wait for my store to get some.

you do not lose the Apps

once you log back into your Gmail account in your new phone, when you go into Android Market, they will remain in the Download section

those apps are saved in your Gmail account, not in the phone.

that's the cool thing about the android phones

so if you ever switch to say an HTC Android, or a Nokia Android, you can still re-install those apps (assuming they are compatible)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes