MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

Phone Keeps FREEZING!!! What the heck Samsung?!!!

10th August 2010, 10:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
My galaxy S freezes out of the blue, and i can't even turn it off. Sometimes i look to check the time, and noticed the phone is turned off. Both problems are only corrected by taking out the battery, and putting it back in...and then waiting for it to happen again!

Is this a software issue that 2.2 will fix? Should I exchange for a new one, or will all of them have the same problems, if bought from the same place? (Best Buy in Vancouver Canada)
10th August 2010, 11:37 PM   |  #2  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,578
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
either your battery is not good, or your got a defective phone

the new SGS out of the box works smooth

what is your firmware version?

type in
*#*#1234#*#*
10th August 2010, 11:52 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
817 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Sounds like a bad phone. I got mine from one touch in delta and it has been perfect. Return asap and get yourself a working unit.

Sent from my GT-I9000M using XDA App
11th August 2010, 12:25 AM   |  #4  
Beowulf_pt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 24
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Thought you meant lag. Mine lags a lot (stock firmware) and sometimes "freezing" seems the word.

But no, that's not it. Perhaps you can try a hard reset and check your sdcard too, something isn't ok.
The Following User Says Thank You to Beowulf_pt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th August 2010, 11:05 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I'm actually experiencing the same issue. My phone goes black and seems to be happening more in low wireless connection areas. Like in a mall. With the the *# code I get I9000UGJG9.
Last edited by TDS1234; 14th August 2010 at 11:24 PM.
14th August 2010, 11:13 PM   |  #6  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,578
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
if you have LAG issues, install the one click lag fix in the development area

problem solved
14th August 2010, 11:16 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Its not LAG issues it a complete freeze issue. My phone goes black like standby mode and will not come out of it. The only fix is a battery pull or holding the power button for 6 seconds. The same issue as the op.
14th August 2010, 11:41 PM   |  #8  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,578
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS1234

Its not LAG issues it a complete freeze issue. My phone goes black like standby mode and will not come out of it. The only fix is a battery pull or holding the power button for 6 seconds. The same issue as the op.

that is a factory defect

take it back, exchange it for a good one

this latest firmware is really good, you should not see anything like that
14th August 2010, 11:45 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Allright will do. I figured as much I didn't want to bring it back I already purchased some apps. Guess I'll have to wait for my store to get some.
14th August 2010, 11:47 PM   |  #10  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,578
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS1234

Allright will do. I figured as much I didn't want to bring it back I already purchased some apps. Guess I'll have to wait for my store to get some.

you do not lose the Apps

once you log back into your Gmail account in your new phone, when you go into Android Market, they will remain in the Download section

those apps are saved in your Gmail account, not in the phone.

that's the cool thing about the android phones

so if you ever switch to say an HTC Android, or a Nokia Android, you can still re-install those apps (assuming they are compatible)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes