FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

My 3G Speed increased from 300KBPS to 3MBPS with Radio Update!

173 posts
Thanks Meter: 11
 
By FishFan319, Senior Member on 12th August 2010, 03:11 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
My favorite test spot, right here at my computer desk, has never yielded a variable response from the speed test app until I updated to Radio 5 last night. Not only did I pull 2.2MBPS, but it was consistently fast. As the night moved on, I got 2.5, 2.7, and 3.2. We actually tethered all three computers in my home to the phone and browsed at full speed!
 
 
12th August 2010, 04:58 PM |#2  
BrotherG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
If im running cm6 will this radio work?
Last edited by BrotherG; 12th August 2010 at 05:02 PM.
12th August 2010, 05:02 PM |#3  
Blueman101's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas, Baby!
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
how do you flash radio updates? Is there any reason no to always be with the latest radio firmware?
12th August 2010, 05:10 PM |#4  
mcp2009's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York/Wrightsville/Hanover
Thanks Meter: 36
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm assuming it's the korean radio? Thanks for the info I'm gonna try flashing it
12th August 2010, 05:13 PM |#5  
kpjimmy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio TX
Thanks Meter: 1,104
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkaugustine

If im running cm6 will this radio work?

I am running cm6 RC2 and I now have HSDPA along with 3g. My signal at the office isnt constant but pretty good though. Love the increase in speed! .88mbps to 3.08mbps.

1 click root rocks!
12th August 2010, 05:25 PM |#6  
Blueman101's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas, Baby!
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
how do you know which radio you are running?
12th August 2010, 05:44 PM |#7  
nazrin313's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blueman101

how do you know which radio you are running?

Check out ure about phone in settings
12th August 2010, 05:46 PM |#8  
Blueman101's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas, Baby!
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nazrin313

Check out ure about phone in settings

Ok, thats what I though, but i recently saw a friends who was funky in the baseband section.
12th August 2010, 05:48 PM |#9  
BrotherG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpjimmy

I am running cm6 RC2 and I now have HSDPA along with 3g. My signal at the office isnt constant but pretty good though. Love the increase in speed! .88mbps to 3.08mbps.

1 click root rocks!

Sweet i just flashed it using ROM Manager ill return with tests tomorrow.
12th August 2010, 05:56 PM |#10  
Blueman101's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas, Baby!
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
do you just flash a radio update like a rom? is there any reason not to always use the latest radio?
12th August 2010, 07:02 PM |#11  
Nativedude's Avatar
Member
Flag Hampton Roads
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Depending on the area that the OP lives in it could just be that
T-Mobile just switched on HSPA+ in that area
Which wouldn't have any regards to the radio version

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes