Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,028 Members 37,526 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bell phones and the lack of 3 button combo

Tip us?
 
zerverize
Old
#281  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mixxy View Post
my manufacture date is 2010-08-28 and my 3 button download works =)

ps. bought this this yesterday, coming from a nexus one and xperia (backup phone), and i have to say that this is one phone that i dont feel i HAVE to mod to get to my liking. All i need is froyo, and for that i'll wait.
I am envious mixxy . I was weighing decisions to return the phone but from Samsung Canada's facebook they will fix the issue. Yours is 2010-08-28 ? is this date from the battery ? Mine is 2010-07-17, looks like the later batches have the 3 btn recovery mode ?
 
mixxy
Old
#282  
mixxy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 512
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: T.Dot
yup, from the battery

in fact, if u are still within your exchange period and are in the GTA, i would go to bestbuy mobile at fairview mall, all the units there are from that batch 28-08-2010
 
4180122
Old
#283  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Sep 2010
Thumbs up Heating it _actually_ works

Quote:
Originally Posted by deezid View Post
OMG your trick (oven) rescued my phone!!! But it has to be really HOT!

Thank you so much!

Dennis
These guys are not kidding! I had bricked my Bell phone by accessing download mode via adb and was devastated to find out - after hours of lurking - that there is no way back... So, I decided to save myself an embarrassing and potentially long trip to the Bell store by attempting this sketchy suggestion. I put the phone under my laptop for 10 minutes until it was _fairly_ hot and it worked! Here are the exact steps I took:

-heated the phone while it was on the COMPUTER-!-PHONE screen
-detached the USB cable
-took out the battery
-removed the SIM and SD cards
-replaced the battery
-held volume_down, home, and power buttons in that order, and
-BAM! download mode!

It did take a couple of tries to reach required threshold temperature. But it works EVERY time if the temperature is kept above threshold. Odin also only operates above this temperature for me. Unfortunately, I was too tired/lazy to try different permutations of hot vs cold operations. I tried to be cautious about the amount of thermal radiation I was exposing the LCD to. Please be very careful when doing this and use your judgement.

I'm an electrical engineer and I cannot conjure up an explanation as to how or why this works... The heat is not enough to re-flow loose/poorly installed components. Could this be attributed to the amount of leakage caused by using poorly qualified ASIC? I have seen cases where particular ASICs exhibit abnormally high current leakage at low temperatures causing abnormalities. I'm just surprised that the QA at Samsung did not catch this. Maybe they have a few corner parts mixed in with good ones... that would account for the variability in occurrence of button combo issue.

Sorry about the jargon, hopefully someone else can make sense of this. I'm thoroughly blown away.
 
davidke
Old
(Last edited by davidke; 15th September 2010 at 04:02 PM.)
#284  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 52
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montreal
[BEGIN wild theory mode]

Instead of heating the entire unit, have any you considered just placing the heated tip of a screwdriver on the service mode sensor just like the samsung teks use to unbrick all the phones we are sending back? It just needs to be warm. Some sensors are so sensitive that they dont need to be heated at all, just press the 3 keys and you are good to go. This is the sensor that they are going to disable in an upcomming fix that they are releasing because of community pressure.



[END wild theory mode] ;)
 
mengsuan
Old
#285  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 481
Join Date: Aug 2008
Lol what? [10 char needed]
 
pure_energy1
Old
#286  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 50
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidke View Post
[BEGIN wild theory mode]

Instead of heating the entire unit, have any you considered just placing the heated tip of a screwdriver on the service mode sensor just like the samsung teks use to unbrick all the phones we are sending back? It just needs to be warm. Some sensors are so sensitive that they dont need to be heated at all, just press the 3 keys and you are good to go. This is the sensor that are going to disable in an upcomming fix that they are releasing because of community pressure.

[END wild theory mode] ;)
I'm curious where you heard about this...

If this is true, it stands to reason why heating up the phone seems to resolve the issue in some cases.
 
Joghurtbecher
Old
#287  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidke View Post
[BEGIN wild theory mode]

Instead of heating the entire unit, have any you considered just placing the heated tip of a screwdriver on the service mode sensor just like the samsung teks use to unbrick all the phones we are sending back? It just needs to be warm. Some sensors are so sensitive that they dont need to be heated at all, just press the 3 keys and you are good to go. This is the sensor that they are going to disable in an upcomming fix that they are releasing because of community pressure.

[can't post links]

[END wild theory mode] ;)
Nice theory, but my guess would be that this hole stems from the molding process of the body

On a more serious note, in a different thread someone mentioned that it could be a timing issue. This is actually realistic.
In laymen terms:
Digital Signals don't change their level instantanious. If you want to change a 1 into a 0, you need to get all the electrons which produce the "1-voltage" to go somewhere else to have your "0-voltage". This takes time, not much but enough to be a major design factor in digital electronics. If you have two chips communicating, you don't want the first on to look what the second sends, before the signal levels have stabilized. The 3 button issue could very well be such an issue with some timing beeing off far enough to have the the 3-button combo never register with the CPU.
How can heat change this?
Well, simplified its like this: Good conductors (e.g. metals) have a lot of electrons who are not that closely bonded with the atoms. This means they can roam freely and carry electrical current (which is nothing else, then electrons moving around). Isolators are materials which have all their electrons fused to the atoms and therefore don't permit free electron flow. Semiconductors are materials which lay somewhere in the middle. Their electrons stick to the atoms too but the get knocked off easly by things like radiation in the form of heat, light, radioactivity and so on. This in itself is not the primary mechanism which gives silicon chips their electrical properties, we actually want them to have. That is achieved by diluting the pure silicon chrystal with certain elements but thats not the point here. Whats important is, that temperature is a factor in the conductivity of a semiconductor. Temperature can change the behavior of chips, espeacily the timing behavior. The reason for this is, that higher temperature means more free electrons which means more conductivety which means faster moving electrons, which means faster changeing signal levels. Theoretcally it is possible, that by this mechanism and pure chance, the 3-button combo works in a heated SGS. It would be interesting to heat up only certain chips on the board and see which one is responsible. Not that I'm going to try that with my (until know) unbricked phone

If anyone of you wonders why you cool your CPU, when it should get faster when more hot: Remember, that a CPU is a block of silicon which has very specific conduction paths embeded into it to make it function as a CPU. Heating it up will lower resitance in the whole chip, making it eventually a whole big conductive lump of silicon. In that case, current will simply flow from the + to the - terminal, bypass all the logic gates and roast you chip So leave the cooler on kids.
 
mr_ding
Old
#288  
mr_ding's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 509
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto
I got mine from Bell Time Square (Leslie/Hwy7) and the recovery mode is working too
Samsung Galaxy S3 (i747m model)
Previous: S2 i9100 and S1 i9000
 
davidke
Old
#289  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 52
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montreal
[BEGIN tasteless humor mode]

So I bring my i9000 in to a Bell shop and explain that the 3-button recovery mode doesn't work and I want to exchange it. The guy says that the 3-button mode is not for end users so he cant exchange it just for that. So I shove the phone up is @ss ... and when he pulls it out ... the 3-button combo worked!!! I guess the heat theory is true then. Go figure. This must be how samsung teks get into to recovery.
Note: I suspect it has to be pretty "tight" for it to work.

[END tasteless humor mode] ;)
 
yakkamut
Old
#290  
yakkamut's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver
For those of you on Bell Mobility, seems like they finally have a firmware fix for the 3 button combo. Check out their facebook page for links and instructions. (Samsung Mobile Canada)

http://www.facebook.com/note.php?not...5296049&ref=mf

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more

Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more

Narrate Makes Note Taking Efficient and Beautiful

Technology has put life on the fast track. Whether its travelling to multiple places or … more

Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more