FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Android Ad-hoc support hack/wpa_supplicant

15th August 2010, 02:11 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Heya,

Unfortunately android, to be precisely wpa_supplicant does not show ad-hoc networks, the following modified wpa_supplicant shows them, haven't seen it before so I posted it .

all credits go to szym (http://szym.net/android/adhoc-wpa-supp.html)

Quote:

The patch below modifies the wpa_supplicant code in the external/wpa_supplicant AOSP repo to make ad-hoc networks appear as regular APs with a (*) prefix.

The patch:

* removes the [IBSS] flag from scan results,
* masquerades and demasquerades ad-hoc ssid with (*) prefix
* sets mode 1 (ad-hoc) if the ssid is for IBSS
* permits the supplicant to select an IBSS when associating to a given ssid

patch: http://szym.net/android/wpa_supplicant-ibss.patch

The only thing I did was to apply the patch compile it for froyo and supply a signed update zip with the modified wpa_supplicant, work was done by szym.

Flash the attached wpa_adhoc-signed.zip in recovery and your done .

a3e00f284ddff04804ba8d59364712b1 wpa_adhoc-signed.zip (v0.5.11)

Works with:

- Froyo/Eclair roms on HTC Hero (confirmed)
- roms using wpa_supplicant v0.5.x

Attention:
- It _seems_ like some rom using wpa_supplicant v0.6.x do not work! take care (e.g HTC Desire). Please report back.

you may check this post: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2&postcount=24

Always do a nandroid backup!!
Attached Files
File Type: zip wpa_adhoc-signed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (131.0 KB, 105034 views)
Last edited by blackplatypus; 20th August 2010 at 07:41 PM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to blackplatypus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
15th August 2010, 03:04 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Downloaded and will have a try. It will be great if it works. Thanks.
The hero can detect the ad-hoc mode with a (*)before the name. It can be connected but can't access the internet. My laptop can access internet through this ad-hoc wifi. Didn't know why?
Last edited by yamchung; 15th August 2010 at 07:50 AM.
15th August 2010, 07:24 PM |#3  
pascanu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tg. Mures
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
It works! Beautiful. I used my old G1 to make an ad-hoc wireless network and my Desire saw it right away and connected without any problem. See my signature for the ROM I'm using (if it really matters).
16th August 2010, 02:39 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Would anyone provide "ad-hoc support in wep" in a signed update zip? Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to yamchung For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th August 2010, 07:54 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamchung

Would anyone provide "ad-hoc support in wep" in a signed update zip? Thanks.

it is already look at the first post.
17th August 2010, 10:51 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
The patch didn't work for me at first. I got "Error" while trying to turn my wi-fi on.
But when I restored the original /system/etc/wifi/tiwlan.ini and /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf back in the phone, it started detecting ad-hoc networks.
So the patch worked after all.

Thanks.

[EDIT]
Did not work after I rebooted my phone.

HTC Hero Brown
Running: FroydVillain 1.2.2
Kernel: 2.6.29-nindroid-ninpo@titan #302
Operator: Airtel India
Last edited by funkyrohit; 17th August 2010 at 11:45 AM. Reason: Didn't work after re-booting
17th August 2010, 01:00 PM |#7  
solidkundi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
what does this allow me to do ? will i be able to transfer files between phones?
17th August 2010, 01:38 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi all, I just got my SGS yesterday. How can I flash this patch. I renamed file to update.zip, downloaded into my SGS /sdcard, and used ABD to install the update.zip. However it gave me a waring 'Installation Aborted'' . I may just doing something wrong here. ...any suggestion? Thanks a lot!
17th August 2010, 02:03 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Thanks a lot, works on Magic 32b but only for non password protected connections
Able to see the connections on Desire, but unable to connect, gets stuck on Obtaining IP adress.....
Running on Cyanogen 6.0.0 RC1 on Magic, and LeeDroid 1.8c on Desire
Last edited by ZedeN; 17th August 2010 at 04:40 PM.
17th August 2010, 02:11 PM |#10  
Member
Flag Rainbow City, AL
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Thumbs up
will this work on a stock rooted 2.1 Vibrant??

Just flash via ROM Manager?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes