Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Android Ad-hoc support hack/wpa_supplicant

OP blackplatypus

17th August 2010, 07:01 PM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Flag MIAMI,FL
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
help
i flashed it on my droid now my wifi is foreclosing on me why how do i take it off
17th August 2010, 08:18 PM   |  #22  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvjones305

i flashed it on my droid now my wifi is foreclosing on me why how do i take it off

push your original wpa_supplicant file back (get it from your rom zipfile)

adb remount
adb push wpa_supplicant /system/bin
17th August 2010, 08:20 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Flag MIAMI,FL
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Cool hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackplatypus

push your original wpa_supplicant file back (get it from your rom zipfile)

adb remount
adb push wpa_supplicant /system/bin

i took it off by reinstalling the same rom over it deleted the kernel an the wifi to so im back to normal now but yea how do i do this properly i thought i just it on the rom an every thing is ok lol an whats adb
17th August 2010, 08:30 PM   |  #24  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvjones305

i took it off by reinstalling the same rom over it deleted the kernel an the wifi to so im back to normal now but yea how do i do this properly i thought i just it on the rom an every thing is ok lol an whats adb

its included in the android sdk toolchain.



Can all the people which had problems, check the version of wpa_supplicant their rom is using? connectbot or via adb in cmd.exe/shell (adb shell wpa_supplicant -v) and post the output?.

It seems like some newer roms are using wpa_supplicant v6 with different libs.

You can try to use the precompiled wpa_supplicant from daveba http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...98&postcount=6

our flash the attached signed update zip. (its the same file)

Attention: its not my file!!
Attached Files
File Type: zip wpa6_adhoc-signed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (175.8 KB, 21453 views)
Last edited by blackplatypus; 17th August 2010 at 08:36 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to blackplatypus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th August 2010, 08:40 PM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Flag MIAMI,FL
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Cool hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackplatypus

its included in the android sdk toolchain.



Can all the people which had problems, check the version of wpa_supplicant their rom is using? connectbot or via adb in cmd.exe/shell (adb shell wpa_supplicant -v) and post the output?.

It seems like some newer roms are using wpa_supplicant v6 with different libs.

You can try to use the precompiled wpa_supplicant from daveba http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...98&postcount=6

our flash the attached signed update zip. (its the same file)

Attention: its not my file!!

i dont have sdk i have mod recovery with the rom manager app that what i use for swapping roms an kernels i follow the same procedures when i flash roms on my motorola droid flashed an rooted on metropcs froyo frg01b kernel lv-250-1250 an i have connect bot in my sd card an i dont know what its for i bought the phone like this so what is connect bot im a noobie left blackberry to join the android family lol
17th August 2010, 11:08 PM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
how do I apply this patch to SGS?
i dont now how to apply.
17th August 2010, 11:14 PM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Flag MD
Thanks Meter: 20
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
This is causing some serious wifi issues with my Droid (running a rooted version of the original Froyo ROM). Immediately, I noticed that the phone couldn't scan for wifi networks. I replaced the file with the wpa6 file, had the same issues. Replaced both files with the original wpa supplement included in the ROM, and now wifi still wont work.

EDIT: Nandroid restore did the trick.
Last edited by RossLH; 17th August 2010 at 11:36 PM.
17th August 2010, 11:43 PM   |  #28  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossLH

This is causing some serious wifi issues with my Droid (running a rooted version of the original Froyo ROM). Immediately, I noticed that the phone couldn't scan for wifi networks. I replaced the file with the wpa6 file, had the same issues. Replaced both files with the original wpa supplement included in the ROM, and now wifi still wont work.

EDIT: Nandroid restore did the trick.

after pushing the original file "adb shell chmod 0755 /system/bin/wpa_supplicant" might help to set again correct permissions.

a logfile using "adb logcat" would be nice to see the error output.
18th August 2010, 03:50 AM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 16
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Using the "wpa6_adhoc-signed.zip" version, I can connect to another Android phone's wireless hotspot, but I can't connect to my Windows-7 adhoc connection using wpa2. I can see the connection, but just not connect to it.

Anyone else seeing this behaviour?
Enom 2.11.3 ROM, btw.
18th August 2010, 11:09 AM   |  #30  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by manicmoose

Using the "wpa6_adhoc-signed.zip" version, I can connect to another Android phone's wireless hotspot, but I can't connect to my Windows-7 adhoc connection using wpa2. I can see the connection, but just not connect to it.

Anyone else seeing this behaviour?
Enom 2.11.3 ROM, btw.

yeah thats because adhoc supports only open or WEP encrypted network (in wifi tether too you can only use WEP). It seems that newer windows edition (7, vista) support WPA2 AES, probably a windows only thing, but not sure about that.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes