5,593,458 Members 36,698 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Noob needing help with adb remount!

Tip us?
 
Bighurk
Old
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: California
can somebody please point me a a guide that works. the ones that ive searched for does not seem to work for me. complete newb here
 
GreenBot
Old
#12  
GreenBot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jul 2010
I get exactly the same thing but can't seem to find any help
 
shilob
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 17
Join Date: Aug 2010
I was having a similar issue. Maybe I can help.

First, I am already rooted and have busybox installed. Don't know if that matters, but can't hurt.

Here's what you can do:

Code:
C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
$ mount
mount
rootfs / rootfs ro 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
/dev/block/stl6 /mnt/.lfs j4fs rw 0 0
tmpfs /sqlite_stmt_journals tmpfs rw,size=4096k 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,cpu 0 0
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs rw,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,ioc
harset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl10 /dbdata rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocha
rset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl11 /cache rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iochar
set=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl3 /efs rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset
=utf8 0 0
/dev/block//vold/179:1 /sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,uid=1000,gid=
1015,fmask=0102,dmask=0002,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,s
hortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
$
At this point, we can see that /system is mounted at /dev/block/stl9. With that knowledge:

Code:
$ su
# mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
Now your free to do whatever it is you were trying to do. When you're done, don't forget to :

Code:
# mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system
That should do it. Standard disclaimer, not responsible, blah,blah,blah...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shilob For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gunnyman
Old
#14  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2646
Posts: 7,873
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greenville SC

 
DONATE TO ME
How can I add these commands as aliases to the phone's shell?
 
jvanja
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by shilob View Post
I was having a similar issue. Maybe I can help.

First, I am already rooted and have busybox installed. Don't know if that matters, but can't hurt.

Here's what you can do:

Code:
C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
$ mount
mount
rootfs / rootfs ro 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
/dev/block/stl6 /mnt/.lfs j4fs rw 0 0
tmpfs /sqlite_stmt_journals tmpfs rw,size=4096k 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,cpu 0 0
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs rw,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,ioc
harset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl10 /dbdata rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocha
rset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl11 /cache rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iochar
set=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl3 /efs rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset
=utf8 0 0
/dev/block//vold/179:1 /sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,uid=1000,gid=
1015,fmask=0102,dmask=0002,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,s
hortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
$
At this point, we can see that /system is mounted at /dev/block/stl9. With that knowledge:

Code:
$ su
# mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
Now your free to do whatever it is you were trying to do. When you're done, don't forget to :

Code:
# mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system
That should do it. Standard disclaimer, not responsible, blah,blah,blah...
Everything is fine until I get to
$ su
I get "Permission denied"

Hmm... anyone has any tips? Thanks!
 
slifer315
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 250
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Piscataway, New Jersey
when you type su into the command prompt, you should get a pop-up on your phone saying unknown is requesting superuser permissions and you need to allow it or you will get denied permission.
 
jvanja
Old
#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Thanks! I passed that.. Now Im confused about whats the next step to push an apk into /system/app. I tried exiting from shell ("exit" twice until I saw C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>) and then tried adb push.... but again I got No permission message ..
any advice?
 
silvertag
Old
#18  
silvertag's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 749
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanja View Post
Thanks! I passed that.. Now Im confused about whats the next step to push an apk into /system/app. I tried exiting from shell ("exit" twice until I saw C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>) and then tried adb push.... but again I got No permission message ..
any advice?
Did you do the "mount -o remount,ro ..." before you exited the shell ? sounds like your still on Read-only .

-First thing copy the .apk app into the sdk tools folder.
-Then do the following
Code:
adb shell
su
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
exit
exit

-Now from your windows command prompt in sdk tools folder
adb push my_app.apk /system/app

-Once your finish
adb reboot
After the reboot your /system is returned to it's original read-only state.
___________________________
SGH-i317M Note 2 - 4.4 KitKat
SGH-i896 Captivate - Retired
HTC Magic - Really retired
The Following User Says Thank You to silvertag For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jvanja
Old
#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Thats exactly what I did..:/ Does shell give you a confirm that you got the rw rights after doing:
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system??

In my case it only responded with the same line below..
 
silvertag
Old
#20  
silvertag's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 749
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanja View Post
Thats exactly what I did..:/ Does shell give you a confirm that you got the rw rights after doing:
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system??

In my case it only responded with the same line below..
No it wont say anything. After you've done the remount,rw check your mount with "mount" in the shell. The /dev/block/stl9 /system line should read like this.

Code:
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs rw,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
rather then

Code:
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs ro,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
___________________________
SGH-i317M Note 2 - 4.4 KitKat
SGH-i896 Captivate - Retired
HTC Magic - Really retired

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...