FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

[Q] Noob needing help with adb remount!

20 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Bighurk, Junior Member on 15th August 2010, 04:26 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
16th August 2010, 05:49 AM |#11  
OP Junior Member
California
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
can somebody please point me a a guide that works. the ones that ive searched for does not seem to work for me. complete newb here
 
 
1st September 2010, 05:11 AM |#12  
GreenBot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
I get exactly the same thing but can't seem to find any help
3rd September 2010, 05:47 AM |#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I was having a similar issue. Maybe I can help.

First, I am already rooted and have busybox installed. Don't know if that matters, but can't hurt.

Here's what you can do:

Code:
C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
$ mount
mount
rootfs / rootfs ro 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
/dev/block/stl6 /mnt/.lfs j4fs rw 0 0
tmpfs /sqlite_stmt_journals tmpfs rw,size=4096k 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,cpu 0 0
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs rw,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,ioc
harset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl10 /dbdata rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocha
rset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl11 /cache rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iochar
set=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl3 /efs rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset
=utf8 0 0
/dev/block//vold/179:1 /sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,uid=1000,gid=
1015,fmask=0102,dmask=0002,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,s
hortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
$
At this point, we can see that /system is mounted at /dev/block/stl9. With that knowledge:

Code:
$ su
# mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
Now your free to do whatever it is you were trying to do. When you're done, don't forget to :

Code:
# mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system
That should do it. Standard disclaimer, not responsible, blah,blah,blah...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shilob For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th September 2010, 10:05 AM |#14  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,682
 
Donate to Me
More
How can I add these commands as aliases to the phone's shell?
30th November 2010, 01:38 PM |#15  
Junior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shilob

I was having a similar issue. Maybe I can help.

First, I am already rooted and have busybox installed. Don't know if that matters, but can't hurt.

Here's what you can do:

Code:
C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
$ mount
mount
rootfs / rootfs ro 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
/dev/block/stl6 /mnt/.lfs j4fs rw 0 0
tmpfs /sqlite_stmt_journals tmpfs rw,size=4096k 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,cpu 0 0
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs rw,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,ioc
harset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl10 /dbdata rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocha
rset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl11 /cache rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iochar
set=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl3 /efs rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset
=utf8 0 0
/dev/block//vold/179:1 /sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,uid=1000,gid=
1015,fmask=0102,dmask=0002,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,s
hortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
$
At this point, we can see that /system is mounted at /dev/block/stl9. With that knowledge:

Code:
$ su
# mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
Now your free to do whatever it is you were trying to do. When you're done, don't forget to :

Code:
# mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system
That should do it. Standard disclaimer, not responsible, blah,blah,blah...

Everything is fine until I get to
$ su
I get "Permission denied"

Hmm... anyone has any tips? Thanks!
30th November 2010, 03:07 PM |#16  
Senior Member
Flag Piscataway, New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
when you type su into the command prompt, you should get a pop-up on your phone saying unknown is requesting superuser permissions and you need to allow it or you will get denied permission.
30th November 2010, 05:26 PM |#17  
Junior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks! I passed that.. Now Im confused about whats the next step to push an apk into /system/app. I tried exiting from shell ("exit" twice until I saw C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>) and then tried adb push.... but again I got No permission message ..
any advice?
30th November 2010, 07:10 PM |#18  
silvertag's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 185
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanja

Thanks! I passed that.. Now Im confused about whats the next step to push an apk into /system/app. I tried exiting from shell ("exit" twice until I saw C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>) and then tried adb push.... but again I got No permission message ..
any advice?

Did you do the "mount -o remount,ro ..." before you exited the shell ? sounds like your still on Read-only .

-First thing copy the .apk app into the sdk tools folder.
-Then do the following
Code:
adb shell
su
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
exit
exit

-Now from your windows command prompt in sdk tools folder
adb push my_app.apk /system/app

-Once your finish
adb reboot
After the reboot your /system is returned to it's original read-only state.
The Following User Says Thank You to silvertag For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th November 2010, 10:26 PM |#19  
Junior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thats exactly what I did..:/ Does shell give you a confirm that you got the rw rights after doing:
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system??

In my case it only responded with the same line below..
1st December 2010, 01:49 PM |#20  
silvertag's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 185
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanja

Thats exactly what I did..:/ Does shell give you a confirm that you got the rw rights after doing:
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system??

In my case it only responded with the same line below..

No it wont say anything. After you've done the remount,rw check your mount with "mount" in the shell. The /dev/block/stl9 /system line should read like this.

Code:
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs rw,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
rather then

Code:
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs ro,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
1st December 2010, 03:25 PM |#21  
Junior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Ok I finally got it to work! I had rw permissions but it wouldn't work until I installed BusyBox! I have no idea why and how (although I would like to know) nor what busybox does (i read in another thread that it solves the problem) but now Im pushing and pulling fine and able to use Root Explorer!

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes