Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Noob needing help with adb remount!

OP Bighurk

16th August 2010, 06:49 AM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
California
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
can somebody please point me a a guide that works. the ones that ive searched for does not seem to work for me. complete newb here
1st September 2010, 06:11 AM   |  #12  
GreenBot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I get exactly the same thing but can't seem to find any help
3rd September 2010, 06:47 AM   |  #13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I was having a similar issue. Maybe I can help.

First, I am already rooted and have busybox installed. Don't know if that matters, but can't hurt.

Here's what you can do:

Code:
C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
$ mount
mount
rootfs / rootfs ro 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
/dev/block/stl6 /mnt/.lfs j4fs rw 0 0
tmpfs /sqlite_stmt_journals tmpfs rw,size=4096k 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,cpu 0 0
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs rw,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,ioc
harset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl10 /dbdata rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocha
rset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl11 /cache rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iochar
set=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl3 /efs rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset
=utf8 0 0
/dev/block//vold/179:1 /sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,uid=1000,gid=
1015,fmask=0102,dmask=0002,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,s
hortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
$
At this point, we can see that /system is mounted at /dev/block/stl9. With that knowledge:

Code:
$ su
# mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
Now your free to do whatever it is you were trying to do. When you're done, don't forget to :

Code:
# mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system
That should do it. Standard disclaimer, not responsible, blah,blah,blah...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shilob For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th September 2010, 11:05 AM   |  #14  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,673
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
How can I add these commands as aliases to the phone's shell?
30th November 2010, 02:38 PM   |  #15  
Junior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shilob

I was having a similar issue. Maybe I can help.

First, I am already rooted and have busybox installed. Don't know if that matters, but can't hurt.

Here's what you can do:

Code:
C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
$ mount
mount
rootfs / rootfs ro 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
/dev/block/stl6 /mnt/.lfs j4fs rw 0 0
tmpfs /sqlite_stmt_journals tmpfs rw,size=4096k 0 0
none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,cpu 0 0
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs rw,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,ioc
harset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl10 /dbdata rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocha
rset=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl11 /cache rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iochar
set=utf8 0 0
/dev/block/stl3 /efs rfs rw,nosuid,nodev,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset
=utf8 0 0
/dev/block//vold/179:1 /sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,uid=1000,gid=
1015,fmask=0102,dmask=0002,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,s
hortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
$
At this point, we can see that /system is mounted at /dev/block/stl9. With that knowledge:

Code:
$ su
# mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
Now your free to do whatever it is you were trying to do. When you're done, don't forget to :

Code:
# mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system
That should do it. Standard disclaimer, not responsible, blah,blah,blah...

Everything is fine until I get to
$ su
I get "Permission denied"

Hmm... anyone has any tips? Thanks!
30th November 2010, 04:07 PM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Flag Piscataway, New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 35
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
when you type su into the command prompt, you should get a pop-up on your phone saying unknown is requesting superuser permissions and you need to allow it or you will get denied permission.
30th November 2010, 06:26 PM   |  #17  
Junior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Thanks! I passed that.. Now Im confused about whats the next step to push an apk into /system/app. I tried exiting from shell ("exit" twice until I saw C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>) and then tried adb push.... but again I got No permission message ..
any advice?
30th November 2010, 08:10 PM   |  #18  
silvertag's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 179
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanja

Thanks! I passed that.. Now Im confused about whats the next step to push an apk into /system/app. I tried exiting from shell ("exit" twice until I saw C:\Program Files\android-sdk-windows\tools>) and then tried adb push.... but again I got No permission message ..
any advice?

Did you do the "mount -o remount,ro ..." before you exited the shell ? sounds like your still on Read-only .

-First thing copy the .apk app into the sdk tools folder.
-Then do the following
Code:
adb shell
su
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
exit
exit

-Now from your windows command prompt in sdk tools folder
adb push my_app.apk /system/app

-Once your finish
adb reboot
After the reboot your /system is returned to it's original read-only state.
The Following User Says Thank You to silvertag For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th November 2010, 11:26 PM   |  #19  
Junior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Thats exactly what I did..:/ Does shell give you a confirm that you got the rw rights after doing:
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system??

In my case it only responded with the same line below..
1st December 2010, 02:49 PM   |  #20  
silvertag's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 179
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanja

Thats exactly what I did..:/ Does shell give you a confirm that you got the rw rights after doing:
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system??

In my case it only responded with the same line below..

No it wont say anything. After you've done the remount,rw check your mount with "mount" in the shell. The /dev/block/stl9 /system line should read like this.

Code:
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs rw,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0
rather then

Code:
/dev/block/stl9 /system rfs ro,vfat,llw,check=no,gid/uid/rwx,iocharset=utf8 0 0

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes