FORUMS

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Vibrant won't boot into recovery?

28 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By ParkerOviedo, Junior Member on 15th August 2010, 02:52 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have tried everything. Holding volume up and power, down and power, both and power
Holding the whole time, letting go at the vibrant screen
I even did i factory reset and it wont work
Does anyone else have this issue?
It is going to ultimately force me to get a replacment device
I was wondering if there was somehing i missed

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
 
 
15th August 2010, 03:35 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Laredo
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
hold both volumes and power until you see the contact screen for the second time.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to robavila721 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th August 2010, 05:06 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Same problem here. Spent a day trying to get it to work. Finally gave up and used the one click root method to get into recovery. This is my second Vibrant, so it's not that I haven't done this correctly before. Very strange, but one click worked for me.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
16th August 2010, 01:45 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
The one click doesn't do anything
It puts the update.zip on my internal storage then doesn't reboot or anything
Would it still work through adb?

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
16th August 2010, 02:12 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I've spent several hours trying to get into recovery and download mode via the buttons. I've tried everything I've found on the forums, and pretty much concluded that the US Vibrant is seeing the same issue that Bell Canada and Aus Optus is with some phones not having the power button reboot functional for whatever reason. I'm going to return mine tomorrow for one that works. Hopefully I don't get any static about trying them out till I find one that works properly.

ADB works fine for me to reboot to recovery and download. I personally would use TGA_Gunman's root.
17th August 2010, 07:44 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Hey guys. I just bought a Vibrant today and am having this same issue. No matter how many times I hold either volume button independently (or even together), I can't get into Fastboot, or I guess Download mode as it's called here. I'm coming from a Nexus One where it works everytime, so this is kind of weird. Launching RomManager and selecting to boot into recovery does work, but I don't want to rely on that.

Is the smart thing to go swap the physical phone?
20th August 2010, 12:10 AM |#7  
Member
Maryland
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I am having the same problem with my Vibrant. Anyone figure out how to get it into recovery?
20th August 2010, 04:28 AM |#8  
wbexpress's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kas21

I am having the same problem with my Vibrant. Anyone figure out how to get it into recovery?

As unpleasant as it may seem to do so, it really behooves you who are having those issues, (as am I with my 3rd replacement!!!) Vibrant, it is absolutely worth your while to set up ADB, for numerous reasons. It solves both of those issues and allows so many other options. Once you do the installation of the SDK on your PC and install the right drivers, it is not at all difficult to use it to do many important things much easier.

http://theunlockr.com/2009/10/06/how...droid-devices/
20th August 2010, 04:34 AM |#9  
rdunn20's Avatar
Member
Flag Memphis
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
just download quick boot from the app store and u can reboot, recovery, or bootloader ur phone with this app
20th August 2010, 05:34 AM |#10  
flameinthefire's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdunn20

just download quick boot from the app store and u can reboot, recovery, or bootloader ur phone with this app

he means boot rom and hes right just download it from app store and click install clockrecovery and after that click reboot in recovery and your done.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes