FORUMS

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

I/O Summary: Google Photos App

At I/O 2015, Google tackled the information problem in mobile once more, this time through … more

I/O Summary: Development, Play Store, The Next Billion

VP of Engineering Jen Fitzpatrick began talking about what Google is doing to … more

I/O Summary: Google Now on Tap

Google is all about organizing the world’s information to make it universally useful, and these … more

new root for HTC Legend

Thanks Meter: 1
 
By oanhof, Member on 17th August 2010, 06:17 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
this is a new root for the HTC Legend!
This can be done right on the phone.
BUT if you reboot you loose your root and have to root again.

http://translate.google.com/translat...versalandroot/
 
 
18th August 2010, 01:07 AM |#2  
lessirey's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calicut
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
Did anyone try this successfully on legend ?
18th August 2010, 11:52 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
to be honest ... I did not understand the method !
18th August 2010, 01:25 PM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I Can Not try it because i have root already.

Sent from my HTC Legend using XDA App
18th August 2010, 03:48 PM |#5  
Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Same question, has anyone tried it on Legend?
18th August 2010, 06:02 PM |#6  
acid74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Yes, it does what it says. I tried on my Legend (2.05).
18th August 2010, 06:25 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I m having a hard time understanding the "caution" "warning" because of the translation ...etc
The only thing i understood is:
1. it is a "soft" root android app
2. once rebooted, you will lose su
3. a lot of red flags ( warnings make be weary to try it out especially in one of the comment it says "Legend not work" )

If anyone can translate this in plain english or simple step that would be great!

ps: Come to think of it... does App2SD app needs root access all the time or only for installing? Im only interested in having root to be able to use the Apps to SD ... (which is not possible unless its rooted, right? is it still the case?)
18th August 2010, 06:29 PM |#8  
Bandis710's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Can anybody tel me what's the use for this ? When I apply it I am rooted until I reboot, so what's the use ? Apps that need root need a phone that is rooted all the time .. I am quite new to this so maybe somebody can tell me what I can do with this root ?
18th August 2010, 07:03 PM |#9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
here is a tutorial: http://android.modaco.com/content/ht...ith-soft-root/
18th August 2010, 09:58 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Doesn't work on HTC Legend with ROM 2.03.405.3
(original version, non-rooted)

Followed the steps exactly and I get this:

C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
$ su
su
su: permission denied




Update: Tried for the third time and now it worked! So, ignore the above. Now I got:

C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
$ su
su
#


You have to disconnect and reconnect adb before trying the su command, this is what I did now and worked.

Also installed some apps that need root access (ie. Market Enabler, screenshot apps, Wireless tether) and they work fine.
Last edited by nickggr; 18th August 2010 at 10:17 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes