5,606,465 Members 33,651 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

new root for HTC Legend

Tip us?
 
oanhof
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default new root for HTC Legend

this is a new root for the HTC Legend!
This can be done right on the phone.
BUT if you reboot you loose your root and have to root again.

http://translate.google.com/translat...versalandroot/
 
lessirey
Old
#2  
lessirey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 447
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Calicut
Did anyone try this successfully on legend ?
 
chuchu777
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2010
to be honest ... I did not understand the method !
 
oanhof
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jun 2010
I Can Not try it because i have root already.

Sent from my HTC Legend using XDA App
 
latorante
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 51
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Manchester
Same question, has anyone tried it on Legend?
 
acid74
Old
#6  
acid74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 135
Join Date: Sep 2007
Yes, it does what it says. I tried on my Legend (2.05).
 
QkSi1ver
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 166
Join Date: Jun 2008
I m having a hard time understanding the "caution" "warning" because of the translation ...etc
The only thing i understood is:
1. it is a "soft" root android app
2. once rebooted, you will lose su
3. a lot of red flags ( warnings make be weary to try it out especially in one of the comment it says "Legend not work" )

If anyone can translate this in plain english or simple step that would be great!

ps: Come to think of it... does App2SD app needs root access all the time or only for installing? Im only interested in having root to be able to use the Apps to SD ... (which is not possible unless its rooted, right? is it still the case?)
 
Bandis710
Old
#8  
Bandis710's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 1,361
Join Date: Mar 2008
Can anybody tel me what's the use for this ? When I apply it I am rooted until I reboot, so what's the use ? Apps that need root need a phone that is rooted all the time .. I am quite new to this so maybe somebody can tell me what I can do with this root ?
 
oanhof
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jun 2010
here is a tutorial: http://android.modaco.com/content/ht...ith-soft-root/
 
nickggr
Old
(Last edited by nickggr; 18th August 2010 at 10:17 PM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Sep 2008
Doesn't work on HTC Legend with ROM 2.03.405.3
(original version, non-rooted)

Followed the steps exactly and I get this:

C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
$ su
su
su: permission denied




Update: Tried for the third time and now it worked! So, ignore the above. Now I got:

C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
$ su
su
#


You have to disconnect and reconnect adb before trying the su command, this is what I did now and worked.

Also installed some apps that need root access (ie. Market Enabler, screenshot apps, Wireless tether) and they work fine.
techteam.gr - The Greek technology team

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...