5,599,337 Members 38,238 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Win 7 + SD card reader = problems. Help.

Tip us?
 
Tikras
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 74
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London
Question [Q] Win 7 + SD card reader = problems. Help.

Hi

I'm having such problem. Tried different types of SD cards, first one was Trancend 16GB class 10 (high speed). Second one Trancend 8GB class 6 (medium speed). Third one some noname 4GB... So, I've got the same reading problem with all of them; intermittent reading and even card recognizing issue which is rendering SD card reader useless on device. I should highlight the thing that all cards perfectly being read in all other devices when pulled out of Shift and inserted in any of another devices. Tried to do different things, reinstalled drivers few times and so far... Seems this is strange hardware issue (compatibility issue?) arises in windows 7 enviroment. It's so upsetting, I don't want to come back to slugish Vista but I really need SD card reader!
I did not see many posts about it, so is anyone else having similar problem? Can you please share ideas and solutions of the problem if you overcame it.
 
lovray21
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York
i was having the same problem but after i did a windows update it was working fine, i have a A-DATA SDHC 16GB card.
 
Tikras
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 74
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovray21 View Post
i was having the same problem but after i did a windows update it was working fine, i have a A-DATA SDHC 16GB card.
But my windows always up to date, including hardware and optional updates.
Maybe you remember what was that update which resolved card reader issue?
 
bluesbrothers93
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 104
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default similar issue

i not that i can't acces on MicroSD card and Win7 ask to formatting it

i put in on XP Desktop
earase copy somes files

put it again in the shift
and i can access it

don't know what is the problem ?
Ciao, ciao
RJ
 
ashasaur
Old
#5  
ashasaur's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 272
Posts: 1,316
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florence

 
DONATE TO ME
Apply the BIOS update from the HTC website and all will be fixed!
Current devices-

Phone:
Verizon Motorola RAZR LTE
ROM:
Stock GB
ROM History:
Stock GB

Tablet:
Acer Iconia A500
ROM:
Custom Stock 4.0
ROM history:
Acer STOCK 3.0->Custom Stock 4.0

Device history-
HTC S620 Excailbur->HTC Wizard->HTC Juno->HTC Herald->HTC Tytn II->HTC HD2/HTC Shift 9500->HTC G2/SGT ATT->LG G2X/SGT ATT->HTC Sensation/SGT ATT->Motorola RAZR LTE/Acer Iconia A500

PARADIGM SHIFT!! Now on Verizon USA.
The Following User Says Thank You to ashasaur For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bluesbrothers93
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 104
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default Well !

first i was sceptique

On the HTC site
the Bios rev number
it is write v1.0.0.8

and my installed bios was v1.0.0.18

When i open the bios Flash utility
i see that the new version is 1.1.0.xx

i've install the non-UK file as indicated for non-uk shift

Installation was a success and very easy
but i still have the same problem with MicroSD card in internal SD card reader slot

I will check for EC driver i see somme where and tell you for result
Ciao, ciao
RJ
 
bluesbrothers93
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 104
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default still have SD PB

ok,
know i can acces to my microSD card in the SD card reader slot
with MicroSD to SD adapter

but when i use my other adapter that is
MicroSD to MiniSD to SD card adapter
the Shif ask me to format the MicroSD card

even if i use my USB Transcend SD card reader directly on USB
with the MicroSD to MiniSD to SD card adapter

In my XP PC no problem with this Dual Adapter !

Sniffff, i'm sad
Ciao, ciao
RJ
 
zpev
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kromeriz
Default SD card

Hello, so I use an SD card Transcend 32GB Class 10 and when inserted into the slot, but not log in to read it, but when you connect to the Internet and runs a minute and we can enjoy. When the shift to fall asleep again I have to pull the card and the data again and goes, but I'd wanted to tread do not normally have someone an idea or gimmick? Thank you for your reply, Mirek
 
duffy74
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Udine
someone solved?
I have the same problem

htc trinity
htc shift
nokia E61

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more