Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Guide] How to listen to Pandora radio outside the us

OP GlobaL_TroTTer

20th August 2010, 10:11 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Oslo
Thanks Meter: 26
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Just thought there were some people that wanted to know.

This requires a rooted phone!

Firstly download the Pandora radio apk from a filesharing service or use market-enabler to get access to the American android market and download it from there.

Next, download Orbot from the market. Install it and don't forget to give it root permissions.

Before you press the on button in orbot, go to the app settings and select pandora to run through orbot.
Also check the "transparent proxying" box.

Next, start orbit by pressing the power button on the app to start the service.

Now open Pandora and it should work.

If not, try restarting orbit (kill the task too if it can't start again). Also if it prompts that it isn't available in your country AFTER it has launched, just press the back button and it should work. If you have any questions just ask
Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
Last edited by orb3000; 12th August 2011 at 08:08 PM. Reason: Added tag
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to GlobaL_TroTTer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2010, 08:22 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Hi followed your instructions to the letter but doesn't work. I get the message that pandora is not available in my country even with orbot running. I then close orbot and relaunch it but it freezes and can't connect anymore.
26th August 2010, 01:26 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Works like a charm, thank you!
26th August 2010, 05:30 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Oslo
Thanks Meter: 26
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
if it dosent work, try reinstalling orbot
26th August 2010, 06:28 PM   |  #5  
AndyCr15's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 136
 
2,234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2005
Donate to Me
More
Doesn't work for me Tried reinstalling Orbot.

Galaxy S Froyo, UK Orange.
26th August 2010, 08:21 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Didnt work on desire.

could you explain your settings on your orbot and what version is your pandora apk
26th August 2010, 11:43 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
@GlobaL_TroTTer
Thanks a lot. That worked like a charm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by txitxi2004

Didnt work on desire.
could you explain your settings on your orbot and what version is your pandora apk

I'm using Pandora 1.4 on a rooted stock Samsung Vibrant ROM.

In Orbot Settings,
Select Transparent Proxying.
Click on Select Apps (wait a long time for all the apps to show up). Select Pandora.
Start Pandora. Wait a while. I had Pandora setup in the US. So I don't know what happens if you are installing Pandora fresh. But for me, it started playing.
Last edited by os2baba; 27th August 2010 at 12:27 AM. Reason: Deleted the losing launcher default problem. It was the EStrong Security Manager causing the problem.
27th August 2010, 11:36 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
COOL..WORKS FOR ME.. SEA region
thanks for sharing...
29th August 2010, 12:35 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Nope doesn't work for me either on Desire with Froyo DeLite 1.1
29th August 2010, 12:40 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Thank you so much absolute legend you are


For the people having problems with it after installation reboot you device and enjoy it work for me


BTW I have an HTC desire running MoDaCo froyo Rom

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes