Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] MixGet v1.1 widget to control Alsa headset volume

OP gilsken

21st August 2010, 02:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Hi all,

I've just released MixGet on the Market to fix the headset issue in this thread

Changelog
v1.1:
- New UI, use tab widget in configuration screen.
- Click on the icon to open the configuration screen, to change the profile, click on the radio button or the seekbar.
- Split the Media config and the Alsa config
- Handle video player state to apply the alsa settings
- Enable/disable the alsa auto settings.
- Speaker and Micro in alsa is not available for now.
- minor changes in save/restore presets.


v1.0:
No need to use adb, no need to root your phone.
It will save your "media" volume presets into 3 profiles (E)ar, (D)efault, (B)oost.
Click on the widget icon to change the profile. It also manages the headset low level driver Alsa if your phone is compatible with. Be careful when setting the alsa config if you dont want to hurt your ears .
To install the alsa library (only if you want to try with alsa):
- Enter to the config screen
- Click on Update
- Rename the update_mixget.zip into update.zip
- Reboot in recovery mode

The headset alsa volume is automatically set when the media player is playing or pausing, no need to set it again then.

This could be use on other smartphones if compatible with the alsa library. If you've already installed the alsa manually, check that you've have permission to run it. If not, delete all the files and re-install it with this widget.

Edit: if you have any problem to grab the update_mixget.zip by the widget, you can download it here and rename to update.zip then copy it on your sdcard.


Credits:
supercurio
Last edited by gilsken; 23rd August 2010 at 06:57 PM.
21st August 2010, 04:09 PM   |  #2  
hcarrega's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amadora
Thanks Meter: 8
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
thanks sir
21st August 2010, 05:18 PM   |  #3  
jeebspawnshop's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 610
 
1,005 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Question Question
Hi gilsken, and thanks for the app

But what does it do, exactly? Is it just a fix for volume levels?

Or does it automatically apply the settings we have to do manually in the Service Menu; the "fir_coeff" settings, etc?

Thanks again!
21st August 2010, 05:40 PM   |  #4  
The.Opethian's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 24
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Thanks for this! Very much appreciated!
21st August 2010, 05:41 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag ::1
Thanks Meter: 43
 
692 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The.Opethian

Thanks for this! Very much appreciated!

+1. Fully agreed.
21st August 2010, 06:39 PM   |  #6  
xan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Crack-ow
Thanks Meter: 457
 
1,399 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Donate to Me
More
Just sum feedback.

I had AudioBoost previously, which installed ALSA. Then I uninstalled it and restarted.

Grabbed MixGet from market. Installed fine.

ALSA slider not functioning.
No button to install ALSA.
No update.zip or update_mixget.zip in /sdcard.

Does this change DiamondSolution crappy coeffs?

How to get this runnin? Remove/reinstall ALSA?
SGS JM5 rooted+CLagFix
Last edited by xan; 21st August 2010 at 06:43 PM.
21st August 2010, 06:52 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xan

Just sum feedback.

I had AudioBoost previously, which installed ALSA. Then I uninstalled it and restarted.

Grabbed MixGet from market. Installed fine.

ALSA slider not functioning.
No button to install ALSA.
No update.zip or update_mixget.zip in /sdcard.

Does this change DiamondSolution crappy coeffs?

How to get this runnin? Remove/reinstall ALSA?
SGS JM5 rooted+CLagFix

you can manually download the update_mixget.zip here and copy it on your sdcard

No this does not change the Diamond equalizer but it seems that there is no need to set it if you are under JM2/JM5 (to be confirmed by supercurio)
21st August 2010, 06:57 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeebspawnshop

Hi gilsken, and thanks for the app

But what does it do, exactly? Is it just a fix for volume levels?

Or does it automatically apply the settings we have to do manually in the Service Menu; the "fir_coeff" settings, etc?

Thanks again!

It basically presets in software the volume media. The most interesting feature is, if you have installed the lib alsa with this widget, you will be able to set directly the headset volume level in hardware by the lib alsa. And it sets it up again automatically when the mediaplayer starts or stops, avoiding to lose this setting.

No this does not change the Diamond equalizer but it seems that there is no need to set it if you are under JM2/JM5 (to be confirmed by supercurio)
21st August 2010, 07:03 PM   |  #9  
xan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Crack-ow
Thanks Meter: 457
 
1,399 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Donate to Me
More
Yep It seems diamondcrap does not to make a difference for me.

Supplied update.zip worked. Thanks!
ALSA slider functioning. Keeping it around 70 for nice moderate boost.
As a side effect it actually increases amount of static noise.

Gotta do more tests.
21st August 2010, 07:41 PM   |  #10  
jeebspawnshop's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 610
 
1,005 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilsken

It basically presets in software the volume media. The most interesting feature is, if you have installed the lib alsa with this widget, you will be able to set directly the headset volume level in hardware by the lib alsa. And it sets it up again automatically when the mediaplayer starts or stops, avoiding to lose this setting.

No this does not change the Diamond equalizer but it seems that there is no need to set it if you are under JM2/JM5 (to be confirmed by supercurio)

Thanks for the explanation man

Nice work too.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
mixer headset
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes