View Poll Results: What model did this work on?
GT-I9000 2,054 49.41%
USA Vibrant 973 23.41%
USA Captivate 573 13.78%
Bell I9000 275 6.62%
Other 282 6.78%
Voters: 4157. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[REF] How to unlock/unfreeze all SGS Models [NOW WORKS ON Vibrant 4G][Updated 4-9-11]

OP dagentooboy

24th August 2010, 12:10 AM   |  #311  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 149
 
514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boravr6

Where do we put in these settings?

I am not sure what those settings are for
24th August 2010, 12:23 AM   |  #312  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Question One SIM unlock
Interesting experience...

I have the lock and freeze codes. I also have MCC/MNC. Used hex editor to pull all of it out of bml3 file. Also used sgux2 which returned same results. All is good so far.

My phone is the i9000m from Bell.

I only have the Bell SIM but want to unlock for when I travel.

Here is what I did.
  1. powered down; removed Bell SIM; powered back up
  2. from keypad entered *7465625*638*#
  3. entered a MCC/MNC value for Rogers: 302720 (picked Rogers at random since it is not same as my Bell SIM, MCC/MNC for Bell is 302610)
  4. received a "Unlock successful" message, all is good so far.
  5. powered off; inserted Bell SIM; powered on
  6. phone worked like normal -- very puzzling as it was supposedly now locked to Rogers and has the Bell SIM in it. I tried a number of things like calling voice mail, surfing the internet -- all worked.
  7. also, i never got a popup at any time to enter an unlock code -- puzzling as I expected to get prompted to enter an unlock code
  8. tried to manually enter unlock code using #7465625*638*#, entered code at prompt and got "Unlock unsuccessful"
  9. reverted back to my base settings by entering *7465625*638*#, MCC/MNC 302610 and NCK, received "Unlock successful" at this point.
  10. phone working like normal... but not unlocked (checked using *#7475625# and says Network Lock is ON)

Anyone have any thoughts?

I wish I had another SIM to try.
24th August 2010, 12:27 AM   |  #313  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 149
 
514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwwaters

Interesting experience...

I have the lock and freeze codes. I also have MCC/MNC. Used hex editor to pull all of it out of bml3 file. Also used sgux2 which returned same results. All is good so far.

My phone is the i9000m from Bell.

I only have the Bell SIM but want to unlock for when I travel.

Here is what I did.

  1. powered down; removed Bell SIM; powered back up
  2. from keypad entered *7465625*638*#
  3. entered a MCC/MNC value for Rogers: 302720 (picked Rogers at random since it is not same as my Bell SIM, MCC/MNC for Bell is 302610)
  4. received a "Unlock successful" message, all is good so far.
  5. powered off; inserted Bell SIM; powered on
  6. phone worked like normal -- very puzzling as it was supposedly now locked to Rogers and has the Bell SIM in it. I tried a number of things like calling voice mail, surfing the internet -- all worked.
  7. also, i never got a popup at any time to enter an unlock code -- puzzling as I expected to get prompted to enter an unlock code
  8. tried to manually enter unlock code using #7465625*638*#, entered code at prompt and got "Unlock unsuccessful"
  9. reverted back to my base settings by entering *7465625*638*#, MCC/MNC 302610 and NCK, received "Unlock successful" at this point.
  10. phone working like normal... but not unlocked (checked using *#7475625# and says Network Lock is ON)

Anyone have any thoughts?

I wish I had another SIM to try.

No idea what went wrong. There are three things you can do though.

1. buy a cheap pay as you go SIM card or phone and put that SIM in (Find them at convenience stores)
2. Try again
3. Borrow someones SIM card
24th August 2010, 02:01 AM   |  #314  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbs11

No idea what went wrong. There are three things you can do though.

1. buy a cheap pay as you go SIM card or phone and put that SIM in (Find them at convenience stores)
2. Try again
3. Borrow someones SIM card

I bought one of these: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=290466611301

Now I must patiently wait for it to arrive in the mail
24th August 2010, 02:06 AM   |  #315  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I picked up a Bell i9000m today and want to get it unlocked. Network Lock is the only thing on after doing *#7465625#. USB debugging is enabled. I downloaded and extracted Generate Unlock Windows.zip, ran Generate_Code.bat with the phone connected to the computer and I receive this error:

*Error: unable to find the file <.\nv_data.bin>

Can someone please advise? I'm new to android.
24th August 2010, 02:07 AM   |  #316  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwwaters

Interesting experience...

I have the lock and freeze codes. I also have MCC/MNC. Used hex editor to pull all of it out of bml3 file. Also used sgux2 which returned same results. All is good so far.

My phone is the i9000m from Bell.

I only have the Bell SIM but want to unlock for when I travel.

Here is what I did.

  1. powered down; removed Bell SIM; powered back up
  2. from keypad entered *7465625*638*#
  3. entered a MCC/MNC value for Rogers: 302720 (picked Rogers at random since it is not same as my Bell SIM, MCC/MNC for Bell is 302610)
  4. received a "Unlock successful" message, all is good so far.
  5. powered off; inserted Bell SIM; powered on
  6. phone worked like normal -- very puzzling as it was supposedly now locked to Rogers and has the Bell SIM in it. I tried a number of things like calling voice mail, surfing the internet -- all worked.
  7. also, i never got a popup at any time to enter an unlock code -- puzzling as I expected to get prompted to enter an unlock code
  8. tried to manually enter unlock code using #7465625*638*#, entered code at prompt and got "Unlock unsuccessful"
  9. reverted back to my base settings by entering *7465625*638*#, MCC/MNC 302610 and NCK, received "Unlock successful" at this point.
  10. phone working like normal... but not unlocked (checked using *#7475625# and says Network Lock is ON)

Anyone have any thoughts?

I wish I had another SIM to try.

I had the same experience. Although I think the phone seemed to be unlocked because i tried two different sim and both of them worked however, when I checked the Network lock (*7465625*638*#) it says its still on. Puzzled. Any idea how to turn Network lock off? For those of you who successfully unlock their galaxy s, did you managed to check the Network lock status (*7465625*638*#)? is it still on or off?
Last edited by banghole; 24th August 2010 at 02:11 AM.
24th August 2010, 02:34 AM   |  #317  
Bowsa2511's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
638 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redlineryder

I picked up a Bell i9000m today and want to get it unlocked. Network Lock is the only thing on after doing *#7465625#. USB debugging is enabled. I downloaded and extracted Generate Unlock Windows.zip, ran Generate_Code.bat with the phone connected to the computer and I receive this error:

*Error: unable to find the file <.\nv_data.bin>

Can someone please advise? I'm new to android.

If you haven't already,

Download the usb drivers for your device and

Download the Android SDK http://dl.google.com/android/android...06-windows.zip

extract it, then move/drag the folder INSIDE the extracted folder to your C:/ drive.
24th August 2010, 03:54 AM   |  #318  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bowsa2511

If you haven't already,

Download the usb drivers for your device and

Download the Android SDK

extract it, then move/drag the folder INSIDE the extracted folder to your C:/ drive.

Thanks for the help, I got my unlock and unfreeze codes. I entered the unlock code and received an unsuccessful message, I read earlier that this may happen so I powered off, put in my Rogers sim card and powered back on. I entered the MCC/MNC value for Rogers and it said it locked.

Now, Rogers does appear on the notification bar as a carrier and I did make two phone calls however there is no 3g data. I went into Settings / Wireless and network / Mobile networks and selected Rogers. Still no data.

Anyone else able to make calls yet not have access to data?
24th August 2010, 04:08 AM   |  #319  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 149
 
514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwwaters

I bought one of these: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=290466611301

Now I must patiently wait for it to arrive in the mail

Or you could just but a 10 dollar prepaid phone or walk into your local phone store and ask for a prepaid SIM card. Fill it with a few bucks and you can get your unlock.
24th August 2010, 04:17 AM   |  #320  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I figured out how to get data, you need to add a new APN in the networks settings. Google the APN settings for your carrier.

Thank you devs, I will donate accordingly.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S I9000 Android Development by ThreadRank