Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,359 Members 41,586 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] What happens if i change from a rom with a2sd to one without?

Tip us?
 
Exanimus
Old
#1  
Exanimus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 255
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Karlstad
Question [Q] What happens if i change from a rom with a2sd to one without?

I have been running a rom with a2sd and it works nice, but i want to try some others out and i don't know if i should dare to flash any rom without a2sd in case of if it screws up my phone or anything.

can someone please tell me if this is harmless or not and if backing up my rom through rom manager/clockwork recovery helps backing up my a2sd and all that?

will i be able to restore everything exactly as it was (including the a2sd) ?

Thanx!
 
lyka
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 217
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rome
You should backup with Rom manager or nandroid ( if I'm not wrong it saves ext partition too) , then wipe and apply the Rom you want.

Sent from my HTC Legend using XDA App
HTC Legend
Google Galaxy Nexus
Mediacom 910i
 
Exanimus
Old
#3  
Exanimus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 255
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Karlstad
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyka View Post
You should backup with Rom manager or nandroid ( if I'm not wrong it saves ext partition too) , then wipe and apply the Rom you want.

Sent from my HTC Legend using XDA App
Yea i know how to backup, the only thing that worries me if my phone will be 100% as it was before if i restore it?
 
cryshop
Old
#4  
cryshop's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 294
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ho Chi Minh

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exanimus View Post
Yea i know how to backup, the only thing that worries me if my phone will be 100% as it was before if i restore it?
100% for sure
 
MichaelAlexanderBull
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 125
Join Date: May 2010
remember to reformat the sd card to just fat aswell
 
Exanimus
Old
#6  
Exanimus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 255
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Karlstad
Thx, but maybe i should use a different SD card in that case, if i reformat the one i use now i'll lose all my apps, backups and everything

Sent from my HTC Legend using XDA App
-------------------------------------------
Current Devices:
Htc one X (rooted)

Previous Devices:
Samsung Galaxy tab 10.1 16gb (rooted)
Htc Desire Z (rooted, S-Off)
Htc Incredible S (stock)
Htc Legend (rooted, s-off)
Htc Magic (rooted, s-off)
SonyEricsson C902
SonyEricsson K800i
HTC TyTn
Nokia 6600
Nokia 3410
Nokia 3330
Motorola CD930
Ericsson GH688
Ericsson GH337
Tags
a2sd, flashing, rom
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more