Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Help] ADB Push Permission Denied

OP tonie972

24th August 2010, 08:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
I'm trying to push touchwizcalendar but it doesn't work. This is what I get:

Quote:

C:\sdk\tools>adb push touchwizcalendar.apk /system/app/touchwizcalendar.apk
failed to copy 'touchwizcalendar.apk' to '/system/app/touchwizcalendar.apk': Per
mission denied

24th August 2010, 09:04 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Houston, Texas / Nara, Japan
Thanks Meter: 4
 
321 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
keep your phone unlocked, run the command and you'll see the Superuser app pop up. Hit allow.

The end.
24th August 2010, 09:09 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Georgia
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Eugene has a init script that will have staten as rw always.. Its an update.zip you flash from cwmod recovery.. If you don't have a lag fix it will flash fine, if you do it will over write it so you have to modify...
His newest rom supports both, maybe you could just kang it..

I currently have his mount script on my phone bc im always editing my services.jar and need that ability..

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
24th August 2010, 09:24 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cashless

keep your phone unlocked, run the command and you'll see the Superuser app pop up. Hit allow.

The end.


It didn't work and I got the same message.

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkdruggler

Eugene has a init script that will have staten as rw always.. Its an update.zip you flash from cwmod recovery.. If you don't have a lag fix it will flash fine, if you do it will over write it so you have to modify...
His newest rom supports both, maybe you could just kang it..

I currently have his mount script on my phone bc im always editing my services.jar and need that ability..

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

Really appreciate that you are trying to help but I don't have a clue what you said. I'm totally new to this.
24th August 2010, 10:20 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Georgia
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
We had are First Sleepless Night with the New baby Boy.... Between Trying Figure out what was Wrong & taking turns with the Wife Holding Aries, I tried Pushing File's & forgot adb push didn't work...

Now this Script originally is what I made for the Behold 2, but the Basic still works For the SGV..

Just mod the script if your using the userinit.sh
Using this script you can place the userinit.sh any place you would Like...

I hope ever gets Good use out of this & Please Enjoy!

~Eugene

Download > adbpushGS1.zip

Installing*
Reboot to recovery, run the update.zip to run ClockworkMod Recovery, then installed the ZIP..

Quoted from eugene's post-- hope this helps...

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
24th August 2010, 10:31 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
How do I "Reboot to recovery" and I think I already run the "update.zip" when I rooted the phone. Do I have to download ClockworkMod Reovery or something? Like said I'm new to this so I'm sorry if I'm a nuisance.

Edit: Is it the same thing as this?

http://awdisk.com/2010/01/how-to-reb...recovery-mode/

Quote:

Now we can start. Plug your device to your computer and enable the debugging mode of your phone (Go to MENU->SETTINGS->APPLICATIONS->DEVELOPMENT->Enable the “USB debugging”).

Then you need the adb tool that is given with the SDK. (You can find it it the “Tools” directory of the SDK).

Open a command prompt, go to the directory of “adb.exe” and type:

adb.exe devices

You should see your device. If there is no device connected, maybe your phone is not in the “debugging mode” see above. If your device appears, you can now type:

adb.exe -d reboot recovery

Then your phone will reboot in recovery mode and you will see this logo:

Last edited by tonie972; 24th August 2010 at 10:47 PM.
24th August 2010, 11:26 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Georgia
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
You can go to the market and download rom manager and use it to flash a custom recovery...
Flash cwmod recovery from the app
Reboot into cwmod recovery from the app
First thing to do its go to the nandroid option and do a backup (always recommended before changing anything)

Then dl the link from above.. This is a new .zip make sure its on the internal sdcard (the 16gb one).. When you reboot into recovery (from the app like last time) go to flash any zip from sdcard.. Choose the new .zip file you just downloaded.. Your /system should now be rw upon reboot

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
25th August 2010, 06:44 AM   |  #8  
Wykedx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
do we rename the adbpushGS1.zip file??

i reboot into recovery and chose reinstall packages because that's all there was, besides deleting ?

edit: i ionstalled the push zip but when i reboot i get stuck at the galaxy s logo
Last edited by Wykedx; 25th August 2010 at 06:53 AM.
25th August 2010, 07:25 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by junkdruggler

We had are First Sleepless Night with the New baby Boy.... Between Trying Figure out what was Wrong & taking turns with the Wife Holding Aries, I tried Pushing File's & forgot adb push didn't work...

Now this Script originally is what I made for the Behold 2, but the Basic still works For the SGV..

Just mod the script if your using the userinit.sh
Using this script you can place the userinit.sh any place you would Like...

I hope ever gets Good use out of this & Please Enjoy!

~Eugene

Download > adbpushGS1.zip

Installing*
Reboot to recovery, run the update.zip to run ClockworkMod Recovery, then installed the ZIP..

Quoted from eugene's post-- hope this helps...

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

So can I just go into userinit script and add this to the top...
Code:
show_progress 0.100000 0
show_progress 0.500000 0
delete SYSTEM:bin/playlogos1
copy_dir PACKAGE:system SYSTEM:
set_perm 0 1000 0755 SYSTEM:bin/playlogos1
set_perm 0 1000 0755 SYSTEM:bin/playlogosnow
show_progress 0.100000 10
Or was it a diff script we pull from and add to it? Also do I have to put anything after I copy this into the script before the normal script in userinit to signify a pause or finishing one task and starting another?

I saw ;fi placed throughthe script alot and im guessing its afinish point or something to start the next set of commands fresh m???

Pooped from my Samsung Vibrant using XDA app...
Dont mind the skidmarks...
25th August 2010, 05:53 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Georgia
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by p()()pypants

So can I just go into userinit script and add this to the top...

Code:
show_progress 0.100000 0
show_progress 0.500000 0
delete SYSTEM:bin/playlogos1
copy_dir PACKAGE:system SYSTEM:
set_perm 0 1000 0755 SYSTEM:bin/playlogos1
set_perm 0 1000 0755 SYSTEM:bin/playlogosnow
show_progress 0.100000 10
Or was it a diff script we pull from and add to it? Also do I have to put anything after I copy this into the script before the normal script in userinit to signify a pause or finishing one task and starting another?

I saw ;fi placed throughthe script alot and im guessing its afinish point or something to start the next set of commands fresh m???

Pooped from my Samsung Vibrant using XDA app...
Dont mind the skidmarks...

I would hate to tell you something wrong... If you use twitter I would ask eugene... or you can send him a pm or here is a link to the OP, you could ask in there
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=741664
sorry I wasnt more help

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes