Post Reply

[APP] ADB over WIFI Widget

OP bohlool

28th August 2010, 06:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More


search market for "ADB over WIFI Widget"



Notes:
- Rooted phone only.

A Widget to quickly enable/disable ADB over wifi. It will work over WIFI or Hotspot. IP and Port information will be shown on the icon. SU access may needed depends on your ROM and in that case, it would be slower (experimental).

If it didn't work, please email me, we will work it out.


Other features of the widget:
- Info on the icon can be enabled/disabled.
- The label under the icon can be customized or completely disabled
- You can specify port number
- you can set SU mode, please note that this feature is experimental and will slow down the widget operations a little.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WifiAdb_QR_Code.jpg
Views:	4392
Size:	15.8 KB
ID:	390634  
Last edited by bohlool; 29th August 2010 at 01:59 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bohlool For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st September 2010, 05:46 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
App is free now!
I decided to make the widget free. download and enjoy. I will add some cool features soon.
1st September 2010, 11:51 PM   |  #3  
Stalte's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Asheville
Thanks Meter: 29
 
699 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Awesome. How do you get it to work??? Like is there something for the PC I have to download or run??
2nd September 2010, 06:06 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
No software required on PC
Nothing needed on PC other than the ADB itself of course.
Make sure Debug mode is enabled on your phone.

this is the command on PC:

ADB connect IP:PORT

IP will be shown on the icon when you enable it and you can set port (also will be shown on the icon).

you should be on the same network with your phone, you cannot use 3G IP to connect it on the internet.

Have fun!
2nd September 2010, 06:51 AM   |  #5  
scrizz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 627
 
3,359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Excellent, thank You!
10th September 2010, 06:19 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bohlool

Make sure Debug mode is enabled on your phone.

Dumb question: How do I do this?

I've got USB Debugging checked in Settings -> Applications -> Development, but that doesn't seem to do the trick to use ADB via WiFi.

I'm running Ruby 1.1.1 on an HTC Incredible, Super User Mode is checked (widget doesn't seem to work without it), and the widget says it's enabled, shows me the IP/port, but adb simply says "unable to connect to 192.168.1.xxx:5555" (I changed the port to 5555).
10th September 2010, 06:45 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardax

Dumb question: How do I do this?

I've got USB Debugging checked in Settings -> Applications -> Development, but that doesn't seem to do the trick to use ADB via WiFi.

I'm running Ruby 1.1.1 on an HTC Incredible, Super User Mode is checked (widget doesn't seem to work without it), and the widget says it's enabled, shows me the IP/port, but adb simply says "unable to connect to 192.168.1.xxx:5555" (I changed the port to 5555).

I take it that you've granted the application superuser permissions? You need to then need to activate the widget and adb connect xxxxxxx
10th September 2010, 07:20 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Yes, it has permissions in superuser. I tap the widget to activate, it turns green and displays my phone's IP address + port. I open up a command window (w/ admin privileges, though that doesn't seem to matter), run "adb connect IP:port" and get the "unable to connect" message.

adbWireless doesn't work either.
Last edited by ardax; 11th September 2010 at 03:01 AM.
11th September 2010, 02:38 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Talking Rock on
Suite sauce! Great app
11th September 2010, 06:11 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Where are you using this app? is it on your home network or a work/university? Because I also cannot connect in university, I've found a fix for it thats need a trick. I will add the trick to next version (Maybe I do it tonight, stay tuned), I hope it also work for you.

Just a test, can you use programs such as file managers to remotely access a share folder on your computer? because you should be on the same folder to do this.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Apps and Games by ThreadRank