Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,404 Members 48,791 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] ADB over WIFI Widget

Tip us?
 
bohlool
Old
(Last edited by bohlool; 29th August 2010 at 01:59 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 100
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default [APP] ADB over WIFI Widget



search market for "ADB over WIFI Widget"



Notes:
- Rooted phone only.

A Widget to quickly enable/disable ADB over wifi. It will work over WIFI or Hotspot. IP and Port information will be shown on the icon. SU access may needed depends on your ROM and in that case, it would be slower (experimental).

If it didn't work, please email me, we will work it out.


Other features of the widget:
- Info on the icon can be enabled/disabled.
- The label under the icon can be customized or completely disabled
- You can specify port number
- you can set SU mode, please note that this feature is experimental and will slow down the widget operations a little.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WifiAdb_QR_Code.jpg
Views:	4378
Size:	15.8 KB
ID:	390634  
Google Nexus One (T-Mobile), Rooted stock Gingerbread 2.3.3 (Locked boot-loader )

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bohlool For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bohlool
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 100
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default App is free now!

I decided to make the widget free. download and enjoy. I will add some cool features soon.
Google Nexus One (T-Mobile), Rooted stock Gingerbread 2.3.3 (Locked boot-loader )

 
Stalte
Old
#3  
Stalte's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 699
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Asheville

 
DONATE TO ME
Awesome. How do you get it to work??? Like is there something for the PC I have to download or run??
 
bohlool
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 100
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default No software required on PC

Nothing needed on PC other than the ADB itself of course.
Make sure Debug mode is enabled on your phone.

this is the command on PC:

ADB connect IP:PORT

IP will be shown on the icon when you enable it and you can set port (also will be shown on the icon).

you should be on the same network with your phone, you cannot use 3G IP to connect it on the internet.

Have fun!
Google Nexus One (T-Mobile), Rooted stock Gingerbread 2.3.3 (Locked boot-loader )

 
scrizz
Old
#5  
scrizz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 626
Posts: 3,358
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tampa, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Excellent, thank You!
PAST: T-mobile G1/iphone/N900/T-mobile HD2/BB 8520/Vibrant/T-mobile G2/Nokia N8/LG G2x/32GB HP Touchpad/Playbook/Vibrant/BB Z10
CURRENT: Nexus 7 /Moto G


Vibrant Modems Here!
ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)
Y U NO BE SMARTER
 
ardax
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 338
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bohlool View Post
Make sure Debug mode is enabled on your phone.
Dumb question: How do I do this?

I've got USB Debugging checked in Settings -> Applications -> Development, but that doesn't seem to do the trick to use ADB via WiFi.

I'm running Ruby 1.1.1 on an HTC Incredible, Super User Mode is checked (widget doesn't seem to work without it), and the widget says it's enabled, shows me the IP/port, but adb simply says "unable to connect to 192.168.1.xxx:5555" (I changed the port to 5555).
 
GermanBrat
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 56
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardax View Post
Dumb question: How do I do this?

I've got USB Debugging checked in Settings -> Applications -> Development, but that doesn't seem to do the trick to use ADB via WiFi.

I'm running Ruby 1.1.1 on an HTC Incredible, Super User Mode is checked (widget doesn't seem to work without it), and the widget says it's enabled, shows me the IP/port, but adb simply says "unable to connect to 192.168.1.xxx:5555" (I changed the port to 5555).
I take it that you've granted the application superuser permissions? You need to then need to activate the widget and adb connect xxxxxxx
 
ardax
Old
(Last edited by ardax; 11th September 2010 at 03:01 AM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 338
Join Date: Jul 2010
Yes, it has permissions in superuser. I tap the widget to activate, it turns green and displays my phone's IP address + port. I open up a command window (w/ admin privileges, though that doesn't seem to matter), run "adb connect IP:port" and get the "unable to connect" message.

adbWireless doesn't work either.
 
_Schizm_
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jul 2010
Talking Rock on

Suite sauce! Great app
 
bohlool
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 100
Join Date: Jun 2010
Where are you using this app? is it on your home network or a work/university? Because I also cannot connect in university, I've found a fix for it thats need a trick. I will add the trick to next version (Maybe I do it tonight, stay tuned), I hope it also work for you.

Just a test, can you use programs such as file managers to remotely access a share folder on your computer? because you should be on the same folder to do this.
Google Nexus One (T-Mobile), Rooted stock Gingerbread 2.3.3 (Locked boot-loader )


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes