5,815,179 Members 38,468 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SHW-m110s] Korean Anycall Galaxy S, Thread/FAQ/ReadMe/Discussion/Questions

Tip us?
 
Wapu
Old
#141  
Wapu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 256
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seoul
@juztin888

http://www.busybox.net/about.html

Busybox is a compiled set of Linux utilities that are not otherwise available in our flavor of Android. I believe it provides a lot of the base functionality for LagFix and other SU related functions.
 
appagom
Old
#142  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 669
Join Date: Sep 2010
I used wifi tethering most of yesterday. it works great. my computer dowloadd some updates when i didnt realize it. The battery got pretty warm. not surprising. now its toast. wont charge. good thing i have spare , insurance, warranty, and in return period. Props for sk/samsung for officially suporting this feature at least. Still might be worth 10 bucks for pdanet for usb tethering.

Sent from my SHW-M110S using XDA App
Korean SGSII (SHW-M250K) with SHW-M250S hand-rooted stock rom, unmodified kernel.
Korean Motoroi XT720, -> my FAQ
SHW-M110S (Korean Anycall SGS) 2.2.1... running custom Frankensteined stock+z4 + tegrak ext4 +voodoo, rooted kernel image.
 
juztin888
Old
#143  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Whew, I thought my phone was totally bricked! I found a way to reboot it to factory settings...now it's in its original state with all the original apps. Now i'll try to update the firmware 1st thru Kies, then root it afterwards...now I have a way to get it fixed with its semi-bricked state...(semi-bricked coz the two main touch button screen still lights up, but screen is totally black)...
 
juztin888
Old
#144  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
I was able to upgrade my firmware to:

Baseband Version: M110S.DH09.2134.ST
Build Number: ECLAIR.DI03

and successfully rooted my phone via ODIN after upgrading...I've noticed when upgrading from DG24 top DH09, I dont have 3G setting now, its disabled!
 
appagom
Old
#145  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 669
Join Date: Sep 2010
regarding wifi tethering if anyone cares, the battery did recover. The charger flashed yellow after leaving it all night, but then charged sucessfully today (green) after reconnecting it. Probably it tripped the protection circuit on the battery. Who knows what un-tripped it, temperature, balance, time. Anyway definitely high usage wifi tethering is not easy on the battery (not news though). I had it on usb charging during the tethering. My experience with an HTC winmo phone was the same though, required being on a (good) wall charger to do wifi routing. Hopefully this one will be able to keep up in that case without needing the battery at all. I'll see. Actualy it seems the usb charge cable is barely, or maybe not even, able to keep up with display power for this device let alone wifi routing.
 
appagom
Old
#146  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 669
Join Date: Sep 2010
@juztin888 as for busybox, it's easy to never know what it does because you usually don't run it.

from a prompt, do
busybox ls -al /system/bin
notice all the symlinks to busybox (if it's fully installed).
Most of the commands in there are actually just busybox. Busybox knows what name it was called with, and acts apropriately. Ironically, ls is included in busybox, but does not replace the system ls... hence to show you this example I had to call, not just "ls", but "busybox ls", since built-in ls seems to be missing arguments, also ironic, becasue busybox is supposed to be the light version of things, but then clearly not lighter than default android.

I never did understand if making busybox one file really has anything to do with it being lighter than the full utilities or if it's just the preference of the people who wrote it. Maybe shared libraries aren't an option in tiny systems.
 
Pyromaniac84
Old
(Last edited by Pyromaniac84; 22nd September 2010 at 02:14 PM.)
#147  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 33
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Himki
Quote:
Originally Posted by appagom View Post
@juztin888 as for busybox, it's easy to never know what it does because you usually don't run it.

from a prompt, do
busybox ls -al /system/bin
notice all the symlinks to busybox (if it's fully installed).
Most of the commands in there are actually just busybox. Busybox knows what name it was called with, and acts apropriately. Ironically, ls is included in busybox, but does not replace the system ls... hence to show you this example I had to call, not just "ls", but "busybox ls", since built-in ls seems to be missing arguments, also ironic, becasue busybox is supposed to be the light version of things, but then clearly not lighter than default android.

I never did understand if making busybox one file really has anything to do with it being lighter than the full utilities or if it's just the preference of the people who wrote it. Maybe shared libraries aren't an option in tiny systems.
You can always look what applets your busybox supports by calling it without any additional arguments. The advantages of busybox are obvious:
1) Only one instance of busybox in memory is needed to run all of its applets. I.e. if you are using busybox shell applet (or using it as init) - you do not need to allocate any memory to store binaries you run afterward (as long as they are busybox applets).
2) When building embedded system based on busybox - you need only to compile busybox... And voila! You already have fully functional environment - only thing you need - is to create symlinks to init, sh, etc.
3) You do not need to mess up with a thousands of libraries in case of statically linked busybox (it stays REALLY small even with static linkage). Embedded systems built upon static busybox and one-two statically linked core applications looks really simple and elegant.
 
juztin888
Old
#148  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
@Pyromaniac84 & appagom:

Thank for that insight...I'll try to play with it...when I get my phone back and running the old version of my firmware
 
juztin888
Old
(Last edited by juztin888; 22nd September 2010 at 06:51 PM.)
#149  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
@ikeya_sato:

How did to downgrade from DH09 to DH07? I was using DG24 and upgraded to DH09 and my 3G settings are not available. Like you, I'm using Globe telecom which I greatly use to send pictures to my relatives... can you teach me how to do it step by step? I would greatly appreciate it...I like to get it back to it's old state, and start from there...
 
ikeya_sato
Old
#150  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2008
Hi juztin888,

I went to Festival Mall in Alabang to have my phone fixed by the seller since it's under the store's warranty.

I'm wary about doing any other tweaks to my phone since no information in this thread has been particularly helpful especially if they're from the Korean websites. I posted a similar request earlier regarding the translation of a certain website to English to no avail though.

My advice is to have it fixed where you bought it. The phone's new and the software's pretty raw. I wouldn't mess with it much lest I be left with a very, very expensive brick.

Tags
anycall, korea, korean, shw-m110s, shwm110s
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes