Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP][HD2][v1.2.1]Camera lock button

OP MilaCzeque

3rd September 2010, 01:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Camera lock button

Yesterday I saw video from Windows mobile 7 showing dedicated camera button working even if the phone was locked. Today I bring this feature for HD2 on WM6.5.


Update:
7.9.2010 - I've uploaded version 1.1 see FAQ.
9.9.2010 - Version 1.2 brings support for CHT.
13.9.2010 - Version 1.2.1 fixes loading issue.

What is it and what it does
This little application starts phone's camera when user press home button when the phone is locked.
It is aware of proximity sensor status, so it won't start camera in your pocket.
It won't do anything if pda is not locked.
If your pda is locked and display is switched off, you must click home button twice.

Current limitations
Only for HD2, because of proximity sensor hardware.
Only works with original non-customized lockscreen, because unlocking is performed by sending mouse move events.

v1.1 has unlock gesture learning ability.

Planned features
Camcorder on windows button.
Support for pin.

Installation
Download cab file and run it on your device.
If you want application application to start with your device use camera_lock_button_with_autostart.cab otherwise you'll have to start it manually.

You must turn off this application before uninstallation or reinstallation.

FAQ
Q: Nothing happens when I start the application?
A: That's normal behaviour. Lock your device and try to click home button.

Q: How do I turn it off?
A: Run application again.

Q: How do I start it with device startup?
A: Download cab that ends with '_autostart' or add shortcut do your \Windows\StartUp folder.

Q: I'm getting "This application is not designed for your device!" message.
A: This application is only for HTC HD2. If you have HD2 then there's something wrong with your OEMINFO value. Check "\Windows\ModelName.txt" whether it contains 'HD2' or 'LEO' string.

Q: What is licence for icon?
A: I used free icon from dryicons.com .

Q: Why installer ignores location I picked for installation?
A: NEVER EVER install this application on Storage Card, always use device.

Q: Is there source code available?
A: Nope. Last time I published something under GPL everyone was ignoring it (GPL) completely.

Following FAQ applies only to v1.1

Q: How to learn it unlock gesture?
A:
  1. Start it with shortcut named "Camera lock button toggle learning".
  2. Lock device.
  3. Make sure proximity sensor is not covered.
  4. Press "windows" hw button. "Learning mode!" text should appear on screen.
  5. Unlock device.
  6. Done. Message informing you about success should appear. Learning mode is now switched off automagically.
  7. You can delete "Camera lock button toggle learning" shortcut from start menu.

Q: Why isn't there autostart version of v1.1?
A: Because it needs beta testing and I don't want you to brick your device.

Q: Do I need to learn it gesture if I'm using unmodified lockscreen?
A: No. If there isn't learned gesture it uses default gesture from v1.0.

Q: Where is stored learned gesture?
A: In file \Windows\camera_lock_button_gesture.bin
(You will be asked if you want to remove it at the end of uninstallation.)

Q: What about unlocking the device with password?
A: If device is locked after camera application is closed, it won't be security hole. Maybe next time I'll implement it.

Changelog

v1.2.1:
  1. Fixes forgetting of learned gesture after application was switched off.


v1.2:
  1. Support for CHT.


v1.1:
  1. Volume buttons are working again.
  2. Gesture learning (= maybe S2U2 compatible).
  3. Setup dll, so you don't need to make sure application is not running before uninstallation.

v1.0:
Initial release.


Compatible lockscreens
  • WM6.5 default (Confetti lock screen)
  • Co0kie's Home Tab lockscreen [worked for me, not worked for Guus_]
  • Maybe others but nobody informed me about it.
  • Not working with S2U2, I contacted author of S2U2 about it.
Last edited by MilaCzeque; 13th September 2010 at 09:10 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to MilaCzeque For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd September 2010, 01:26 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Reserved for future use.
4th September 2010, 10:05 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Brno
Thanks Meter: 2
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Smile Excelent work.....!!!
THX!!!

-----------
SteviCzech
Last edited by Stevik; 4th September 2010 at 09:51 PM.
6th September 2010, 01:13 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Question
GREAT idea, but I/we need to get this to work with Co0kie Home Tab. Can we expect CHT support in the future?

Thanks for sharing!
6th September 2010, 03:18 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Why isn't it working with CHT? Different unlock screen? Different camera application?


Also I noticed it conflicts with htc volume control, right now by I'm betatesting fix.
6th September 2010, 03:58 AM   |  #6  
kenshin2013's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Would it be possible to make compatible with Chris's Lockscreen [middle]? It puts the slider halfway down the screen. I HATE having the lock slider at the top!
Thanx for all your hard work MilaCzeque
6th September 2010, 05:46 AM   |  #7  
orb3000's Avatar
XDA Portal Team / Senior Moderator
Flag T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...
Thanks Meter: 3,045
 
22,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
Thanks for sharing!
6th September 2010, 08:40 AM   |  #8  
s2007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guus_

GREAT idea, but I/we need to get this to work with Co0kie Home Tab. Can we expect CHT support in the future?

Thanks for sharing!

Yes, yes, yes ++. A lot people use Co0kie HT.
6th September 2010, 12:50 PM   |  #9  
evolutionqy7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 31
 
861 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
will you add future support for su2u?
6th September 2010, 01:46 PM   |  #10  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 548
 
1,224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Very cool idea, I'll have to switch back to the default lockscreen to try it.
Though, it would be cool if the X/Y values for the mouse event could be set in a file, for those of us with customized lock screens.
Edit: got around that by editting my LS_LockScene_480x800.cpr file.
Though, it would be nice if we could program in a "macro" to type in our passwords.


Cheers!
Last edited by Jaxbot; 6th September 2010 at 02:35 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
camera, hd2, leo, lockscreen, wm7 features in wm6.5
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes