Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,731 Members 50,599 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Do you notice an improvement with this fix?
Yes 56 55.45%
No 15 14.85%
Who cares about this? 30 29.70%
Voters: 101. You may not vote on this poll

[FIX] Cyanogen Signal Fix With Instructions

Tip us?
 
theimpaler747
Old
(Last edited by theimpaler747; 29th September 2010 at 03:21 AM.)
#1  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2658
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [FIX] Cyanogen Signal Fix With Instructions

Here is the zip that fixes the visual signal fix on Cyanogen (and all AOSP roms for that matter). However, don't flash this if you're running an theme on top of froyo. It wont hurt your phone, but it wont help any A big thanks to Kyouko for the fix!

Having trouble applying this with the newest CM 6.0.0 Stable? Take a look here for some help to get it working. Thanks to dirkydirk23 for these tips!
  1. Download metamorph (free) from the market
  2. Download the zip attached to this post
  3. Unzip the visual fix file onto your sd card. It doesn't matter where on your sd card, just somwhere where you can find it.
  4. Open metamorph, and allow it to run checks. Sometimes on the first time you open it, it claims that something is wrong on your phone and will close. If this happens, just reopen the aplication again and allow it to run checks. It will work the second time.
  5. Click on "apply existing theme" on metamorph.
  6. Navigate to the extracted file of the visual fix on your sd card.
  7. Click on it, and then select the .XML file
  8. Allow metamorph to flash the .XML and rebbot your phone. When it boots up again, the signal bars will be fixed!

Post if you have any questions or would like to express thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip Darch_Visual_Fix.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.8 KB, 2419 views)
 
BuddahWolf01
Old
#2  
BuddahWolf01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 327
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Carolina
Default I'ma noobie

hey, lemme ask you, is there an issue with it showing inaccurate bars? or is this giving us more visual bars as others have complained about only having 4?

also you spelled cyanogen wrong haha
 
ASimmons
Old
#3  
ASimmons's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 996
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddahWolf01 View Post
hey, lemme ask you, is there an issue with it showing inaccurate bars? or is this giving us more visual bars as others have complained about only having 4?

also you spelled cyanogen wrong haha
gives you more visual bars.
 
BuddahWolf01
Old
#4  
BuddahWolf01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 327
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Carolina
nice, I'm gonna get on this band wagon tonight when I get home, now if someone would just get back to me on the circular battery symbol thing, I'll be set. ha
 
theimpaler747
Old
(Last edited by theimpaler747; 3rd September 2010 at 10:07 PM.)
#5  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2658
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddahWolf01 View Post
hey, lemme ask you, is there an issue with it showing inaccurate bars? or is this giving us more visual bars as others have complained about only having 4?

also you spelled cyanogen wrong haha
This gives you more visual bars. On the default rom without this fix, the max amount of bars that will show up, even if you have amazing signal, is 3. With this fix, you get a more accurate reading; If you have great signal, you'll have the full 4 bars, not only 3. And if you have ok signal, you'll have 2 bars, not only one. And I fixed the spelling thanks
 
MRagu
Old
#6  
MRagu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 793
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Detroit, MI

 
DONATE TO ME
Good write up and instructions Impaler ...

Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
Phones:
- HTC Hero - CM6
- HTC Evo - The EVO Classic & Shooter E3D
- HTC Evo 3D - ZR-ICSense-GT Sense 3.6
- HTC Evo LTE - Viper4G 2.0.2

My Work
- Hero CM6 Sprint & CellularSouth FroYo Boot Screen
- Andro Green Theme - CM6
 
theimpaler747
Old
#7  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2658
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragu78 View Post
Good write up and instructions Impaler ...

Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
Thank you! It's nice to know people appreciate my work
 
BuddahWolf01
Old
#8  
BuddahWolf01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 327
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Carolina
I put it on my phone then did what you said. Now I have got 4 bars! Then I was talking with my friend who has a droid, found out he had 4 bars all along. I was mad.
 
theimpaler747
Old
#9  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2658
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddahWolf01 View Post
I put it on my phone then did what you said. Now I have got 4 bars! Then I was talking with my friend who has a droid, found out he had 4 bars all along. I was mad.
Why were you mad? This fix is for the hero, and it worked because you have a full 4 bars now. The droid has always had the full 4 bars, but AOSP on the hero never has. Now with the fix, it does
 
Mac11700
Old
#10  
Mac11700's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 167
Posts: 1,360
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: St.Louis
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragu78 View Post
Good write up and instructions Impaler ...

Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
+1

Same here..your help is greatly appreciated

Mac
ATT Nokia 1520

Tags
cyanogen, hero, impaler, metamorph, signal fix
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more