Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[KEYBOARD]If you don't like the sense keyboard...

OP psykick5

4th September 2010, 06:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City, Utah
Thanks Meter: 14
 
283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
EDIT: The keyboard seems to always crash on Mdeejay's Desire HD build v4.0 and I do not know why. Give me some time to sort this out. Thanks




I posted this thread because I didn't see anything similar, maybe someone else doesn't like the sense keyboard too, so I'll just post it.



If you were anything like me, you liked sense, but hated that damned sense keyboard, well I have just bothered to put the stock Android keyboard on my DarkStone Sense V3.1 and it works.

Step 0 (optional) = Download a second keyboard from the Android Market (such as AnySoftKeyboard) so you can still have a keyboard to use if anything goes wrong.

Step 1 = Download the file for the keyboard

Step 2 = Use Root Explorer (I recommend it)(Or whatever else you can make work) to copy the files into the system.
LatinImeGoogle.apk goes into system/app
libjni_latinime.so goes into system/lib

libjni_latinime.so will ask to overwrite the existing file, (it doesn't on some builds) overwrite it, if anything bad happens the original .so is in my backups .rar for you to download.


Step 3 = Long press a text box and hit input method. Android keyboard should be on that list.





Uploaded with ImageShack.us



I will also attach the original files in case you mess up and are stuck with no keyboard. (I did it... was no fun.)

My edited method leaves you with the HTC keyboard as well (need feedback on what builds do this)
Attached Files
File Type: rar Backup files.rar - [Click for QR Code] (6.41 MB, 637 views)
File Type: rar Stock Android keyboard.rar - [Click for QR Code] (2.79 MB, 1063 views)
Last edited by psykick5; 1st December 2010 at 11:29 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to psykick5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th September 2010, 06:54 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
pic of what this keyboard looks like compared to the sense one?
4th September 2010, 07:01 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City, Utah
Thanks Meter: 14
 
283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aarons6

pic of what this keyboard looks like compared to the sense one?


Pic is up.
4th September 2010, 08:35 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
i tried this with both astro and a terminal emulator, both says
Quote:

java.io.ioexception no space left on device

when i try to copy the HTC_IME.apk, any ideas why?

and also this makes me lose the original keyboard too, as the HTC_IME will be replaced by a 0 byte file
Last edited by frostmourne; 4th September 2010 at 08:38 AM.
4th September 2010, 12:23 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Solihull, UK
Thanks Meter: 25
 
308 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Swype, that's the ticket. There's also the XDA-improved HTC keyboard, which is plenty nice
4th September 2010, 12:35 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 2
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I had the same problem what i did Is that i Navigated to The media folder in the system folder Then i deleted a couple of Ringtones that i don't really use, And that Freed some space for me to copy these files

Sent from my HTC HD2 Android Phone
4th September 2010, 12:59 PM   |  #7  
marios96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nicosia
Thanks Meter: 4
 
325 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
I've installed the multitouch keyboard from the Droid X. It works great on Darkstone's Froyo V2 ROM with Sense...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=177
4th September 2010, 01:02 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Is there a keyboard with cursor keys? I hate tapping all over just to correct a letter ..

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App
6th September 2010, 12:11 AM   |  #9  
stonesolouk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
TouchPal chinese input
Quote:
Originally Posted by superfuffo

Is there a keyboard with cursor keys? I hate tapping all over just to correct a letter ..

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App

Try the above named keyboard. My favourite with cursor: just tap 'Edit'!!. Free on market too.
10th September 2010, 01:01 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City, Utah
Thanks Meter: 14
 
283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marios96

I've installed the multitouch keyboard from the Droid X. It works great on Darkstone's Froyo V2 ROM with Sense...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=177

Installing it works pretty much the same way except you have to rename the keyboard file (I think I already did that for everyone in my upload)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes