FORUMS

Xiaomi Mi5 Specs Leaked, CyanogenMod SDK – XDA TV

CyanogenMod is going to release their own SDK! That and much more news is … more

Themes for SM-N910U Exynos Note 4

Samsung has too many phone variants for their flagships, which leaves out users incapable of getting … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 26 – May 2)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Great Camera Hardware, or Software?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on phone cameras. Come with your opinions and feel … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[KEYBOARD]If you don't like the sense keyboard...

4th September 2010, 05:50 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City, Utah
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
EDIT: The keyboard seems to always crash on Mdeejay's Desire HD build v4.0 and I do not know why. Give me some time to sort this out. Thanks




I posted this thread because I didn't see anything similar, maybe someone else doesn't like the sense keyboard too, so I'll just post it.



If you were anything like me, you liked sense, but hated that damned sense keyboard, well I have just bothered to put the stock Android keyboard on my DarkStone Sense V3.1 and it works.

Step 0 (optional) = Download a second keyboard from the Android Market (such as AnySoftKeyboard) so you can still have a keyboard to use if anything goes wrong.

Step 1 = Download the file for the keyboard

Step 2 = Use Root Explorer (I recommend it)(Or whatever else you can make work) to copy the files into the system.
LatinImeGoogle.apk goes into system/app
libjni_latinime.so goes into system/lib

libjni_latinime.so will ask to overwrite the existing file, (it doesn't on some builds) overwrite it, if anything bad happens the original .so is in my backups .rar for you to download.


Step 3 = Long press a text box and hit input method. Android keyboard should be on that list.





Uploaded with ImageShack.us



I will also attach the original files in case you mess up and are stuck with no keyboard. (I did it... was no fun.)

My edited method leaves you with the HTC keyboard as well (need feedback on what builds do this)
Attached Files
File Type: rar Backup files.rar - [Click for QR Code] (6.41 MB, 637 views)
File Type: rar Stock Android keyboard.rar - [Click for QR Code] (2.79 MB, 1063 views)
Last edited by psykick5; 1st December 2010 at 10:29 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to psykick5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
4th September 2010, 05:54 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
pic of what this keyboard looks like compared to the sense one?
4th September 2010, 06:01 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City, Utah
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aarons6

pic of what this keyboard looks like compared to the sense one?


Pic is up.
4th September 2010, 07:35 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i tried this with both astro and a terminal emulator, both says
Quote:

java.io.ioexception no space left on device

when i try to copy the HTC_IME.apk, any ideas why?

and also this makes me lose the original keyboard too, as the HTC_IME will be replaced by a 0 byte file
Last edited by frostmourne; 4th September 2010 at 07:38 AM.
4th September 2010, 11:23 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Solihull, UK
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Swype, that's the ticket. There's also the XDA-improved HTC keyboard, which is plenty nice
4th September 2010, 11:35 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I had the same problem what i did Is that i Navigated to The media folder in the system folder Then i deleted a couple of Ringtones that i don't really use, And that Freed some space for me to copy these files

Sent from my HTC HD2 Android Phone
4th September 2010, 11:59 AM |#7  
marios96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nicosia
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I've installed the multitouch keyboard from the Droid X. It works great on Darkstone's Froyo V2 ROM with Sense...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=177
4th September 2010, 12:02 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Is there a keyboard with cursor keys? I hate tapping all over just to correct a letter ..

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App
5th September 2010, 11:11 PM |#9  
stonesolouk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
TouchPal chinese input
Quote:
Originally Posted by superfuffo

Is there a keyboard with cursor keys? I hate tapping all over just to correct a letter ..

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App

Try the above named keyboard. My favourite with cursor: just tap 'Edit'!!. Free on market too.
10th September 2010, 12:01 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City, Utah
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marios96

I've installed the multitouch keyboard from the Droid X. It works great on Darkstone's Froyo V2 ROM with Sense...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=177

Installing it works pretty much the same way except you have to rename the keyboard file (I think I already did that for everyone in my upload)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes