FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Google Search widget APK?

219 posts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
By BeeDubs, Senior Member on 5th September 2010, 05:21 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Since it does not seem possible to install the widget through the marketplace - testament of one user who played with the Fascinate in store - and many people won't know how to or will be afraid to root, can we get the Google Search widget APK file so people can install apps not from the market place? This way, users could install the widget and disable Bing.

Would that work as an alternative to rooting for the purpose of installing Google Search?
 
 
5th September 2010, 02:52 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
does this work?
http://www.google.com/mobile/android/

seems like going to m.google.com on the phone should work.
Last edited by Epell; 5th September 2010 at 03:03 PM.
7th September 2010, 03:50 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...0-48668-a.html

I found this guy also. It's smoked version, but should alleviate bing pain.
10th September 2010, 02:25 AM |#4  
dcarr622's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
More
Anyone been able to find an APK of the original (non-smoked widget)? Would really be nice. What did people end up doing on the Backflip which has a similar problem being locked to Yahoo (which is now Bing ironically)??
10th September 2010, 03:06 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Right now Bing is tied to the search widgets via the browsers. You can install the Google search widget, but you'll get reidrected to Bing because Verizon hooked the browser. If you install a new browser (Dolphin HD has been confirmed to work) and set it as your default browser, you should be able to install the Google search widget and get results from Google. (You may need to clear some settings to remove the default browser choice). The widget is already on the device, it can be installed from LauncherPro (use LauncherPro to add the widget, it will find it).
10th September 2010, 11:21 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by namebrandon

Right now Bing is tied to the search widgets via the browsers. You can install the Google search widget, but you'll get reidrected to Bing because Verizon hooked the browser.

So could we "borrow" browser from one of the other variants' system dumps?
11th September 2010, 02:56 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag dennison,oh
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
launcher pro does give you the widget. but your results will still come up as bing when you use it. and that interface sucks and the widget only shows up when using the launcher pro home screen.. it wont transfer to the regular screen
11th September 2010, 04:04 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
If you install this .apk you should get your default Google searches back (ie no more Bing redirect). I think you'll still have to add the widget via LauncherPro, but at least you won't get hijacked any longer.
Attached Files
File Type: apk EnhancedGoogleSearchProvider.apk - [Click for QR Code] (245.2 KB, 3514 views)
11th September 2010, 04:50 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by namebrandon

If you install this .apk you should get your default Google searches back (ie no more Bing redirect). I think you'll still have to add the widget via LauncherPro, but at least you won't get hijacked any longer.

Well whaddaya know, it works! You've De-Binged the fascinate!

Just 'cause I'm trying to learn more about this stuff, do you mind if I ask how yo found that?

-Z

Also, I can confirm, Launcher Pro is indeed needed to install the widget.
Last edited by Zennmaster; 11th September 2010 at 04:53 AM. Reason: Confirming Launcher Pro Needed.
11th September 2010, 04:52 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Well, not quite.. You still need LauncherPro to get the widget, and for a lot of people, it doesn't fix the voice search via long-hold of the soft search key.. (if you hold the magnifying glass button down). But it does get us a good deal of the way towards getting rid of bing.

That particular .apk was from a Captivate I think? I found it posted at the AC forums for another (but similar) issue.
11th September 2010, 05:15 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by namebrandon

Well, not quite.. You still need LauncherPro to get the widget, and for a lot of people, it doesn't fix the voice search via long-hold of the soft search key.. (if you hold the magnifying glass button down). But it does get us a good deal of the way towards getting rid of bing.

That particular .apk was from a Captivate I think? I found it posted at the AC forums for another (but similar) issue.

Cool, thanks! I've got a sneaking suspicion that the true De-Binging will come from pushing a replacement browser app from another model SGS.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes