5,598,086 Members 41,502 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Google Search widget APK?

Tip us?
 
BeeDubs
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 219
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Google Search widget APK?

Since it does not seem possible to install the widget through the marketplace - testament of one user who played with the Fascinate in store - and many people won't know how to or will be afraid to root, can we get the Google Search widget APK file so people can install apps not from the market place? This way, users could install the widget and disable Bing.

Would that work as an alternative to rooting for the purpose of installing Google Search?
 
Epell
Old
(Last edited by Epell; 5th September 2010 at 03:03 PM.)
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jun 2010
does this work?
http://www.google.com/mobile/android/

seems like going to m.google.com on the phone should work.
 
Epell
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jun 2010
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...0-48668-a.html

I found this guy also. It's smoked version, but should alleviate bing pain.
 
dcarr622
Old
#4  
dcarr622's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 142
Posts: 1,612
Join Date: Oct 2008
Anyone been able to find an APK of the original (non-smoked widget)? Would really be nice. What did people end up doing on the Backflip which has a similar problem being locked to Yahoo (which is now Bing ironically)??
  • Google Glass - #TeamShale
  • Nexus 5 - White - 16GB
  • Nexus 7 - White - Google I/O Edition
  • HP TouchPad 32GB
LG Optimus G E970, Galaxy Nexus GSM, HTC HD2 T9193, Samsung Galaxy S I9000M 'Bell Vibrant', HTC Tilt
 
namebrandon
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 448
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Right now Bing is tied to the search widgets via the browsers. You can install the Google search widget, but you'll get reidrected to Bing because Verizon hooked the browser. If you install a new browser (Dolphin HD has been confirmed to work) and set it as your default browser, you should be able to install the Google search widget and get results from Google. (You may need to clear some settings to remove the default browser choice). The widget is already on the device, it can be installed from LauncherPro (use LauncherPro to add the widget, it will find it).
 
Zennmaster
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 119
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by namebrandon View Post
Right now Bing is tied to the search widgets via the browsers. You can install the Google search widget, but you'll get reidrected to Bing because Verizon hooked the browser.
So could we "borrow" browser from one of the other variants' system dumps?
 
ace5198
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 378
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: dennison,oh
launcher pro does give you the widget. but your results will still come up as bing when you use it. and that interface sucks and the widget only shows up when using the launcher pro home screen.. it wont transfer to the regular screen
 
namebrandon
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 448
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
If you install this .apk you should get your default Google searches back (ie no more Bing redirect). I think you'll still have to add the widget via LauncherPro, but at least you won't get hijacked any longer.
Attached Files
File Type: apk EnhancedGoogleSearchProvider.apk - [Click for QR Code] (245.2 KB, 2957 views)
 
Zennmaster
Old
(Last edited by Zennmaster; 11th September 2010 at 04:53 AM.) Reason: Confirming Launcher Pro Needed.
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 119
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by namebrandon View Post
If you install this .apk you should get your default Google searches back (ie no more Bing redirect). I think you'll still have to add the widget via LauncherPro, but at least you won't get hijacked any longer.
Well whaddaya know, it works! You've De-Binged the fascinate!

Just 'cause I'm trying to learn more about this stuff, do you mind if I ask how yo found that?

-Z

Also, I can confirm, Launcher Pro is indeed needed to install the widget.
 
namebrandon
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 448
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Well, not quite.. You still need LauncherPro to get the widget, and for a lot of people, it doesn't fix the voice search via long-hold of the soft search key.. (if you hold the magnifying glass button down). But it does get us a good deal of the way towards getting rid of bing.

That particular .apk was from a Captivate I think? I found it posted at the AC forums for another (but similar) issue.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more